Summer Tomatoes in Texas - It Aint Worth It ๐Ÿ… ๐Ÿ… ๐Ÿ…steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening โ€ข 7 years ago

Tomatoes are yummy, but by July in Texas it's way too hot to keep growing them. It's time to just cut 'em out and forget about it for a couple months. This video shows how I'm managing my raised bed gardens this Summer.

Tomatoes Don't Like the July Texas Heat

A Small Harvest At The End

We love to dice up the green tomatoes and cook them in a frying pan with some butter over a medium heat. They get nice and tangy sweet. This morning I served them up next to diced, fried potatoes and scrambled eggs. YUM.

900300-tomatoes.png


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blog๐Ÿ”ด Daddykirbs Live - Small Harvests & Special Guests - E1721
daddykirbs blogGardening - The Vertical Garden Potato Experiment - Update 3
daddykirbs blogTrump Train - Wheels Imported From Russia!!
daddykirbs blogTomato Hornworm - To Kill or Not To Kill
daddykirbs blogCilantro vs. Coriander - What's the difference?


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort: ย 

Hmmm what time is breakfast served? Sharing so others can see.

Breakfast was gone almost as fast as I said "Breakfast is ready!"... They loved the green tomatoes!

So far Tatee has loved eating with us :)

That is so awesome!

I've got two spots around the house where the tomatoes get JUST enough shade not to die.

Cherry tomatoes are over 6'
image

Romas and beefsteak are still spitting out more than I can eat!
image

The full sun spot near the corner of the house is starting to look like yours!

Hey do you have a script to automate your "Last 5 Posts" closing? Or do you just manually build those links?

Your tomatoes look great! I'm glad you have a place that they can survive the heat. My links are all done manually :)

IMG_1186.JPG

Fellow Texan here. I had to move my tomatoes into the shade. I still think this will be its last harvest though

In July and August... no shade means no 'maters. :)

They kinda look cute ;) Sounds yummie too!

What a nice garden you have there @daddykirbs.
Nothing beats home grown tomatoes in the summer :)

another informative video by @daddykirbs .. thanks for sharing again

I've never eaten fried green tomatoes. Might have to try them now with our next breakfast. Do they have to be at least a little ripe - meaning lost that rock hard greenness?

Ooooh a stripey one! I didn't know that tomatoes didn't much like the heat. It's pretty hot here for the summer, I dunno how hot it gets in Texas though. It's always between 80 and 100 throughout the summer here. :D My tomatoes are not doing well this year, but, they're kind of growing? Haha. I should share a post on them. Crazy things.

We had a bumper crop of cherry tomatoes this year, we didn't plant but they just volunteered at the back of our house :-) a friend planted and was bringing us buckets of them too.
Now following for more :-)
here is a bit of what I have going on...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65142.09
ETH 3205.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57