How to: clone herbs

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

*short 6 days update here: https://steemit.com/gardening/@costopher/cloned-mint-6-days-update-and-more

It's always nice to have a little pot of mint, basil, rosemary, 'insert herb name here' around the house ready for you to pick whenever you want. They take little space, can live on the windowsill and most of all, they look good and are delicious.

Multiplying or cloning a shop bought plant is really easy and it can be a great little experiment to try out with children as well.
The easiest method is the one I'm going to show you and it works just fine with most herbs. I find that basil can be a bit tricky, getting a lower rate of successful clones but 1 out of a few is still a new plant I get for free so it's no biggie.

My pineapple mint needed a haircut and the cuttings were used to make new plants.
20170605_125834.jpg

I cut the stems just above a leaf node and then I take off the bottom leaves, you want the stem to be a couple of inches long.
20170605_130153.jpg

Then you take them, put them in a mug/jar/glass with plain water and forget about them for a few days. A mug is better as it blocks out sunlight; the roots don't really like growing in the light.
20170605_130230.jpg

In a few days the cuttings will start growing tiny roots. Mint sets new roots really fast; other plants might take a bit longer but in about a week you should see the first signs.
20170605_130347.jpg

Then you take some containers, fill them up with the soil of your choice (I used coco coir here) and you just drop the little cuttings in there; pat the soil down a bit to make sure there aren't any big air pockets and you're pretty much done.
20170605_130803.jpg
20170605_131208.jpg

Now all you need is to give your new plants a few days for their roots to set in the soil and you can use them. After you can see new growth simply top them, cut their main stem just above a leaf node. It might seem drastic but you're going to get a stronger healthier plant. Also, you're basically doubling it, whenever you cut a stem, 2 new ones will start growing between the leaf and the stem. You can actually play architect with your plant, making it grow in particular patterns.

In this pic you can see the new stems growing wherever I cut one of the old one.
20170605_131627.jpg

That's about it. Happy cloning!

Thanks
Cos

Sort:  

So cool.. it tried growing cinnamon and thai basil from cuttings, and it's growing so well now. Except that worms and leaf miners are eating them :(

I knew just now that there's a pineapple mint. Looks really cute.

I'm currently growing peppermint from cuttings as well. I can see first sign of roots already. so excited.. :) Please follow me @melaimomagwork :)

Never tried growing cinnamon I'm afraid. As for the others I mostly use a soapy water spray to deal with the pests. Just put a couple drops of regular washing up liquid in a spray bottle filled with water and use it on the underside of the leaves. For a step up add some of the hottest pepper extract you can find in the spray bottle, bugs really don't like it ; garlic works as well. For basil, sometimes I just take the plants outside for a couple of days and then bring them back in when the problem looks solved or just bin the plant as I always have some new ones growing for that reason.

The pineapple mint works great for drinks or ice cream as the flavour is subtle and doesn't have that full on mint kick. There are many mint varieties, I'm going to get chocolate mint next.

Thanks

clone .. love the title lol

haha, thanks. It sounds way cooler than multiply and technically they are clones .

I like fresh herbs , and I will try this , you make it sound easy .

You really should try it! Start with mint as it is the easiest and then work your way up!

Very informative post. Good point on the mug to keep the light out. I'll have to try this with herbs.

Thank you! I'm glad you found it interesting. Please do try and let me know how it went. Cheers!

It's refreshing. Fresh herbs. I have tomato and mint leaves on my balcony. It's good to nourish them and see how they grow. @costopher

Yep, checking the daily progress and then ... eating the fruit of your labour :) Fun!

This is so COOL! Thank you for sharing. Most of my herbs are outside but this loos like a fun project to do with the kids and will be a great learning experience for them too.

Thank you! I'm sure the kids will have fun trying this out and obviously it will turn into a competition, hehe.

Very helpful tips for any level gardener- thanks for posting, especially the photos

You're welcome! I'm glad you think it's helpful!

I had tried this before and never had luck. They seemed to fizzle out within the first week. NOW I know my error. I out them in a glass without realizing roots don't like sunlight. Thank you!!
Gonna try again

You're welcome!
Please do and let us know how it went.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39