Cloned mint 6 days update and more

in #gardening7 years ago

Morning,

My https://steemit.com/gardening/@costopher/how-to-clone-herbs post attracted a lot of attention which surprised me beyond belief (btw, I am so grateful guys) so I thought about giving a very short update on the well being of the little clones.

It's only been 6 days since I transplanted the rooted cuttings; and they've been busy! The roots are colonising the little pots they found themselves in and in a few more days the new plants will be strong enough to be topped (have their main stem cut above a leaf node); this will encourage more growth and sturdier plants.
20170611_091638.jpg

That's about it with the mint clones.

The squash that I've removed from the greenhouse 9 days ago has been enjoying the outside, even though something attacked it, but it seems it's handling it pretty well. It topped 7 feet now.
20170611_092355.jpg
A lot of fruit is setting and the first tromboncinos are growing really quickly. Here's one of the longer ones.
20170611_092252.jpg

My greenhouse is turning into a jungle now with all the plants going at full power.
20170611_091714.jpg

Tomatoes are formed on the first and second trusses everywhere.
20170611_092015.jpg

And check out these little guys; my cucamelon plants have tripled in size in the last 9 days; I have tens of cucamelon flowers setting; It's going to be a painful job hand pollinating each of them and unfortunately I can't find any male flowers yet, so the first females will probably die off soon.
20170609_150425.jpg

That's all from me for now.

Thank you and have a great day!

Sort:  

Very cool greenhouse, looks like you have a lot of good stuff in there. I was just working on my garden last weekend. It is not nearly as vibrant but certainly taking off.

I definitely don't need to clone any mint though. The mind from last year survived the tilling and is now growing all over the place. Can't seem to pull it fast enough, as we switched it over to a pot this year, it was so invasive.

Following

Thank you!
Yes, got quite a few things in the greenhouse, actually too many as it's my first season with the greenhouse and I wasn't expecting all the plants to survive. It's over crowded but I hope that won't cause too many problems.

The reason for cloning the mint, is actually rather childish, hah. I've got one bed in the front yard that was over taken by weeds, it's in a bad position for growing veg, so last year I introduced mint and other invasive herbs in there to suppress the bad weeds. I cloned this pineapple mint so I can introduce it into the bed and see which mint will survive! It's going to be a mint battle to the death!

I like the way you've used your front lawn, I've never understood people who put in a lot of effort just to have beautiful grass.

Cheers

I know exactly what you mean about the energy put into having lawn. I very briefly worked for a lawn treatment company and my father has done it for over a decade. Of course, they have way more lawn than I do and they couldn't garden that whole thing, but I would totally put in some tree groves instead of just having open boring lawn for the whole property.

Anyway, I digress. I see nothing wring with a mint battle royal in the beds. Probably better than all those old McDonald's toys I melted in the flower beds with WD-40 and a lighter when I was a child.

Fruit trees is the way to go, or my favourite is to have grape vine on a trellis around the property boundaries.

It would be nice in a way if your McD toys would have sprouted happy meals, but I have a suspicion they haven't :)

Outside of some mulberry trees, they have none of that, but I agree fruit trees would be amazing to have around a property. I think, for me, it would be cherry and peach trees. Maybe and apple or too as well. I don't think I would want an orchard, but just some random trees around the property.

My parents house has a pretty large garden, it's a vegetable garden mostly, but there are a few fruit trees planted in it as well. I loved that as a kid, just going up in a cherry tree or one of my mom's favourite stories of a 3 year old me, waiting under the huge pear tree for something to drop. My technique worked so I don't get why she's still laughing at me 20-30 years later .

I've got a few trees in containers in my garden now. A cherry tree, a pear, 2 fig trees and a kumquat, but it's not quite the same as having them in the ground.

I hear lemon works well potted too.

Beautifully done, I love seeing people's success at gardening - yeah for you!

Thank you! It's great fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35