You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to: clone herbs

in #gardening7 years ago

So cool.. it tried growing cinnamon and thai basil from cuttings, and it's growing so well now. Except that worms and leaf miners are eating them :(

I knew just now that there's a pineapple mint. Looks really cute.

I'm currently growing peppermint from cuttings as well. I can see first sign of roots already. so excited.. :) Please follow me @melaimomagwork :)

Sort:  

Never tried growing cinnamon I'm afraid. As for the others I mostly use a soapy water spray to deal with the pests. Just put a couple drops of regular washing up liquid in a spray bottle filled with water and use it on the underside of the leaves. For a step up add some of the hottest pepper extract you can find in the spray bottle, bugs really don't like it ; garlic works as well. For basil, sometimes I just take the plants outside for a couple of days and then bring them back in when the problem looks solved or just bin the plant as I always have some new ones growing for that reason.

The pineapple mint works great for drinks or ice cream as the flavour is subtle and doesn't have that full on mint kick. There are many mint varieties, I'm going to get chocolate mint next.

Thanks

clone .. love the title lol

haha, thanks. It sounds way cooler than multiply and technically they are clones .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49