Week 2 Garden Progress: Those Starters Though...

in #gardening7 years ago

After just 7 days, our starters are loving their new cozy confines...


This season, Karley and I decided to invest in a small greenhouse for our starters. This thing is about 2.5 feet high, 2 feet wide, and 1.5 feet deep. It is the perfect size to rest on our window sill/DIY plant table. We have a heating pad for the starters that keeps the greenhouse warm and humid.

This thing ran about $35 on Amazon, and we will eventually move it outside once we get closer to transplanting them. The starters are growing noticeably faster than last year, so it already appears this minimal investment will more than pay off in the long run.

Most of those seedlings are various varieties of tomatoes, as it has only been exactly a week since we planted them. In my experience, peppers take a little bit longer to sprout up.

My early season planting is already sprouting up


The same day I started the seedlings, I also planted rows of mixed greens, radish, beets, kale, and snap pea mounds. From the picture you can see the beginnings of the radish row. Root vegetables are hardy enough to survive in freezing temps, and only a really hard frost would wipe out this crop, making it a safe bet to survive most front-range springs.

I also planted a few rows of buttercrunch lettuce today. This packet comes in seed-tape form, making it quick and easy to plant a ton of lettuce all at once.

Our first week of the season has been a promising one, and I look forward to this progress continuing as the season goes on. Our soil quality looks to be at its highest point since we've been working this particular piece of land, so I hope the fruit lives up to the dirt it is growing in :)


All uncredited pictures from pixabay.com or my personal account

If you received value from this post, I would gratefully appreciate your upvote


My Latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

Looking great @colinhoward!! We have some Buttercrunch planted also!!😁

Sweet! It's my first attempt at growing it, done plenty of other varieties of lettuce

Hey even looking at them feels so satisfying, can imagine how would you feel having yr own grown starters❤️ Good job👊🏽

How to Work Good, in Work like this requires an Experienced Professional. Sorry I have merestem your post @colinhoward

Very nice post sir @colinhoward

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.21
ETH 2472.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67