Ragtag Garden, Part 39

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Fall has arrived in full force and we're getting the low nighttime temps to prove it.

We've had lows in the mid-thirties for the past week and we might see the first freeze tonight.

Freeze Warning
Issued: 11:49 AM EDT Oct. 28, 2017 – National Weather Service

... Freeze warning remains in effect from 11 PM CDT /midnight EDT/
this evening to 9 am CDT /10 am EDT/ Sunday...

  • temperature... temperatures will drop to the upper 20s to lower
    30s Saturday night, away from the urban heat island affected
    areas of the Chicago Metro. Lowest temperatures will be west
    of the Fox River valley.

  • Impacts... any sensitive vegetation left outdoors will likely
    be killed as temperatures drop below freezing.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A freeze warning means sub-freezing temperatures are imminent or
highly likely. These conditions will kill crops and other
sensitive vegetation.


I'm expecting everything except my radishes to be dead in the next few days. In light of the forecast, I checked on the progress of radishes.

The lid was still in place even though we've had gusty winds off and on all day. I've been keeping the lid on, but turned sideways, to allow for some heat retention overnight and to protect the bin from some of the heavy rains we've had. It also allows for the greens to clear the top rim on the ends and not be crushed under the lid. It's working well, because I was able to pick the first four radishes from my first ever attempt at a fall crop.

One of them had a couple splits, so I included that one in the harvest. Besides, it will make more room for the one that was next to it.


I washed them up nice and pretty! Considering they came from a really old packet of seed-tape, I'm impressed with how many sprouted. I'm stunned that it looks like most of them will actually make it to maturity!

Fingers crossed the rest will soon be following along behind these. It would be awesome to be picking fresh veggies in November!


RECAP:


It started here - Reclaiming The Backyard Firepit
Which turned into this - Ragtag Garden


Here's A Scorecard For Newcomers

The expansion of these two projects has now become The Ragtag Saga:
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 1
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 2
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 3
Revved Up Ragtag, Part 4

Stay Tuned For The Next Installment - Coming Soon!


Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Gardeners Badge created by @daddykirbs.

Sort:  

We live in a much cooler climate, so all that is left in our garden is the carrots. They are still very tasty!

The cooler climates do pose some tough challenges. Good thing lots of veggies can be coaxed into a few extra days or weeks of production and seem to be a tad more flavorful for it. Congrats on the carrots!

good job mr @aunt-deb i like radishes.
Wash it and peel it and eat it

Thanks! They are a refreshing snack.

I'm attempting fall radishes, Chinese cabbage, and lettuce. They're in my greenhouse but it is not heated. We are supposed to get down in the 20's tonight as well. I'm not ready for it to be freezing!!!

I hope the greenhouse helps. At this time of the season, even a few extra days can matter.

I'm not ready for freezing either. I need to get another pair or two of longjohns to get me through the winter.

I got two pair of fleece-lined leggings. I had to wear a pair under my jeans already! It's crazy!!!

Ooooh, those sound delightful! I have a couple pair of fleece lined jeans, but dang, they're heavy. Thanks for the reminder to dig those out!

Well your garden lasted a really long time! Shame the cold weather is finally here. I'm freezing here in TN. We're getting a lot of rain so the temps are getting lower and lower.

It did, surprisingly! Lol!

I'm not ready for it to be cold just yet either. No more stalling on hunting up the gloves and scarves. Sorry for the rain you're getting. That always makes the cold seem more miserable. Keep toasty!

Nice radishes! :-)
We're into the colder weather now too. I have a few carrots growing in a pot in the greenhouse but that's all. I put a bunch of seeds in the pot, but didn't get much germination. I'm not sure if I over watered them, or under watered them...

Thanks! Have to squeeze in a few last minutes of fun for the season. ;~p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49