My container garden experimentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago

I've been reading a fair amount of garden posts lately, and some of them talk about container gardening in one way or another. I've been planting tomatoes and peppers in containers for the past few years, mostly in the greenhouse, but I haven't done much container planting with other veggies until the last couple of years. I decided to experiment with planting other crops in containers to see how they would do for me. I figure if I'm going to advocate for container gardening as an option when you don't have a place for an in-the-ground garden, I should at least have some experience with it myself. So, a few weeks ago, I started planting different kinds of veggies in various containers that I had, or scrounged.
This is what I have so far.
DSCN7027.JPG

DSCN7093.JPG

The short boards leaning up against the pots in the middle of the first picture are there to shade the black pots. I found out last year that if you have black pots out in the sun, it heats up the dirt in the pot, which is bad for the plants in the pot.
The white buckets have 1 yellow banana pepper plant each. The pot like thing with the camouflage color is a bag pot that was given to me, it has 2 early red potato plants in it. This is the first time I've planted potatoes in a container, so the results will be interesting. One of the smaller black pots has a pepper plant in it, the other has a pair of muskmelon plants. The 2 big brownish pots were given to me by a friend, those have yellow wax beans in them. The bean plants are small yet, they were planted late and took a long time to come up. I actually had to replant one of the pots. It rained so much in June that I had a hard time with germination with all my bean plants. I had to replant my pole beans 3 times and they still didn't all come up.
So anyway, if you don't count the plants in the greenhouse, this is my container planting endeavour. I'm going to add a couple of the pots from the greenhouse to the container area, I have carrots in a couple of pots and they don't need to be in the greenhouse.

text divider.png

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, eh!

As always, feel free to leave me a comment or question, I try to interact with all the comments and questions.

If you're new to my posts and you want to see more of my garden posts, and other stuff, feel free to hit the follow button.

Sort:  

Nice! keep recycling any containers! order special fruit trees online and or use avocado cores and put em in water with tooth picks start growiung all sorts of stuff from table scraps!

i will follow if u keep posting garden stuff! but u gotta keep growing!!!!

Oh ya, gotta keep on growing. `I'd like to be able to grow some of what you're growing but Michigan doesn't allow it without a medical card, which I don't have. Also, they don't let you grow it outside like you do.

That seems so nice and such a good idea as the dogs dig up all my work when i plant something. Will follow and try.

Thanks! It's always worth a try. Even a couple of big pots or plastic totes will get you started. If you use totes, you'll need to put some holes in the bottom for drainage.

This Post have been Manually Curated / Upvoted.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag ,
Please share Our #whalepower Tag with the community . Upvote , Follow, Reblogged Us , when ever you can.
This message comes-up when #whalepower Tag in use.
#whalepower is community project
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

Congratulations @amberyooper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well, look at you go! They all look like they're happy in their pots and I'll be curious to see how they do for you.

You and a couple other folks have inspired me to add carrots and potatoes to the mix next year. I may even try a small batch of carrots this year yet.

Good tip on shading the darker containers! I had forgotten about that.

Thanks!
I don't think it's too late to try carrots this year, they'll grow until frost, and if you can cover them, they'll keep growing slowly until the ground freezes.
Unless you have a long growing season, it's probably a bit late for potatoes, but you could get a few small ones perhaps. You would probably want to do potatoes in a tote, a 5 gallon bucket isn't really big enough for them. The container should have good drainage for potatoes, they don't do well if the dirt is too wet.

Good to know on the carrots. I do have a couple idle buckets that I could get fired up quick-like. I'm thinking a bin, sort of like the zukes are in, for potatoes. They'll take a little more thought and planning. Your advice makes that part much easier! Thanks!~

Great post, good luck with the new container plants this season!

I wouldn't be too worried about your container 'taters! People do them in containers often!! I am glad you're sharing about this! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61320.84
ETH 2394.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56