Tomato Massacre & The Beat Goes On la de da de da

in #garden6 years ago

jams & jellies(5).jpg

@knowledge-seeker asked a question this week: How Is Your Garden Doing? well ...gosh darn it! It's been a bumpy start to the season here at Walkerland.

First I tell you about my most epic fail ... it's a doozie.

I thought the potato infestation of 2016 was unbeatable (another story for another day) but this one wins hands down. In one fell swoop I've managed to kill 58 beautiful heirloom tomato plants. I'm talking 18 varieties of lovely, rare, beautiful tomatoes.

I'm pretty ticked off with myself because I've been nurturing these gorgeous plants for well over six weeks, painstakingly hardening them off - the works. A lot of time and effort went into growing them and they were gorgeous! I even waited more than a week longer than usual to bring them out to the greenhouse.

Then just like that ... I killed them.

jams & jellies(4).jpg

I really did shed a few tears over this but I bounced back because as Cher would say: "the beat goes on". Yes it does. I changed the lyrics to fit my situation. It was very therapeutic.

The beat goes on, the beat goes on
Drums keep pounding a rhythm to the brain
La de da de de, la de da de da

Charlotte's got a problem in the greenhouse, uh huh
Her tomatoes have turned brown, uh huh
The Red Zebras, wilted and sad, uh huh
Mortgage Lifters, need rescuing, uh uh

And the beat goes on, the beat goes on
Drums keep pounding a rhythm to the brain
de da de da

If you haven't listened to this song with it's correct lyrics before, it's a rather catchy rhythm meant to be sang enthusiastically.

The Survivors

Fortunately all but one of the tomato plants that I had actually gotten around to planting in the greenhouse survived ... maybe 15 plants in total. We rely heavily on the food we grow as part of maintaining our homesteading lifestyle so I put a lot of pressure on myself to get it right when it comes to gardening. It's sort of a big deal to mess up like this.. but truly ... worse things can and will probably happen. That's part of being a gardener.

I usually plant around 40+ tomato plants to meet our needs for fresh eating, sauce, condiments, salsa, etc and I even promised some plants to my neighbour so I am simply horrified that I will have to purchase some starts from the garden centre.

Why did this happen?

Impatience on my part. Not paying enough attention. Maybe I didn't harden the plants off enough ... its sometimes hard to be sure. The weather has been really strange. I am used to planting on the May long weekend but we continue to get nightly frost warnings and the temperatures are fluctuating sometimes by 30 degrees from morning to night. Everything is confused. Thank goodness we grow plenty of hardy plants as well. Diversification is key!

Recovery

I'm not taking any risks with the surviving plants. I gave them a bit of fish fertilizer and a good watering and sang to them. I pruned all of the wilted leaves. At night all all the plants are being covered by buckets and pails and then over that I'm putting frost fabric and some plastic. That should keep the temperature up a little bit more and the rest is up to fate.

IMG_5023.jpg

All tucked in for the night

IMG_5081.jpg

Garlic

The Garlic in the field has yellow tips which is not a good sign. Although there are several reasons this can happen, in this case the garlic does not like wet feet and we've had a lot snow which made the ground very soggy and this was followed by plenty of rain.

I added some nitrogen to the soil and gave it a good feeding and well just have to see. We've been working really hard at building up our heavy clay soil, we even have trenches to divert the water (it's working quite well). The garlic in the raised beds is well ahead in growth and vigour.

jams & jellies(2).jpg

We have loads of oregano ...everywhere! This is absolutely an effortless victory because it grows like wild fire but I'll take it!

jams & jellies(3).jpg

The frog pond is almost done and the herb spiral (rock pile) is well ...ready for frost free days so we can plant the herbs (thankfully I didn't murder those). There will be a lot of plants/shrubs planted around the pond in the next few days.

IMG_5046.jpg

The big old crab apple tree will be putting on its show soon - is there anything better than apple blossoms?

the beat goes on.jpg

There's a lot of wonderful things happening so I can't get too down in the mouth about this. Lessons have been learned and we just move on. and on. La de la de la.


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

Sort:  

As awful as it sounds, it's kind of a relief that I'm not the only one that has epic fails! I just celebrate what survives. Lol!

yes! That is an awesome way to look at it. I too feel a little better knowing I'm not alone in this.

Growing food can be so frustrating no matter how long we have been doing it! Mother nature never makes it easy for us. I have had plenty of epic fails myself that led to tears. I completely understand your pain. Always love your positive attitudes!

Thank you for your kind words. It helps to hear it from someone who understands!

Oh, your poor tomatoes!! I'm sorry that happened :( I found it endearing that you sang to the survivors...did you try out your new song to them?

I did! I've been going through our old CD's and playing them while I work today. It was fun! I still can't believe I did this, neither can my husband. I'm usually so diligent with the plants.

If you put your toms in the greenhouse to harden off, but they suddenly get really hot and then dry out (these look like they dried out) then that'll kill them as quick as a cold snap. The extremes are hard and toms are greedy eaters they need lots of water and feed, so that might be why. :( Keep trying though.

Ohhhhh, the twists and turns of gardening. Sorry to hear about your diseased plants Charlotte. Such a disappointment. But, glad to hear you're wise enough to diversify, have a plan B, and to be resilient about it. Hoping that the worst of the bad luck is over for the season! Your oregano & raised bed garlic is sure spectacular! Sweet counterbalance. Much love! Feels like I have not stopped by your blog in forever!!

it does seem forever since we've chatted. I am deeply behind on steemit lately as we try to get the homestead humming again after such a long winter. I'll pop by your blog for a read once I've written this. Every year there are new lessons. I just try not to repeat the same mistake twice! :)

Oh no!! Devastated to hear about your tomato deaths!! That's awful.

But good to see your garlic crop going strong, and the mulch around them too! Yay you.

I hope you don't get any more deaths this season!

I hope so too! I've learned this lesson well. I mulch like crazy in the garden. It wakes a world of difference on how often we need to water in the summer. The only issue is it gives slugs a good hiding place but I am starting to become master of finding them.

Yes, the insects in Spring here love the mulch. I tend to clear it off then but it's okay over winter and I throw coffee grounds, ground egg shells and maybe diacatomous earth over the most tender things til they grow up a bit. Pesky horrid slugs!!

So they got too cold? Mine are still inside, until today it's been too cold at night to put them in the cold frame to harden off. We had a very cold spring here. I've had hard frost on May 31, so nothing tender goes outside until June 1.

Love the bud color of your crabapple!

I had a crop failure also. I killed all the celery and badly damaged the rosemary that shared a flat with it by experimenting with a new feeding drench. Probably measured wrong...

I am thinking that's the case. I should have waited a bit longer. It seems as though we will need to follow the same June 1 schedule as you do going forward. Our neighbour said he isn't doing his garden until June 1 this year either.

I'm so sorry about your celery :( I burned plants once the same way. Will you still be able to grow some? That's one thing I haven't grown yet, I keep forgetting to get seed.

I wish the spring blossoms would stick around just a bit longer than they do, I think it's my favourite thing of all.

No, it was too late to grow more, I had to shell our my precious Steem money for 39 more plants. :((

That's funny you and I am on the same planting time, but so far apart!

it really is a funny thing! We sometimes wish we moved just a little bit warmer - even an hour from here is a zone hotter.

I had to buy some tomato plants today so I was in the same boat! Can't win them all right?

We didn't know it when we bought this property but it is a little micro climate. Just 10 mins down the road is another zone. They neither get the frosts as late, usually 2 weeks earlier, nor the very low temps, usually 5 - 10F warmer. But it is more urban there...

I am sorry to hear about your tomato plants, but at least it wasn't a total loss. Your oregano and garlic are looking very nice. These are two of the things that we are wanting to get started, so hopefully we will get to it this year. Great Job!

Thanks @knowledge-seeker! It was frustrating but the plants that survived are looking lovely and healthy so we are still in good shape. I love growing garlic, it's such a great crop. I do hope you give it a try. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29