Thrive or Die Dev Blog #3 - In-Depth Crafting

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

The crafting system in Thrive or Die will be incredibly in-depth. I thought to myself: "If I were stuck in the wilderness, how would I go about crafting these different things I may need to survive?"

If I needed something like a hammer, I'd start looking for trees and rocks. I wanted to make the way one creates new things as realistic as possible, this will certainly cause headaches for people who want an "easy" game, and excite those who are looking for a challenge. As I've said, every part of this game is going to be difficult, if you want a cash reward, you'll have to earn it.
Let's take a look at the process of creating a Crude Hammer from scratch...


The first thing you'll need to to is find a large rock in the environment. These spawn small stones in their vicinity. Find a few of these small stones and grind them into "sharp stones" by using the large rock.
You'll need this sharp stone to strip bark from branches to use as lashing for rope. You'll also need to create a "stone shard" by grinding one of your sharp stones even further on a large rock.
Once you have acquired a couple small stones and stone shards, you'll need to find some branches from trees. These can be broken into sticks, or stripped of their bark using a sharp stone. You'll need to do both.

sharpstones.png

tree branch.png

Now that you have small stones, sharp stones, stone shards, branches, sticks, and bark strips, you've almost got everything you need to start crafting tools! You'll need to create rope out of bark strips, and the first tool you'll need is a knife. This can be crafted by combining a stick, rope, and a stone shard. This crude little knife will allow you to carve sticks into a more durable "tool handle". A crude hammer is crafted by tying a small stone to the end of a tool handle using rope.

materials.png

As you can see...

It will be no small effort to craft even the smallest of things, just like it would be in the real world. I've said from the beginning there will be a STEEM-based reward system built into this. I'm not entirely sure how that will play out, but if you want some of my money, you're going to have to fight for it. You'll obviously be able to team up with other players to help each other survive, but you'll also need to be wary of people trying to take advantage of your successes.

Sorry for the poor formatting... I had it all laid out so beautifully, and something messed up in an edit somewhere :(

Original Announcement

Dev Blog #1

Dev Blog #2

WANTED: Pixel Artists


That's all for this Blog entry, but stay tuned for more! The next Dev Blog will be about Artificial Intelligence!


@pitterpatter made this image!

Sort:  

oh nice nice nice. Same graphics as the other games you've made. Dig the crafting skill already. Once I pickup another pc I'll test out functions and look for fixes. In the mean time feel free to hit me up to come over if needed. Looking forward to this games completion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60941.82
ETH 3385.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50