An online RPG with a steem-based reward system! (with a poll and steemgig to kick it off!)

in #steemgigs7 years ago (edited)

I will soon begin development of an online, sandbox survival rpg with a steem-based reward system!


Quick edit... This is absolutely nothing like the fiasco that just occurred in our community with a certain "mogul" claiming to make people millions. You are going to have to fight hard, think fast, and EARN the right to take my money. I'm a serious game developer with literally decades of experience creating different sorts of games, both digital and physical.
This game is not going to make you rich. This game may never pay you at all, unless you've got the skills to survive.
Now. Without further a due...


The game will be developed using the BYOND engine, which is a full-featured programming language and game engine based on C++, which has built-in support for hosting games online, and a community like none I'd seen until Steemit.

byondbanner.jpg
https://www.byond.com

I know the game will be called "Thrive or Die", and it will be a hardcore survival game, meaning death is almost always permanent. I know that the graphic style will be 64bit, a throwback to the days of SNES. I also know that I am not a very good pixel artist, hence the #steemgig mentioned in the title. More info on that below.


First,

I can't decide between a medieval fantasy theme with magic, or a post-apocalyptic theme with technology. You can help me decide by voting on the @steempoll I just created here ==>
https://steemit.com/steempoll/@steempoll/what-theme-should-i-choose-2017610t231910554z


The SteemGig


I will be looking for a pixel artist for this project, as I'm a terrible one 😀

@malicered wrote an article (https://steemit.com/blog/@malicered/woah-hang-on-there-design-contests-are-not-good-if-you-re-a-startup-you-need-to-read-this) explaining why this sort of "contest" or gig can create a situation where an artist works only for a CHANCE to earn from it. I want to prevent this, and Steemit can help.

If you would like to apply, please create a post titled "STEEMGIG: Pixel Artist submission" This way all submissions will earn a bit of money regardless of whether they are selected. If multiple people are able to produce the same sort of style, or styles that flow well together, I will accept multiple artists. Include a sample of your work, and link this post in your submission.

I am looking for styles resembling the RPG Maker series of tilesets like the images below.

Medieval style:

ad-base-7.png screenshot1.png

Post-apocalypse style:

f05559665cab4256a4ca4a2c8445a396.png maxresdefault.jpg

Payment for work can be talked about once an artist(s) is chosen.


I'm still in the pre-planning for this game, but have been working with Byond for almost 18 years. 100% of the reward for this post will go toward the development fund, and tipping artist submissions.


I'll be creating many more #steemgigs for this project, as well as suggestion contests, and giveaways.


UPDATE:

About 24 hours in, and the poll is very telling. Looks like it's going to be medieval fantasy FTW!


Anyone interested in the pixel art gig can submit artwork to [email protected] with the subject "Pixel art submission", or mention me in a post.


Dev Blog #1

badge.gif
Follow me @thatsweeneyguy


Sort:  

So how I have the same idea about a MMORPG backed by a blockchain currency just like Steem. I don't have the skill to implement it, just think about it on a player's perspective. Good to see someone is going to implement one.
I haven't tried this kind of sandbox survival games with permadeath, like to know how it runs.
I am still in the good old days of Ultima Online, EverQuest, WoW era. Too old for today, right?

Very true. While I don't have experience with the blockchain, I've been an amature game developer for over 20 years

omg ^_^ sandbox survival games with permadeath are my absolute favourite kind of game. and for it to have a steem reward system... it's like you've combined all my gaming fantasies into one project!

I'm an incredibly avid fan myself. I've spent over 20 years making and playing rpgs. As a child, I made a full D&D-esque rulesets to play with my brothers.

These days I've been playing a lot of games with bitcoin reward systems, and want to bring that kind of fun to Steemit.

what games are there so far with bitcoin reward systems? I only know one called choinchop, dragon knights of valyria and a couple of really bad faucetgames.

Before I started on Steemit, I was hooked on virtualpub

YES Its roguelike games they are my favorite too

Check out "Shadows of Adam" for a cool retro RPG. I think the art style and layout could be useful to you as inspiration. And it's a fun game.

I'll look into that. Thanks!

If you need help on music creation for the game, just let me know! :D

I certainly will!

Got a few steemgigs planned for this project, including music.

Bring it on my friend!, i can compose/produce and kind of music :) i would love to work for this project!

This sounds fun. I voted in the poll and am following for updates!

Nie interested to see how it turns out!! If you need a game tester or someone to write a review. Let me know haha!

Of course, of course.

Congratulations @thatsweeneyguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

cant wait!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58