I threw a gaming convention themed party! (pic heavy)

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

ThumbCon.jpg

Gaming is everything to me, its really one of the few things I have in common with my teen self. Somewhere just behind my love for games is my passion for making stuff! I found these photos from a couple years back and had to share them with the Steemit gaming community! My husband and I always talked about attending a convention some day, we move around a lot for his job so the timing was never right. With his birthday coming up I decided to level up my crafting skill creating a birthday gaming con just for him. I dubbed it Con Om Nom! Here are a few (maybe more than just a few) pictures of my finished work.

Con3.jpg

Con5.jpg

We were going hard on Borderlands at the time so having Tiny Tina invite him by calling him a bitch seemed like a good idea. Most con goers book a hotel stay... to make the experience more authentic, I created my own "Kitty Hotel" where he'd been given a free room for the night.

Con8.jpg

Here's a closeup of the official Con Om Nom poster... I guess you're sensing a theme. Cats! because cats!

Con18.jpg

Conventions can be tough to navigate. Big colorful signs marked the different zones attendees (..us) could find activities. You didn't think I was going to create some linear piece of trash right?!

Con13.jpg

I'm bummed I didn't grab more pictures to show you. This was the kitchen... I mean Moxxi's! Fortunately Moxxi over pours, so our turn up was strong that night.

Con6.jpg

I couldn't resist re-creating Moxxi's tip jar, I admittedly kept this around a while after the party haha. After a few shots I was demanding tips, it got really silly.

Con14.jpg

I'm not one for rules, especially at a birthday party, but lines were drawn that day: No party pooping! Ok if you're not going to poopsock I tried to make it clear where biz goes down.

Con20.jpg

...but absolutely NO FAPPING! At Con Om Nom we keep the Dook Hut PG and free of filth. Mostly.

Con4.jpg

I wanted to incorporate our favorite games, League of Legends was a no brainer. you can't have a party without cake, so I threw on my apron and baked some epic vanilla Poro cakes. The Poros were printed on cardstock, painstakingly cut out and taped to lollipop sticks. I feel like this is where I start singing, "and I would do anything for love!..."

con22.jpg

Here's another picture of the Poro cakes. I had this room designed to be a League of Legends tournament room. We had Bawls energy drinks, muddy buddies (with extra peanut butter) and tiny favor bags that included LoL game cards.

Con2.jpg

I wanted to have a few recognizable touches from each game. Inspiration for this Moxxi's Pizza box came straight from IG. Before you ask, yes there was actually pizza in this box and it was delicious!

Con11.jpg

Making all of the Borderlands elements was by far my favorite part of creating this whole thing. I re-skinned our refrigerator to sell Dr. Zed's Meds. I used up so many markers coloring this in.

Con16.jpg

It was important that we had activities to do throughout the night. I came up with the idea of incorporating one of his favorite champs from League of Legends into a game. Behold, the Wheel of Miss Fortune! I attached this massive wheel to our bannister, it actually spun. All of the different quotes corresponded with an action, a mini game, snack, loot, etc. I have to admit I was proud of this one!

Con15.jpg

If I recall correctly he had just finished Portal 2 and it seemed appropriate to include a little nod to it at the convention. There was a small prize to be opened when I spontaneously decided it was time to open the exhibit.

Con21.jpg

This game of League of Legends - Coin Steal Ring Toss was harder than I looks. We had to stand at a decent distance and chuck glow rings at the creeps. Another tiny gift was awarded for collecting enough points. This game took longer to finish than it should have.. I can feel your judgment, I'd like to see you try after a few shots!

Con9.jpg

I was caught off guard during a game of LoL, he randomly sent me this Soraka skin, one I had been eyeing a while. The message says, "May your bananas spin brightly and heals be off CD when needed most." It's such a girl thing to say, but I main heals.. deal with it!

Con7.jpg

These Borderlands lockers were placed around the venue, they held candy and small party favors.

Con1.jpg

Ah, Diablo 3! Another nod to a game we had recently completed together. I bought him some soft silky pajama pants, tossed them in some crinkled grocery bag and applied some stats for good measure.

Con10.jpg

We're always creating crazy themed parties and dinners... just for the two of us! If you've enjoyed this look into our madness, I'd love to post more of our themed stuff for you. We ended his birthday by retiring to the Kitty Hotel room and slept off our drunken, sugar binge surrounded by a ton of loot.

As always I appreciate you spending time with me today. I would also like to give a warm welcome to my new followers! I hope you have a fantastic rest of your day and I look forward to seeing you tomorrow.

Did you miss my last post? Catch up here https://steemit.com/@shoogie and don't forget to give that "Upvote" button some love!

Sort:  

This is.. amazing- No Fapping X) rEsteemed for Fun factor! Cheers to your next shindigity

Good to hear from you @millhouze! Lmao, fapping at a birthday party is strictly prohibited bwahah. Happy you enjoyed it friend, thank you for the support. Have an awesome day millhouze!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shoogie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

This post has received a 0.20 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @shoogie. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post has received a 0.79 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @shoogie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31