Retro Arcade - VIRTUA FIGHTER - Sega 1993

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

I was at the Luxor in Vegas when I first saw this game in 1993 and it blew my mind! Virtua Fighter was a landmark game in it's time. It launched the 3D fighter genre and a whole series of super cool and realistic looking games by Sega. It was widely available on consoles from the Sega 32x to Saturn.

Virtua Fighter is a 1993 fighting game, developed for the Sega Model 1 arcade platform by AM2, a development group within Sega, headed by Yu Suzuki. It was the first game in the Virtua Fighter series, and the first 3D-based fighting game (4D Sports Boxing was released few years earlier, but belongs to slightly different genre).

The first Virtua Fighter was ported to the Saturn in 1994 (1995 outside Japan), just months before fellow 3D-fighter Tekken was released. The console port, which was nearly identical to the arcade game, sold at a nearly 1:1 ratio with the Saturn hardware at launch.


Virtua Fighter on the Sega Genesis 32x hardware upgrade:

Virtua Fighter on the 32X makes some sacrifices. The backdrops are sacrificed for flat matte backgrounds. The rings lose detail. The fighter models are simplified -- less polygons and shading. And, as expected, the screen resolution takes an ample hit so the edges of the polys are pretty jagged.

Please share your experiences with this great game!

Source: http://virtuafighter.wikia.com/wiki/Virtua_Fighter
Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtua_Fighter
Source: https://www.fightersgeneration.com/np/games
Source: http://ca.ign.com/articles/2008/11/24/virtua-fighter-review

Sort:  

Spent many hours and many quarters on that one!

207fa2354044b233b75249c4db1298441453732287_large.jpg

Oh, I played PC ported (probably a hack or Emulation) Virtua Fighter 2 before. I thought it wasn't good as Tekken which I played in my childhood but I didn't think it was bad.

But being the first game of the genre is really amazing plus!!

I included this review in my Gaming Daily collection of posts, I'd like if you check that out.

Right on! Tekken shall be posted next...it is by far the best of the genre! I have followed you :)

cool!

This is a really cool post. I remember playing virtua quest on the gamecube when I was little.

The Gamecube is amazing!

No Way!! I had totally forgotten about this game! I think I used to play it on a NEO GEO arcade machine, it had like 6 different games on it.

Thanks for the memories!

It wasn't on the Neo Geo, but that was an amazing system!

Was it only on console? Now I'm just making memories up! LOL Must have been on a mega drive and Im mixing it up with something else.

It would have been Saturn or 32x. There were future Virtua Fighters on other consoles. Truth is...as long as you played it is all that matters :)

This post has received a 0.81 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @sequentialvibe.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.87% vote... I was summoned by @sequentialvibe! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Thank you sequentialvibe for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.39% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65775.18
ETH 2600.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68