Retro-Play: Star Tropics part 1 | I went on an island adventure and all I got was this lousy yo-yo!

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

Star Tropics is probably the best of the early 90's "Zelda clones". Though derivative, it's somewhat unique in that is isn't just a port of a Japanese game like so many other classic games of the era - it was only released in the US and Europe.

In the game you play as Mike, a kid that visits his uncle's private island only to find that his uncle isn't there. It turns out he's been kidnapped and it's Mike's job to go and save him using a yo-yo for some reason.

I believe Star Tropics to be the first game I bought with my own money. I was sold on the game by a ridiculously stupid commercial that seemed to air non-stop after it's release in the US. Luckily for me it turned out that the game was actually very well crafted, and it became one of my all time favorites.

This is the slick piece of marketing genius that drove me to buy this game:

Don't judge me!

This game is loaded with Easter eggs, and although the control scheme is a bit tiresome it's still fun as hell to play.

If you liked this Retro Play check out the one I'm doing for Dragon Warrior - another classic NES title.

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Great game! One of my strangest "in the wild" finds was a lady who's family had a video rental store in the VHS era. She had a yard sale and there was a box that had 10-15 of the letters from Uncle Steve. No games or systems or instruction manuals, just the letters from Uncle Steve.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15