Retro-Play: Dragon Warrior part 1 | My first RPG!

in #retrogaming7 years ago

Retropithecus Title2.png

Some gamers do "Let's Plays", some do "Play-Throughs", others do "Walk-Throughs" and "Tutorials" - I do Retro-Plays and they're a wee bit different.

I'm going to take the "Let's-Play" concept waaaayyy back in the day. We're not talking consoles that you 90's babies consider old, like Playstion 1, or GameCube - we're talking 8-bit baby! When the graphics were blocky, the music was tinny, and your only source of information was the box it came in and the kid at school who had a subscription to Nintendo Power.

You can think of my Steem channel as Mystery Science Theater 3000 for retro-games, but unscripted, with (a lot) more cursing and fewer robots (sadly).

I'm going to be tagging these vids NSFW, not because I'm playing in the nude (I am), but because if your boss walks by your cubicle and hears me talking about how Link from The Legend of Zelda is definitely into pegging - you're going to have to explain what "pegging" is to your boss and why you're watching videos about it at work - not an enviable situation.

The good news for you is this situation should never arise becuase I'm not planning on playing typical classic games, but rather some more obscure titles from my childhood that you may have never heard of.

The first title in this epic series of videos is the legendary Dragon Warrior.

dragon-warrior-nes-front-cover-small.jpg

This was the very first RPG (role playing game) I ever played, and God was it EPIC! Unlike most games of the time that compensated for lack of content with insane difficulty curves, Dragon Warrior introduced the grind. I spent, and will spend, days battling slime. Fortunately this was also one of the first games I can remember that let you actually save your progress. Common today - but back then it was a revelation!

I'm not sure how many hours of my youth I lost to this game, but I'm comfortable saying it was in the hundreds.

I hope to complete the game in this series - but I also plan on doing Retro-Plays for several other games and releasing them weekly - so who knows if I'll have time.

I hope you enjoy the vid, if you do, drop me some comments and some Steem. If you don't drop me some anyway - couldn't hurt. As time goes on, quality and quantity of these vids should only go up.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Pro tip: The "E" is for experience points.

I took that shit, and I played it. And it was awesome.

Upvote.

It was my first RPG as well, came free with my subscription to Nintendo Power! That game was amazing! This post has just put a nice big ol' smile on my face.

Same here. My brother got an NES for his Birthday. We convinced our parents to get us a subscription to Nintendo Power. The first time we put in Dragon Warrior I was blown away. We put Super Mario Bros. completely to the side and played Dragon Warrior every waking second until we had completed it. Of course, without access to the internet, that took us what seemed like ages.

honestly i think completing the game is impossible without a little help, i remember the maze in the castle at the end of the game as ridiculously hard to navigate. If i make it therein the retro play i'll probably give it a shot without a walk through then use a guide to actually complete the game.

Well, actually, the game came with maps and ennemy stats and stuff when you had it from Nintendo Power... So, I guess that helped a lot.

Ahhh, i borrowed it from a friend...so i had nothing but a cartridge. I did eventually get a strategy guide for it and that was the only reason i completed it .

yeah i've been grinding it little by little this week. made it to lvl 10 last night so i can do some exploration in next vid without getting slaughtered. It's repetitive as hell, but i'm laughing the whole time.

Congratulations @retropithecus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16