No Man's Sky | Art and Science Melded into a Beautiful Game

in #gaming6 years ago

Woooooohoooooo!!!


Does that express my excitement sufficiently? ;P
 
As I say in the beginning of the video below, this will be something very different from what I usually do here on Steemit, but I just couldn't let the opportunity pass to share my favourite game with you all.
 
And what you should know is that I am not your typical gamer. I really don't play games much. With my life the way it is right now, I have become very fussy with how I spend my time and so, believe me, if I'm sinking a few hours a week into this game, it's because it is worth it ;)
 

Image Copyright, Hello Games
 
This game is utterly unique... Let me tell you why (interspersed with some screenshots from my gameplay which you can watch in the video below):
 
First off, it is what is called an open sandbox game. You can get in and essentially do whatever you want. There is an intriguing, mysterious story that you can follow and unravel, but you don't have to... You can opt to explore the universe as an adventurer, seeking out interesting and unique planets/animals/terrains.

Or you can settle on a beautiful planet and perhaps start farming, or focus on building the most incredible planet-base in the galaxy. You can become a pirate, ransacking the freighters often found it orbit around planets... Also, now in this update, you can join do any of the above but with friends in multi-player!
 

 
But the reason the game is truly unique is because of the way it was made... Usually, when you see something in a game, be it a castle or a river or some beautiful backdrop, you're seeing something that was drawn on purpose by an artist and put in that place specifically by the programmers. NMS is different: It uses procedural generation to create everything you see!
 

 
Every plant, animal and terrain you see is generated from pure code. I wish I understood it better in order to describe it better. But basically, everything you discover is completely unique, with nobody else in the game ever having seen the same thing.

Unless of course if another player arrived in the system/on the planet before you, then only two players in the galaxy will have seen it ;P ... And this is incredibly unlikely because of the immense size of the universe.
 

 
Try to imagine: There are over 18 quintillion possible planets to discover. 18,446,744,073,709,551,616 to be exact. And remember, they don't actually exist until you find them.
 
This explains how it is possible to have so many and also emphasises that when you do find a planet, it is 100% unique because it is only generated when a player arrives at it.

 

 
And as I said, that applies not only to planets but to all the flora and fauna on them! I didn't get any good screenshots of the strange and wonderful animals on the frozen planet I landed on because I was too busy trying not to die ;P ... But I'll be doing more posts (not necessarily with a video every time) and I promise to share all the wonders of the universe that I discover ;)
 
And that's the note I'm going to leave you on... If you want to see directly what it's like trying to survive right in the beginning of the game, take a look at my video below. As I said, I won't always make videos for these posts, but I will whenever I find especially amazing discoveries ^^
 
Thanks for reading! (and watching! ;))





Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
The Mandelsage Challenge! - My Most Precious Possessions | "Snowflake" - Gallery: Motifs | ULOG: Talking into the Future 001 - Overwhelmed
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images, copyright @mandelsage

Before using bidbots, consider that they are bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining the terrible bidbot situation is by Luke Stokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

Ah, the wonders of happenstance !

Guess which game I quite recently bought at half price and have been playing since the day before yesterday... !

I love it. The feel of exploration is superb.

I also happened upon an amelioration that was quite... enormous.

My Scanning Visor now has a Six Thousand % bonus income when scanning unknown living creatures XD

Honestly the only fault I can find is space combat... I don't want to have to face my opponents to shoot them, I want to press a button that launches rockets from my rocket launcher behind me.

Spaceship weaponry should be omni-directional XP

Oooh gosh! I should really pay more attention to my comments! >.<

That is awesome! I've hardly had any free time to play so I'm not even off my home planet yet.

I agree - spaceship weaponry really should be multi-directional, lol. Maybe that's coming in an update.

I don't understand about the amelioration... But don't spoil it, I'll play a bit this weekend hopefully and we can then compare notes.

The feeling of exploration truly is what makes the game magical. It's been that way since it came out two years ago - the gripes were about other expectations that weren't satisfied.

And later, we should definitely meet up and do something in game together ^^

yeah, that image of the "Fail-rex" XD XD XD

The critters could still use a bit more different parts, but I HAVE encountered a couple where I was just oh dear... that's new

Could be fun to meet up at some point, yeah :)

Great write up! My dad got a new computer a while ago and it had a pretty beefy graphics card in it. He wasn't really using it to its fullest potential, so I suggested he check out No Man's Sky because I had read about it and I thought it might be something he could keep pace with. He is totally addicted now. Especially moreso now that the update has come out. I don't have a ton of free time to play games, especially now that I am on Steemit, but I might have to take a look again so I can explorer the universe with my dad!

Thank you @bozz ^^

Most excellent that you got your dad into this amazing game. And yeah, I'm sitting with the same problem as you: Steemit takes so much of my time that I don't get to enjoy certain things that I've always loved like I used to... My [post from today] is my solution to this... Making it part of Steemit, hehe. A written diary of my character - with rare intermittent video feeds (when my suit's camera works - it was damaged when I crashed, you see.... ;P).

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Congratulations @mandelsage! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72