Retro Review - Digimon Rumble Arena

in #gaming6 years ago

Source

One of the most frequent fights that happened between fans was which of these two franchises was the best: Pokemon or Digimon, both have very similar aspects, but at the same time with totally different concepts. Personally, I always liked the Digimon anime more than Pokemon anime, given that the events and the story told in it had a more mature tone, but when it comes to videogames, I always liked the ones from Pokemon for its RPG style, however there is a Digimon game that I liked almost like any other game of its rival, despite being a fairly simple but entertaining fighting game.

Today's retro review is about that anime-based fighting game that many likes: Digimon Rumble Arena.


The graphic section of this decent game, is not spectacular like other games of the old, but dear PlayStation 1, but the work in the graphic aspect of Digimon Rumble Arena is quite good. This is a game that, like its anime, is full of bright and eye-catching colors, both the Digimon's itself, as the scenarios stand out in the great variety of colors that were used at the time of programming this game, in turn, the design of the scenarios where we have the opportunity to fight, are well recreated and quite similar to some locations that we can find in any chapter of this saga.

They also highlight to a large extent the designs of all Digimon, where the resemblance to their counterparts are adequate for us to distinguish and recognize them easily enough, it is a pretty good copy with their animated counterparts. In addition, these have fluidity of movement necessary and well done for the type of game that is, remember that Digimon Rumble Arena is a fighting game, therefore the fluidity with which the characters must move around the stage and to use some skill or power, is necessary to provide the player with a pleasant gaming experience, and I think this is an aspect where there is no fault. And with respect to the abilities of the characters, each one has special powers, where each one of these powers, were animated in the best possible way and without a doubt, in terms of powers and special abilities, it is the graphic aspect by which it gives more to shine this game.

Source


The sound of this game is fine, it is not spectacular, but it is not bad either, it is maintained in an intermediate term, where most of the melodies that we will find, are the same or similar to those we can hear in the anime of it, yes , they are very dynamic melodies and in many occasions they contribute their degree of action to the battles. In the same way the sound effects, both of blows or explosions caused by the powers and abilities of the Digimon, stand out a little more compared to the soundtrack of this game, because when listening to the sound of a blow or the sound of some skill impacted on your enemy gives a greater immersion to the fight that we have.

Video Author
Darkchaosblast/ultraxdox


I remember when I bought this game I was quite excited, because I was going to be able to control the anime characters that were my favorite at that time, in battles, I was quite young when I played it for the first time and it was definitely one of my games favorites for at least some time. I always played it, in fact, it is possibly a game that even today I can enjoy pleasantly, however, sometimes it is better to leave some things in the past, nostalgia is very strong and many times when we try something again after a long time, the experience is not the same, and the nostalgia makes us believe that this game or that something was better than we thought.

Even so, Digimon Rumble Arena was a game where I had a lot of fun fighting other Digimon, had a game mode that had quite similarity with Super Smash Bros, because the scenarios where the fights were disputed, were wider and we could move more freely compared to a more classic fighting game. In each scenario you could find different powers in the form of a card, where one of them could help us have an advantage against our enemy, but some also hurt us in battle, therefore we had to be alert of many things on stage.

In Digimon Rumble Arena we had several characters of Digimon 1 and 2, each of them, as we can guess, had abilities seen in the anime, as well as movements and attacks, but unlike the anime. And also, as in anime our characters had the ability to evolve, this was possible to a bar of energy that was charged as the fight progressed, for each hit aimed at our enemy, the power bar was loading little by little, when the bar was completely filled, the option to evolve was activated, in doing so, our Digimon obtained more power and new abilities and therefore we had more advantage in the fight.

Source


Digimon Rumble Arena was one of the games of my childhood and one of the games of what was once my favorite anime, therefore it is normal that I have so much appreciation despite all the years that have passed. A game that perhaps today I see it with another perspective, but for those who have never played it, they may have a more assertive opinion about this great game.

Source


Sort:  

I've never played a digimon game. This looks good for the era, and the license. You had a taste for psx era fighters based on tv shows huh?

When I was younger I liked more fighting games, now not so much, I prefer a good RPG hehehe.

I will just say "Master Piece"

It is a fantastic game.

Do you think Magnadramon was OP?

I think they just reused all the digimon world assets (or the other way around).

How much I really loved this game, unlike the other games of Digimon, I played this one for a short time with my brother and cousins. But those were good memories.

This review is great, the pictures you choose are good. I don't think it's amazing fighting game, nor one of the Playstation 1 best... But for Digimon anime fans it's probably a masterpiece!!

I remember when I bought this game I was quite excited, because I was going to be able to control the anime characters that were my favorite at that time.

I was exactly like that at the time!!


I included your post in my ahmadmanga's Gaming Daily, this should've been in my yesterday's post. Oh, well...

Thanks man, It's cool that you liked it.

Undoubtedly, this game is part of the childhood of many

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40