ahmadmanga's Gaming's Daily #12: Mostly Negative, The Worst Port for The Best Game? Chrono Trigger Steam Version

in #gaming6 years ago

Did you see Chrono Trigger Steam version? Well, I don't know if I'm happy it was actually released, or angry at the publisher!

CHRONO-TRIGGER-Title.jpg

Salam (Peace)

So I was extremely happy to wake up one day on the news that Chrono Trigger is released on PC. It's one of the games I'm okay with paying the full price for you know? But after reading user reviews... Mostly Negative and checking screenshots I feel like not buying it at all.

Do you know how hard to make me dislike a game?

I'll just link to this Youtuber who advices people to not purchase the game, and quote some of the reviews on steam page:

[X] You need to try spectacularly hard to screw up a game like Chrono Trigger.

[X] Giving Chrono Trigger a dislike is the hardest thing I've had to do in my life.

[X] I think, how bad could it be? Surely everyone is blowing this port quality out of the water, so I figured I'd give it a shot. But nope. It's terrible. Awful UI, bad sprite filtering, jarring tile issues. If you really want to play CT again, this has to be the worst way to do it.

It's funny because I think the game would have gotten better reviews if it was just Emulated SNES Rom or PS1 ISO, and I consider that one of the worst methods possible to port a game. I feel that this port was developed by people who don't care about the game at all.

The User Interface Is Touch/Small Screen Optimized

ChronoTriggerPC_UI

The mobile ver. can excuse itself cause IT'S ON MOBILE. I mean, I won't find it bad if I played on mobile with this user interface. But you can't make a PC port out of a mobile port without changing anything and expect people to be happy with it. It's just wrong.

ChronoTrigger_UI2

Can I Hope A Patch?

I don't think it's likely. I'm pretty sure Square Enix knew that this would happen and decided it's an acceptable sacrifice. But I don't think any of the actual developers of this game would be happy that it was devolved into something like this... It's sad

I don't know if I'll get the game eventually... I'll probably do, if they made improvement patches. But it's very sad to see my all time favorite game being treated like this.

Finally I'll quote one Review I liked:

[X] The worst version of the best game ever made still manages to be the best game ever made. Yes, this is a mobile port (and should probably be more properly advertised as such) but outside of the lazy and not nearly nostalgic touch-style menus, everything that makes Chrono Trigger the most incredible tale told in the RPG medium is still here.

Please Wake Up From This Nightmare, Gaming Industry.

At least wake me up from it.


Around The #Gaming Tag

Below are some posts from the last 24 hours. They are posts I read from my feed and new section of #gaming.

Portia.jpg

AgeOfEmpires.jpg

NGage.jpg

  • Nokia N-Gage - Videogame History #46 by @gabox: Nokia was my favorite mobile company, but I didn't know it made gaming devices too. This detailed post is about N-Gage... It was flawed system but it tried something new. How many companies are doing that now?

SteemShop.jpg

  • [Shameless Self Promotion]: Steam SBD Shop I Re-opened Yesterday!! I sell my Humble Bundle leftovers for SBD, my prices are a bit higher than the bundles but I think I'm quite fair. [Self Promtion End]

Finally a honorable mention to
@gamersclassified's "The ESRB official decision on microtransactions."
@oncryptos' "Ethercraft: A decentralized RPG on Ethereum Blockchain."
@freemarketkev's "Iron From Ice: Part 2." (Telltale Game of Thrones)
@princewahaj's "WordWhizzle Search Answers - Win The Level Today!"


~ I look forward to your comments ~



Chrono Trigger cover image is from its promo. Screenshots are taken from Kotaku which also reviewed the game. All other images are from their respective posts.
Sort:  

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

Thanks for including my post! It's encouraging me to do more game reviews. :)

Looking forward to them :)

I think I might do one on "zen games", the games you play just to relax at the end of the day.

Thank you for the kind words and mention! And I think the games from my giveaway are pretty good indeed. I'm still low on entrants, so if anyone around here wants to join! The link is in this post around the age of empires section.

Wish there are more readers on steemit, I resteemed and tried to put it in some #post-promotion channels on discord, but what will happen will depend on luck.

I think the real problem is, most steemian gamers are mostly only interested in posting content, not checking out other people's blogs. They usually don't connect with anyone. And I think this happens just because they don't understand the importance of networking.

Hoping they do some updates to the port to fix the nose glaring issue. If they can fix the small things like the menu I will be getting it. If not? I will stick to emulation.

Yup, me too.

Actually I think the biggest problem is the graphic filter, if it was truly pixelated it would look better but they added filter that makes the pixels mesh with each other and the players said it can't be turned off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67