Playstation 1 Games of My Childhood

in #retrogaming7 years ago

This is Nostalgia post more than a review, Some of these games aren't well known.


Salam (Peace)

PS1 was the first gaming system I remember I had, I probably had one before but at the time I didn't care what I was playing... seeing the pictures on TV screen change when I press a button was 'the amazement' by itself!!

Until my cousins bought their PS2 when I was 16 years old... I played PS1 games every summer. sometimes when I was really young from the early morning till late night (16 hours playing?! even the current me can't believe that).

My English at the time was very weak... I could translate few things like "Game Over" and "You Lose" or maybe "Good Morning, Crono" but that's it... I wasn't able to understand complex things like "Kneel before me!!" unless I spent a while on Dictionary to figure it out. But Playstation 1 was the number one reason I learned English.

I Never Finished Most Of The Games When I Was Young, I Just Played For Fun. Oh!! And Never Had Memory Card Until I Was Maybe 13yrs Old?... However I Returned To Many Of Them When I Was Older To Finish Them.

Games In This List Are Ones I Played When I Was Really A Child, I Don't Remember Much That Happens Some Of Them.



PS1 image is public domain, taken from wikimedia.

All Covers are taken from GameFaqs.com and are owned by their respective companies.


CTR

I played this game before I even know what CTR means (took me months to notice that crash team racing is part of the title)... or even the names of the characters. This game was the gateway for Crash games to me when I was older. I spent with my brother a lot of time in this game. I remember playing it with him for 12 hours one day trying to finish the story mode (I think we did).

When I saw "Mario Cart" I was thought they stole the idea from CTR but it's probably the other way around.


Tekken 3

This game defined PS1 for me... It's the best fighting game on the system (at least for me) with its unique characters and responsive controllers... Even after finishing it with all the characters, we still played it once every year until our PS1 died. Never understood what's going on with the story until few years go in my twenties.

I feel sorry that I don't have much to say here even though I have many good memories about it.


Digimon World (Series)

Digimon WorldDigimon World 2
Digimon World 3Digimon Digital Card Battle

This series is just!!.. Amazing... I first got Digimon World as a used game which wasn't for sale. but the shop keeper sold it me anyway~ I thought it was Pokemon and never knew where there isn't a Pikachu in it.. Haha!!... I hated it at first but after some time.... It was one of the first game I replayed when I got older and my English was good enough.
The game is my first Open World experience, the island is very huge and you can play the game in any order you want... the main character resets every few game days so you'll have to battle the story enemies only when you have a strong character... The game let you feel the Digimon as if they are living creatures... something no other Digimon game made me feel. even the game based on it Re:Digitize.

Digimon World 2 was recommended by someone I know when I was young.. I didn't like it at first.. and I never knew how to reach Lv14 nor how to DNA for 2 years of playing, meaning I was stuck at the 4th domain of the game (there are more than 50 domains in it). I still don't like this games as much as other games in the series but after I knew the trick the only problem with this game is that it requires a lot of grinding & patience.. I don't think today gamers would like it.

Digimon World 3 I played this in my late childhood.. and in terms of content it's one of the best PS1 games ever!!... there are many characters both players and enemies... the story has a lot of action but has comedy and mystery moments. the only problem I have with this game that it's very grindy... when I reached the English level I need to finish it I didn't had the time to play it anymore.

Card Battle is the second best card game I ever played, the best one is Yu-Gi-Oh and I played a lot of good ones!! and the Digimon animations in this game is better than DMW1 & DMW2 so it worths playing.


Disney Games

Tarzan102 Dalmatians: Puppies to the Rescue
The Lion KingThe Little Mermaid II

Disney at the time amazed me, each one of these games had the best graphics and a good gameplay. each one of those let me feel that I live the movie... which is something I don't notice in recent games. Also the story was so clear that I didn't have to know any English to know what is going on in all of them!!

102 Dalmantians is one of the best games I played in my childhood!! it was the closest to open world for a Disney PS1 game... or that how it felt like because the options where actually limited... it made feel like a Dog!!..uh.. I mean it made me feel how.. uh... well, you get the idea!!

Tarzan was very hard for the young me and my brother, we played it for many days but still couldn't reach the 5th level. I loved the young Tarzan and how they made the game feel like you're in that world, surrounded by lovely nature. Finished the game when I got older!!

And The Lion King was one of the first games I finished!! and we still played it even after we finished it... It was also one of the Disney movies we actually watched in our native language so having a game about it was mind blowing.

For The Little Mermaid II I remember the mini games more than the main game, maybe because I played those a lot with my brother and cousins. This game was good... a little hard sometimes. and I liked Ariel parts better than her daughter.


Dino Crisis 2

My father buying this "M" rate game (gruesome scenes) for the 11yrs old me wasn't good idea... But I won't deny it was one of the best games in my childhood... It was too scary for my younger self because it felt so real... the roar of the Tyrannosaurus 2-hours into the game appeared in my nightmares for a long while.

I finished it with my brother when we got older along with the first game of the series... really!! why they haven't released more games of this? the story is convoluted but interesting!!


Final Fantasy Chronicles

I got this one in my late childhood, it contains 2 games: Final Fantasy IV and CHRONO TRIGGER. Both were one of my first encounters with traditional RPGs (unless you count Digimon games above)...

I didn't understand a word of what Final Fantasy IV characters are saying... maybe because of my weak English level? and the game has deeper dialog than any other game I played at the time. I knew it was a good game but at the time couldn't understand what is good about it.

For CHRONO TRIGGER I feel in love with it after watching the first 10 seconds of its opening... I feel in love more with it when I saw the battle system... I was sure "it" is the one when I discovered it's story/mechanics had time traveling (I didn't read anything about the game before I played it)... I still couldn't understand everything.... when I played it again few years later on PC I feel in love with it all over again when I understood everything.

Both games became in my All-time-favorites list later... I'll probably write reviews about each one in the future!!



So these above where some of the games I liked in my childhood... I liked a lot more PS1 games at the time like Spyro, 007 (which was my first FPS) and Pepsi Man (all of them should be in this list but don't have time)... there are many PS1 games I played after I become teenager like Residen Evil and the Harry Potter game.

What Is Your Own List?

please tell me in comments

Sort:  

This gem of a post has been discovered by the Operation Curation Delegation (OCD) team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

accepted... and thanks

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ahmadmanga from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68123.51
ETH 3488.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72