ADSactly Game Review - Mad Max

in #gaming6 years ago

Mad Cover.jpg

Line Break.png

Mad Max

It's the beginning of the new month, and that can only mean one thing: new free games on PlayStation Plus!

Every now and again, the good people at PlayStation will actually add a really good game to the subscription collection, and this definitely is a awesome game. Mad Max is based on the original movie franchise, but I would say more so on the 2015 reboot Mad Max: Fury Road with Tom Hardy and Charlize Theron. I vaguely remember watching Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome when I was much younger, back when you still rented VHS movies from the video store.

I think the movie might have had a psychological effect on me, because if there are two things I don't care much for, it's the desert and the post apocalyptic world. Regardless of my distaste for the setting and theme of the game, I'm surprisingly enjoying the vast desert wasteland, probably for the first time in my life.
Now I should give fair warning, Mad Max is probably not best for the younger gamers, it's more on the violent side. When water and oil is the most sort after resource, people will go to any lengths to get their hands on these.

Line Break.png

The story starts with Max, who used to be a highway patrol officer, now turned survivalist on his journey to the Plains of Silence in search of fuel.

Things take a turn for the worse when Max is run off the road by a group of War Boys led by a real bad looking kind of guy called Scrotus. They take his car, his clothes and everything he owns, then leave him to die in the desert. Luckily Max makes a daring attempt to get his stolen possessions back by jumping on the Land Mover as the War Boys leave and coming face to face with Scrotus wielding a chainsaw. Max manages to get the upper hand by stabbing him in the head with a chainsaw, this does nothing to this brick house, who then kicks Max off the Land Mover. You have to be pretty hardcore to survive a chainsaw to the head, it was a rather intense scene.

Left with nothing but a weapon and the clothes of a dead Wastelander, oh yes and Scrotus's dog, he starts walking in hopes of finding water and a better means of transport. After a few hours of walking he runs into a hunchbacked mechanic named Chumbucket, who promises to lead him to Scrotus, but must first help complete the car he is building called the Magnum Opus.

Mad 09.jpg
source

Mad 07.jpg
source

Line Break.png

The game takes fairly long to actually get to the core of the story, which happens more to the end I'm told.

There is a strange beauty to this vast wasteland filled with death and destruction, which really instills the feeling of lost hope as you explore. Mad Max is a balanced mix between role playing and driving, and your car or as it is called in the game, the Magnum Opus, is almost an extension of the character. One of the core objectives is to upgrade your Magnum Opus to a tank like state, which you will need to do to survive this savage wasteland.

As with most post apocalyptic games, it is all about survival, and the three key elements you will need is water, gas and salvage. Water is basically to keep your health up and on occasion you will find a can of dog food, which constitutes a pretty decent meal in these parts. Then there is gas, which is needed to keep the car going, luckily this is not hard to come by and most buildings or structures usually has some gas cans lying around. Salvage is what you are going to need to build up up your car, from better weapons to tougher armor, and don't forget what's under the hood. You will need to get your hands on a V8 engine to take on what's out there.

Mad 12.jpg
source

Mad 08.jpg
source

Line Break.png


"My name is Max. My world is fire and blood. Once, I was a cop. A road warrior searching for a righteous cause. As the world fell, each of us in our own way was broken. It was hard to know who was more crazy... me... or everyone else." - Max Rockatansky


Mad 03.jpg
source

Line Break.png

The game is exciting to play while set in this disgusting world where life has almost no meaning.

There is definitely a mood of despair, everyone is out to kill you, just to rob you of your water and your car. The main focus is for you to get the Magnum Opus as fully upgraded as possible, and the friendly hunchback mechanic will make sure to let you know what you need to upgrade next. I found the relationship between Chumbucket and the car he worships hilarious, this brings a nice bit of laughter.

Vehicle combat also plays an essential role in this game, if you notice a car approaching from the distance, chances are that they are looking for a fight. Make sure you destroy your opponents vehicle before you attempt to approach it on foot, I've been killed a few times like that, I know - rookie move. The oil camps that are found everywhere are fortresses with many enemies and will require you to abandon your car and take on enemies with only your fists. Ammunition in the game is pretty hard to come by, so when you find it, make sure you save it for the right occasion.

Mad 11.jpg
source

Mad 04.jpg
source

Mad Max is an action-adventure game based on the Mad Max film franchise, but very much based on the 2015 reboot movie.

The game is developed by Avalanche Studios, whom I'm not very familiar with but they also created The Hunter series as well as all three Just Cause games, which I have played none of. I have seen some great looking trailers for Just Cause 3 so I should probably give it a go. Published by Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment obviously, they own the rights to everything these days that comes from the big screen. As always it is available on all the popular platforms; Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. This is one of the few games out there that you will find on OS X and Linux, thanks to Feral Interactive.

I give Mad Max a rating of 8.5/10 as I'm about half way and still really enjoying it.

Mad 06.jpg
source

In case you missed it, here is the previous game review

Bad Feeling Tag.png

Thanks for popping in, hope you liked the post. Please leave me your thoughts and or opinions in the comments below, have a beautiful day.

Mad.gif

Line Break.png

untilnexttime 2.png

Line Break.png

Adsactly Banner New.jpg

Game review for ADSactly by MorkRock

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not
necessarily reflect the official policy or position of ADSactly

✯ ✯ ✯

Adsactly Banner New.jpg


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

Witness proposal is here:

Witness Proposal
Go To Steem Witness Page

In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.

adsactly.gif

Thank You

Sort:  

Madmax is a fantasy movie that has heart pumping scenes and now they are on the gamers table! that's cool dude!

I loved all the movies.. but have not played the game... will check it out.

8.5/10, that's great! I downloaded it yesterday and I can't wait to try it! I loved the 80's movies and I loved this new one, so I'm sure I will enjoy this videogame. Thanks for the review!

Well I’m still busy playing it, so far it’s a 8.5 let’s hope it stays there. But I’m having a blast mowing down other cars.

Guess I'll give it a try if it's free. I was looking for a new pc game... but ps works.

Loading...

This one is still on my list :) can you review Vermintide 2? @tipu upvote this post with 0.2 sbd

Verminitide 2 eh? i saw the first one is the second similare or different somehow? i mean is the story any good? i did see i could get it for steam from this site but is it worth it?

https://www.g2a.com/r/ahrakeen

Lol, nice ad.

I watched the movie Mad Max Fury Road. I loved that movie.Now, after reading your review i definitely try The Mad Max Game.

That’s awesome, it’s basically living the movie, still haven’t found Charlize in the game, but will keep looking.

Hunger Games, technically, is 4 movies. 3 books, last one split into two parts a la Potter, Twilight, and - lol - Divergent. They all seemed to get decent-to-good reviews. I'd repeat that I think the closest we have now is the Mad Max series. Listen this is important I’m dead serious - play mad max. No don’t read reviews, play it. It’s a true injustice how little love this game got. It’s our only hope for a sequel now - play it

Hahahah totally agree!!

Hello brother @adsactly, I still remember when I saw this movie on BETAMAX, which was older than VHS, a super movie for those times jajajaa, and I still have my play 2, but I have not played it, I suddenly feel encouraged because I put the video game jajajaja

Oh snap, we had Betamax too, I remember there was a huge divide in the beginning, I think VHS won in the end.

very nice game... i like this game.. thank you @adsactly

So glad you like things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85