Table Top Game Reviews: Dominion

in #games7 years ago

Dominion is a really fun deck building game where each time you play, you get a unique experience. My 8-year-old son Devon loves this game, but it takes a while to play and set up, so we don't play all that often. He's been bugging me for a while to play, so we finally got around to it this week.

Dominion is one of those games that once you set up and start playing, you think, "Why don't we play this more often? This game is awesome!" We actually have the base game plus two expansion packs.

You can buy it on Amazon (currently selling for $31.86) as a 2nd edition (we only have the first edition). It's got a 7.7 rating on boardgamegeek.com out of 57k ratings and 11k comments. It's currently ranked 55 overall and 53 in strategy.

Here are the main reasons I like this game:

  1. Each time we play it, we pick a unique starting set of cards which makes each game different.
  2. The game involves a beginning strategy, a middle game strategy, and an end game strategy which can change based on your opponent's actions and based on the cards you both have.
  3. It can be really exciting to get a nice deck going where you can string a bunch of cards together with multiple actions, multiple card draws, and multiple buys.
  4. It teaches my son strategy on multiple levels. He has to think about how to spend his resources and build a strategy around his action cards.


We played twice this past week and I only won once. Devon kicked my butt the second time we played, and he was quite happy about it.

Thanks for checking out my board game review!

Previous Table Top Game Reviews

Created with ChainBB to help support that project.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Hey Luke, its your ex roommate here.
We play board games all the time.I love your idea of board game reviews. Maybe I will post a few of our favorites. My son is just starting to get into card based games. Mostly pokemon because of his cousins.
What would you say is a good starting age for this game? Or what is the recommendation on the game box.

Thanks
Darryl

Darryl! Welcome to Steemit, man! Great to see you here. :)

I'm not quite sure about age recommendations because every kid is different. Devon is now 8, and he started playing adult-level board games pretty early on. I used to think certain games were just too complicated for him, but once we started playing them, he really got into it. Now he beats me regularly when we play stuff. :)

I googled around a bit and found this. Might help.

Anyway, I gave your comment a nice welcome to steemit upvote. :)

I hope you post more on Steemit and fill me in on what you've been up to the last 15+ years. :)

Nice post

Ya'll always find the coolest games to play. :) That IS awesome that your kid is not only having fun but also learning strategy at such a young age. I'd have to think those skills would translate to the real world for him later on.

Nice review. I am thinking of trying to get that game too. I play Ticket to ride, Stone age and a few other board games

Oh, I love Ticket to Ride! We have that also. I'll have to do a review of that in the future.

I love dominion. There used to be an excellent free online version until the rights got sold, and it had to be shut down. The people who bought the rights put up a terrible online version of the game. I seriously miss playing quick games on my breaks at work.

Oh man, I know! My wife and I used to play that all the time.

Good looking boy. Thanks for sharing

I like post!

This seems awesome, must tell my children to get the game for their kids thanks for letting us know.

This is dope Luke, shouts out to all the dads. SO is this the game that i see all the kids playing when I go to the comic book store?

Not sure what the kids are playing, but it might be. :)

This game is great - you might also like the Marvel Superheroes game: Legendary. I played it for the first time tonight and was reminded of Dominion. Great write up!

Cool, thanks for the recommendation!

Would love to see a review of this game. Would be easy to get my son interested with Marvel characters. I might look it up.

Darryl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87