Table Top Game Reviews: Hive

in #games7 years ago

IMG_7315.jpg

My family and I love playing table top games, and I thought it would be fun to start doing some reviews on Steemit for those looking for some family non-digital home entertainment.

We just recently purchased Hive Pocket addition on Amazon (currently selling for $18.35). It's got a 7.3 rating on boardgamegeek.com. I'm really loving this game for a number of reasons:

  1. It's quick.
  2. It's for two players only.
  3. My 7 year old son has beaten me more times than I'd like to admit.
  4. The layers of strategy keep going deeper.

There are both offensive and defensive strategies that make the gameplay quite fun. Usually, I'll find a new strategy and start beating my son with it, and then he'll start using it against me and beat me back until I can come up with a new strategy. I enjoy it because it's quick and simple, and yet the more I play it, the more complex I realize the strategies can be. A couple moves can change the entire dynamic of the game.

IMG_7320.jpg

Each piece has its own rules for how it moves. For example, once placed with the queen bee down, the battle ants can move to any position along the outside which they can slide directly into. The grasshopper can move in a straight line, dropping into any position, as long as they hop over at least one stone.

The pocket edition comes with the ladybug and mosquito expansions which make things even more fun.

Here's a short video of Devon and @corinnestokes playing together:

I definitely recommend this game. If you get it and try it out, let me know what you think.

We have a bunch of table top games so I'm thinking I'll do some more reviews in the future of our favorites including some recent purchases of collaborative games like Pandemic, Forbidden Island, and Hanabi.

Stay tuned and follow me for more!


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

It is very good. Have a lot of time with your son. It is very important.

Devon and I had our first tie game tonight:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60888.47
ETH 3392.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57