OST of the Day #20: Breath of the Wild - Main Theme

in #game6 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit!

OSTs are really underrated but they're so good, so I thought I'd share a song a day and my thoughts about it! I highly recommend listening while reading! 😊

Wow I realised we haven't done an orchestral piece in a while and since this is the 20th post, I've chosen something really special.

Related image

Oh man, it's about time I did a song from this game amirite. I'm so lucky I actually got this game with my Switch bundle because it's probably the best game I've played this year. I've been playing it "on-and-off" since January and I've sunk more than 135 hours into it already (going for that 100%, you know how it is)! My goal is to finish the game by the end of 2018 so I have about a month left! No rush though.

Anyway, if you've been living under a rock, The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is an action-adventure game developed and published by Nintendo. An entry in the longrunning The Legend of Zelda series, it was released for the Nintendo Switch and Wii U consoles on March 3, 2017. Breath of the Wild is set at the end of the series' timeline; the player controls Link, who awakens from a hundred-year slumber to defeat Calamity Ganon before it can destroy the kingdom of Hyrule.

Related image

BoTW was the first Zelda game I've ever played since I didn't own any of the Nintendo consoles before the Wii (I only had the handhelds). I have watched a few games though, and I really like Wind Waker a lot. But I think BoTW definitely outdid all its predecessors. I hadn't seen any spoilers before playing and I was putting it off quite a bit before starting because I expected a looong tutorial and story intro like all the other Zeldas, but BoTW took me by surprise. No tutorials, no story intro, just a vast open world (with absolutely stunning visuals).

Image result for botw wallpaper

I just love how real the game is; the physics engine and the graphics are amazingly detailed. It makes you feel not just immersed but like you're a part of the game itself. I've often thought to myself that I would want to just ride my horse or take a stroll in the fields of Hyrule or along the shore of Lurelin. It's just soo relaxing... 😌

Here's a trailer:

Anyway, the song I chose today is the main theme from BoTW. Have a listen! 🎧

Right from the get-go I already know this song is great. The piano and percussion leading in the song followed by the piano and then the flute with the melody, just wow. The harmonica takes over (they even fit in a harmonica here?!) with bass in the background and then the brass. The melody keeps switching from section to section and I love it. And the climax at 1:06, spectacular! All the instruments are so powerful, not just in volume but in impact. The song ends with a light piano chord, and it's just perfect. It's astounding how well this was performed; the flow of the song is constantly maintained, even with the huge volume changes.

This song doesn't play that much in the game which is a real shame, other than in the beginning and in the trailers. I think this song definitely represents this game as a whole and is a perfect main theme. It's mostly light and calming as you explore every inch of Hyrule, but when you really get to the meat of the story it's EPIC af (just like the climax of the song)!

Related image

You don't hear much music in BoTW but when you do it's amazing. I really love the soundtrack in this game, and this song is definitely one of my favourites. The composers Manaka Kataoka, Yasuaki Iwata, and Hajime Wakai knocked it out of the park! I read that the soundtrack was primarily written and performed on a piano, with a focus on ambient music and sounds rather than the melodic and upbeat music in previous Zelda games. According to Wakai, this helped add "authenticity" to the environments, and was taken on as a challenge by the rest of the sound team. If I may say so, Challenge Accomplished! They made this soundtrack perfect for BoTW and it always makes me tear up (especially Rito Village theme, amirite #nostalgia). 😌

I'm really into Jazz covers and if you like this song, I really recommend this cover by insaneintherain, it's fantastic!

Thanks for reading!


To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.vornix.blog/2018/11/24/ost-of-the-day-20-breath-of-the-wild-main-theme/

Check out my previous post in this series!
OST of the Day #19: Quantum Conundrum - It's Our Density
qc2.jpg
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TacoCat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @taco.cat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75