The Divine Move (Game of Go series) #6steemCreated with Sketch.

in #game7 years ago

Hello Steeamians !

Today is a day where I review my Go game, here is one that I played today. I wanted to improve myself and gain at least the rank 9kyu in order to be a simple digit kyu player. I hope you'll enjoy this game !



Just know that this game is simply amazing ! If you like strategy game like chess, it's even a better game, simpler but deeper.
I made a post with the basic rules, you can find it here.

So I really encourage you to check out the game and here are more links that could help :
A site where you can easily play.
An amazing Youtube channel
Some playlists for beginner (FR)
A playlist for beginner (EN)
A post about Go vocabulary



Now, back to the game !

Once again I played as black, my opponent was a Japanese 10kyu+ player. This time, I made a little variation in my opening as I closed my corner strongly with a keima.

Capture 1.PNG

He did the same for his bottom left corner, in order to counter his potential large moyo on the left, I approached high with D15. As he played a regular move with F16, I tried something new and made a 3 spaces extension with C11. The white move that you can see on the next picture means that my opponent thinks my extension was too far and wants to start a fight… So here we go !

Capture 2.PNG

Indeed we fought and it ended up quite bad for me. I didn’t give up and searched for a tesuji ! (if I lost you with all my terms don’t forget that I made a little post about more or less 10 Go vocabulary words, the link is a little above)
I found a great sequence that allows me to cut his stones near C13.

Capture 3.PNG

Here is the result which is really nice for me as I thought my group was dead.

Capture 4.PNG

While he was taking some free moves to cut off my stone C8, I managed to play 2 big moves at K3 and Q10, those moves put me more ahead.

Capture 5 parler de K3.PNG

He approached my upper right corner and “asked” me if he could take it. I was alright with that since it gives me a strong wall in the right direction. After the sequence at the corner, it was my turn so I took another big move to make my moyo even better.

Capture 6.PNG

After some moves, he decided to cut me with his group near K6. I gain a lot of space with H10 as I give him the choice of either let me connect with my other group or gain a lot of liberties with my cut group. As you can guess, he chose to cut me and by so, keep the fight going.

Capture 7.PNG

Here is the result after the fight, there is nothing really interesting to say since his stones were in a black ocean so he had low chances of surviving. This situation is pretty bad for white but he managed to make it great since he connected the stones near M4 with his other group.

Capture 8.PNG

That’s how he connected, by threatening to capture my stone around L5. I didn’t saw that coming at all !

Capture 9.PNG

The next moves I played had for objective to connect my stone C8 with a group while he was trying to prevent that. After some moves, I saw that his group was pretty weak and that maybe I could kill it. If I had read carefully I’d saw that connecting with E5 was the correct move but instead, I played E10. He jumped on the occasion and cut me off.

Capture 10.PNG

Here you can see at the bottom left how it ended up. Then, we did some exchange at the top of the board. After that, he desperately tried to live with his 3 stones near O9 but they simply don’t have enough place.

Capture 11.PNG

He resigned after that. You may think that it was pointless but when you’re behind at Go, you don’t have anything to lose so it’s a great strategy to try everything you can.

Capture 12.PNG

 


 
I hope you enjoyed this little game review, tell me in the comment what do you think about this content.
Here is my profile page on OGS, add me as a friend and we'll do a game !
Check out another of my Go review here

See you tomorrow !

Sort:  

looking nice

Fucking sick game Go is, you ever played Rummikub @jarendesta

Yeah I played that one or two times I think, it was pretty fun :)

I saw this game alot in Chinese drama series, but never knew how to play!
When i have some time will try it out. Thanks for sharing

I really encourage you to do so ! And check out the link I gave in the post for an introduction to the game or some great Youtube channel.

Haha thanks m8, i'll follow you :)

It's a great game

It's a great game which I should play more of. Do you know about Deep Mind's AlphaGo artificial intelligence? Has been about to beat the world's best GO player!

Keep working hard and enjoying the game, doesn't matter if you don't become the best or really good, enjoying it because you like to play the game is the important aspect.

If you're interested in a game against me I gave a link to my profile page on OGS ;)
And thank you for your support, I really appreciate ! :D

I have not played in a while or I would, when I get more time I will work towards learning and playing again. You're welcome, thank you for replying mate!

You're welcome ! I'm glad if my games put you back in the Go :D

Interesting! I'd definitely check on this.

You got my vote and a resteem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60185.13
ETH 3290.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44