The Divine Move (Game of Go series) #5steemCreated with Sketch.

in #game7 years ago

Hello Steeamians !

Today is a day where I review my Go game, here is one that I played today. I wanted to improve myself and gain at least the rank 9kyu in order to be a simple digit kyu player. I hope you'll enjoy this game !



Just know that this game is simply amazing ! If you like strategy game like chess, it's even a better game, simpler but deeper.
I made a post with the basic rules, you can find it here.

So I really encourage you to check out the game and here are more links that could help :
A site where you can easily play.
An amazing Youtube channel
Some playlists for beginner (FR)
A playlist for beginner (EN)
A post about Go vocabulary



Now, back to the game !

This game was played on IGS, my favorite server. I played as black and I made a Chinese opening, as usual, I really like this opening for its balance.

My opponent approached my upper right corner and for me, the sequence was over so I played a big move elsewhere. F17 seemed fine to me as I used my influence on the right side to make a huge moyo. He didn’t think that and kept pressure upon the upper right corner with Q18.

I was quite happy with the sequence as he crawled in the second line while I was making a lot of influence ! Once again he wanted more of the corner and tried to save his stone with O15. At this point, I was thinking that my opponent wasn’t that strong because his obsession with this corner was too big and he was losing time by playing small moves.

We played some moves and arrived here where I decided a move which will guide the rest of the game. I played N15, threatening to capture his group if he simply defends the atari. Of course, he didn’t do that and we made the biggest run I have ever made. He simply ran for his life all across the board.

At that point, I can’t kill his group anymore but I was really satisfied with the result. In exchange for his life, he gave me influence all over the board. You can see, for example, that the quarter of the board at the bottom right is almost territory for me. At this point the game was almost won and I just needed to avoid big mistakes.

I threatened a little bit more his group and with that kill the entire upper left corner plus a free move near his bottom left corner. With his move on H15, he threatened to cut a piece of my group with H14. As I said, the game was won for me so in order to avoid more complication, I simply connected both of my group with H18 for a better stability.

Then, he tried to invade my huge moyo and play a tesuji with Q8, if I simply connect with R8, you may see that he can cut me with P10 if I answer the atari. Once again, since the game was won, I gave up those four stones to connect my group and live easily. It wasn’t a big deal if I gave up some points.

After a little fight, I managed to kill his bottom left corner.

He forced me to kill his corner and attacked some of my stone to make enough space for his group to live. I was quite impressed with that as I didn’t saw it coming at all.

Then, we mainly did endgame moves and the game ends up like that.

I think this game was very special because I felt like I was winning the whole game I just paid attention to not make big mistakes. This is a good resume of the game. I won with 40.5 points which is quite huge but the mistake he made at the beginning cost him the game.


 


 
I hope you enjoyed this little game review, tell me in the comment what do you think about this content.
Here is my profile page on OGS, add me as a friend and we'll do a game !
Check out another of my Go review here

See you tomorrow !

Sort:  

Ohh thats some very good information you got there.
The game seems very interesting but i
never understand-ed it quite much.
Reading this helped very much thanks for that :D

Thanks for your wonderful post :D

Thank you for your support ! :D
And I'm making post about Go quite often so if you're interested you can follow me ;)
Also, I gave in my post a lot of link if you want to discover the game :D

I did not know that game. Interesting.

It's really an amazing game and I encourage you to try it ! :D

Greet, cool..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60696.11
ETH 3379.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52