It’s not just about beer !steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

Hello Steemians !

Today I decided to talk about another topic which is the game of go, it's a very old Chinese board game. As everybody on Steemit, I also follow @sweetsssj , who is making greats posts, and she made one about this game so I encourage you to check it out ! Here is the link :
https://steemit.com/story/@sweetsssj/welcome-to-my-world-of-idioms-7-diamond-cuts-diamonds

go-board-stones.jpg

First I’ll explain how I discovered this game, it was nearly an accident, my father was seeking something upstair and came back with a go board. He knows that I like strategy game so he introduces me to the game he uses to play with his brother. One thing leads to another there we are playing a game. I instantly fall in love with the game because there isn’t any random and it's really a deep strategic game, even more than chess. The possibilities the game offer are enormous and each game is different from another.

An even more interesting thing about this is that the rules are unbelievably simple, the basic is that you can put a stone wherever you want, except if there is already an opponent stone of course. Then, there are only two rules, the first one is that if you completely surround an opponent stone you capture it and it worth one point. So you may have already guessed that you can’t play a stone if it’s directly captured. (in the picture below, if you play in A you capture the two black stone and gain two points)


The other one is that at the end of the game, when the two players have passed, the territory inside your stone worth one point for each intersection you have. (in the picture below, black has 7 points in the upper left corner)

If I succeed in selling you the game and you want to try it, the easiest way to do so is to go to https://online-go.com and create an account. I have one too and here is my profile page (https://online-go.com/player/412590), add me we will play a game ! ;-)


 


 
I hope you like this post, it's quite different from my other one but if you're interested in the game, let me know in the comment.
Don’t hesitate to tell me what you think about me posting about something else than beer.

Sort:  

I always wanted to know how Go was played. Thanks for the post.

You're welcome :) Would you be interested if I review some of my game ?

I love games. Go for it.

Nice introduction to the game :D I was waiting for it ;)
Btw, I don't have time to play for the moment, but I'll play with one day :D
And when you talked about how you discovered the game, it reminded me of a manga, that starts a little like this: a young man discover a board of go in his grandfather's attic :) kind of like you, no? :p

Yeah you're speaking about Hikaru no Go ! I love this manga too ! Ahah it's true that there are some similarities :) And would you be interested if I review some of my game ?

Exactly xD i didnt remember the name :p i didnt like the end, finished too fast :'(
Yeah, it can be interesting if you show the key moments! :D

Yeah it's always the same when you like a manga, it ends too fast ! Great, I'll work on it so :)

Exactly ;)
Nice! :D

How cute it is :(

Glad you like it ! Would you be interested if I review some of my game ? :)

That sounds good. I'll wait for it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51