FutureDiary : 02 January 2030 - That was quick, that was crap and we sprung a leak

in #futurediary5 years ago

They didn't hang around long.

First day back at work and Daniel, our neighbour, got his redundancy notice.

He's been delivering around here for over twenty years. But with the fully autonomous vehicles now legal in Wales he's out of a job.

His company have got their new self delivery vans on order.

It means we will finally have to give in and get an AutoBox installed unless we want to drive to the main depot to collect all our deliveries.

At least they are offering a 35% discount for the over 70s if I wait a few weeks, so I guess we shouldn't complain too much!

If we'd been in a town we would have been in a drone delivery zone for a few years now, but we've got too many trees round here.

That suits me as I'm sure the drones are all hooked up to the Civic Surveillance Network.

Amazon denies it but I'm darn sure they didn't get to beat Tesco to that new Social Meal contract without a bit of give and take.

Daniel and Maggie were pretty cut up about the news. It's going to be tough for him to get a new job at his age.

Luckily the local chapter of the Infr's is pretty active so we should be able to help them til they getting something sorted.

I'm really glad I got involved with the Infr's.

The main shower feed tap sprung a leak today. Micky, one of the guys from the club, came and fixed it this evening. We could have been three days without water if we had gone through the official channels.

I've built up quite a good collection of plumbing bits and bobs over the years. Micky was happy to trade the job for a few taps and fittings. Since the Trade Supplies Tracking System was introduced it's been hard for him to get the stuff he needs without getting picked up for unlicensed maintenance work.

I really wish we'd got all our old plumbing sorted when we could have afforded it. We live with what we've got now - leaks and drips included.

So only two days into the new year and the rough edges are starting to show.

And we haven't heard from Anne yet what happened to her connection yesterday. She's staying in one of official state hotels and they are usually high speed everything.

Hopefully we'll hear from her tomorrow.

Goodnight for now.

Sort:  

Ugh Sadly I see a lot of truth in the...

Civic Surveillance Network.

I like that we are starting to see the truth about the labour market anywhere we see the term 'autonomous' maybe people are finally 'getting it'.

There was an extremely spooky synchronicity in this piece, only yesterday when I was discussing social media with my youngest who has been home from Uni for the holidays, I mentioned the hierarchy of the current platforms and where they may be in the coming years and I mentioned Amazon may be the number 1 social media for all we know...

A delicious slice of futurology. 🙂

Two themes that concern me a lot are growing surveillance, and the coming impact of automation on all sorts of jobs that people aren't even thinking about yet.

You and me both, my friend.

I refuse contactless technology, automated checkouts and I remain quite capable of switching off my own lights without the needless technological erroneous assistance of Alexa. I do not want to appear to be a Luddite in the eyes of my peers, this is obviously not the point of it.

At times I purchase and read a book for information, yup, I realise Google does have informational advantages but at what cost? I feel this enables me to support great authors, publishers and all of the other human 'hindrances' in the supply chain and hopefully support a fair days pay for a fair days work, uncharacteristically when compared to Google these authors never snoop on me in my daily life either. ((Well except for the time I found J.K.Rowling hiding in the tree outside my window, but that was strictly a one off.))

Technology offers some revolutionary, life changing advantages but when used for automation and surveillance I think there needs to be some mechanism to keep t in check, preferably a human one.

It is going to become increasingly difficult to avoid surveillance in the coming years. It is going to be everywhere ... especially by 2030.

Keep tuning in for what happens in the next few days...

Hi @pennsif, a modest tip of appreciation:
$trendotoken
Thanks!

Congratulations @rycharde, you successfuly trended the post shared by @pennsif!
@pennsif will receive 4.64333513 TRDO & @rycharde will get 3.09555675 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Gah! 🙏❄🌛❤

Hope that's a good Gah!


Hey @pennsif, here is a little bit of BEER from @freebornangel for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Congratulations @pennsif, your post successfully recieved 4.64333513 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@rycharde earned : 3.09555675 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70