Talky talk: Comedy Open Mic Round #7

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

I find this funny. Almost everyone talks to people every day, and many of us also write emails and text messages and author other types of communication, such as letters, post cards, blog posts or speeches. And yet, it's really hard to say just the right thing. And even when you say all the right things and make a lot of sense, the listening party could be filtering the information in some peculiar way, and may give you that look that suggests you have horns or tentacles or something.

Talky talk

Happy talk, keep talking happy talk,
Talk about things you'd like to do,
You gotta have a dream, if you don't have a dream,
How you gonna have a dream come true?
-- Bloody Mary, South Pacific

man-3dman_eu.jpg
(Image credit: Pixabay image by 3dman_eu)

Communication can be so funny sometimes. I mean both “funny ha-ha” and “funny strange.” (Note: If you are not a native English speaker, “funny ha-ha” and “funny strange” are common idiomatic expressions that may not make sense even to those who use them. But I digress.)

The thing that’s funny about communication is that the way you talk, and the outcome of it, is completely different depending on the scenario and people involved. For example, everything changes based on factors such as the following:

  1. Who you’re communicating with. It could be a casual acquaintance, a backstabbing co-worker who farts, someone who ran their cart into your leg at the grocery store, or a neighbor whose dandelions ritually throw seeds onto your lawn.
  2. What you’re communicating about. For example, if you’re asking someone out on a date, there is a completely different set of factors for success than if you’re negotiating a deal, asking to borrow money, or telling someone they have deadly halitosis.
  3. The goals of the individuals involved. You might have a goal to tell your friend about your gout problem, for example, but your friend may have a goal to avoid hearing it. Or one person in a relationship might want to discuss a problematic issue and come to a mutually-beneficial conclusion, while the other person might want to smite their partner down like an adversary and win.

And sometimes there are communication snafus where two perfectly intelligent people are trying to talk to one another in a perfectly sensible way, and for some reason no one can fathom, it all just goes ka-blooey.

The other day I had a text message conversation with my sister, who so graciously offered to host my family for Easter dinner. It went something like this:

Me: “Looking forward to Easter dinner! It will be all five of us. Just confirming: I’m bringing appetizers, wine and juice.” (Those are the things she asked me to bring, so I knew it wouldn’t come as a surprise. But it had been a few days, and I wanted to make sure she knew I hadn’t forgotten.)

Sis: “Great! We have a little extra juice, so there should be plenty.”

Me: (Thinking: Um, did she just say they have extra juice? Did she miss the part where I said I’m bringing juice?) “You asked me to bring the juice.”

Sis: “Yes, I know I did. But we also have some juice.”

Me: ”Okay, do you still want me to bring mine?”

Sis: ”Yes. We have some appetizers and wine as well. Let’s say 5:30.”

Me: (Thinking: Okay, I’m bringing juice, appetizers and wine, and they are hosting the whole meal but will also supply juice, appetizers and wine. And by the way, I bought the big juice bottles at Costco and could probably serve everyone in our zip code. But it's cool.) “I’m not really following, but 5:30 works great.”

Sis: “If we have extra it won’t be an issue.”

Me: … (<--That’s me typing something, erasing over it and typing something else. But I’m laughing so hard I can’t finish the text message, because it’s exactly as if she is speaking Martian and I can only understand Swahili.)

Finally we talked by phone to get it all straightened out, which was great because in fact only one of us thought the whole thing was hilarious and it was not her. And I realized something. Somewhere under the talk of food and drink and whether there was enough or too much, my beloved sis was really dealing with a lot of life stress at that moment, and in fact our text conversation had very little to do with juice, appetizers or wine. She didn't need me picking apart the semantics of her text messages or laughing at our inability to settle on how much juice was enough. She just needed a hug.

And that's the other funny thing about communication. You can be talking about things that are not at all the things you're talking about.



Thanks for reading! This is my first Comedy Open Mic piece. Thanks for the nomination, @therosepatch and @nobyeni!

I nominate @ducksaplenty and @preparedwombat!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

I love the truth of this. Even the simplest bits of the English language suddenly have five different meanings depending on context and how well the person is actually paying attention to what you're saying.

The fun part is scrolling back to read some of those conversations later on your phone or in an email; sometimes it looks like you're not even talking about the same things at all.

I have so many text conversations on my phone that I can't bring myself to delete for that reason. They are like time capsules, for one thing. But also, I just love stumbling across them and being reminded of all the funny ways in which I interact with the people in my life.

It seems like people communicate more often today (and probably more effectively) than they did in the days when email was a more popular way of communicating than texts and instant messages. But I kind of miss the email days, as the conversations tended to be deeper.

i enjoyed this. so true. i especially like the true idea in factor #3 .....of people actually trying to not hear what the other is saying.

Huh?

See #3. One person talking... another actively trying not to listen. 😊

What?

Ask me a question if you're a dumass. Do it.

Uhhh... sorry I didn’t realize it would be that hard to understand! 😆

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it. Yeah, little scenarios like that came to mind as I began thinking of all the ways communication goes awry. I’m sure there are many more!

Not to mention when you're having a conversation and the person you're conversing with already had a complete conversation with you in their head before the actual conversation took place, and you're not responding the way you did in their head.

Ha ha! So true. People are weird. I had a coworker for a long time who was constantly trying to pick fights with me. I could see that she kept expecting some reaction from me that she never got. I got the sense that I reminded her of someone else and she just couldn't get it into her head that I was never going to interact with her in whatever specific way she expected.

Wow. People are weird indeed.

Not that we are surprised by this revelation at all...! 😊

Haha, not really, no.

What's so neat about this is that, no joke, this could work as a post on how to write dialogue! You show the reader how every factor affects how we speak to who were speaking to about what we're speaking on. Also, it's funny and engaging and you're just the dopest!

What a wonderful comment! Thank you, @caleblailmusik!

You're welcome! I meant every word :D

May I laugh ,? But I am coughing again, because drinking cooking oil last night, I think vodka.

Oops! I hate it when that happens.

Some great points there @jayna and indeed it is not just the scenario and people involved. The tone you use and even your body language and the face you make can change things up... We are strange little creatures indeed.... :o)

So true, @ablaze! In fact, I've considered writing another post or two on the humorous vagaries of human communication.

You should, I'll keep an eye out for it..

Ah yes, the question behind the question. "Do you remember I'm bringing juice?" can mean, "I am a very important person, much more important than you are, but you shouldn't feel puny and insignificant and ignored, just cause I'm ignoring you. After all, I'm not ignoring you if I'm bringing juice, right? Am I right? You know I'm right. I'm always right."

And "We have some juice so there should be plenty" can mean, "Ok. So I screwed up and forgot I asked you to bring juice. So sue me. While you were busy ignoring me, I was just as busy forgetting you. So put that in your right pipe and smoke it."

It all comes down to context, intention and tone. Don't you agree?

Yes, it totally does come down to context, intention and tone, not to mention all the participants have going on in their respective lives at the moment!

Haha cute ending.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45