Let's Send a Ridiculous Email to Electronics Company For Breaking My Heart...

in #funny7 years ago

rip jbl.jpg


What if you spent extra money on a "quality" name-brand piece of technology with your limited travel funds?

What if you cared for the speaker, treated it like it was an egg-baby (you know how they give you eggs in high-school to take care of for parenting prep?), keeping it safe and sound, always remembering it was more expensive than all of the other speakers on the shelf beside it.

What if that speaker flew itself on the ground, committing electronic suicide?

After a couple of months of looking at my now 'dead' speaker on the shelf every time I want to listen to music, feeling a piece of my soul leave me for someone with louder music playing capabilities, I decided to do something about it!

I did what anyone would do, I had a funeral for it.


Let's ask JBL why their expensive speaker can't hack real life... (this is my real email I sent to them this afternoon feeling ambitious after some coffee! I thought you'd all enjoy it!)

The Email:

Hello JBL,

I bought a brand new, out of the box, (from the JBL store in Hong Kong,) authentic Charge 3 only a couple of months ago. I LOVE(D) it! I am a very meticulous person and take extra care of everything I own. I was always over cautious with this speaker as it was quite frankly, a luxury item for me and I treated it like my baby!

Everything was going so well! I took it everywhere! It seemed pretty durable and I wasn't too worried about anything happening to it, as I told you, I was very careful with it. But one tragic day, on the way to the gym, Jay Bee Elle (my name for it, original, I know!) fell from my obviously unworthy hands to the floor! It was only a 3/3.5 foot drop at the maximum and it wasn't a hard fall so I thought all would be OK!

I was shaken up about it but went to the gym only to hear the worst noise coming from it! All of the curse words in the world came from my mouth! It's waterproof and even looks military-grade-level-intense, no way did that tiny fall which wouldn't have even broken a plate (I know, this happened!) break my beloved speaker?

There must be something wrong, something I am missing- please tell me I am not doomed forever to hear that scratchy awful sound coming out of it when I want to play music loudly and dance like no one is watching...

PLEASE tell me there is something I can do. Should I perform surgery on it? Do I open it up? Help me please! My life without it is so empty and silent. My neighbors think I am dead.

I'd appreciate any help you can offer. I'm currently in Bali so there is a fat chance of a JBL store around however, there are many people on the street who would offer to 'fix' it for me! :S

HELP! If there's a chance of revival, I would really love another shot. How about warranty? We didn't even have 2 months together... our love affair ended too soon.

Thank you for your time,

Signed,

A music-less widow to a once, wonderful sound-amplifier!

Looking forward to your reply. PS I am not joking, I am a writer so I realize this may seem dramatic... trust me, that much is true. This is a tragedy to me.


I wonder how the company is going to respond!

What do you think they are going to say?
I guess I am hoping for an English speaker to receive this email haha... I'll keep you posted!


Hi, I'm @heart-to-heart and I let my heart do all the talking!

I never know what it's going to say or what will come out on my keyboard as my fingers dance their way across my keys but it's all to spread love, inspiration, smiles and fun to your world! If I've been successful, come along with me into my world. I write wild real-life stories that you won't believe until you read and even then you might second guess it! I create healthy vegan/plant-based delicacies, and share random things that inspire me and make me happy in an effort to spread happiness with you! Hope this sounds like your kind of thing!
Sending you love today and everyday! Please pray for my speaker... <3
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort:  

This is exactly what I would do! I will pray for a miracle for you! A music free existence is no existence I want to be a part of!

Haha thanks Jamie, I am hoping they have a magic spell ready for me to snap my fingers and have music all day every day again =D You're right, no music and too quite music are not vibing with me! ;)

@iamjamie! They replied haha oh my goodness. Here it is if you want to see it! :P

Lol....very funny post!

Jay Bee Elle's funeral is funny to you? Well that is just messed up @xaero1! Laughing at people's pain like that... jeepers ;) You'd probably laugh at me caught up in trouble in Dominican too! Well, I will keep on posting my heart break and escapades in that case then since my goal in life is to at least make people laugh/enterained <3 Good thing I have no shortage of face plants with life! haha <3

I was gonna suggest 'only buy Apple, and take out their apple care - covers accidents for two years!' 😂
..... but guess that's now adding insult to injury (besmirching your memory of said dead electronic device even more!)🙀

Haha you're a funny one! Apple you say... hmmm... I have actually never heard of anyone having an Apple speaker! But, since apple works with apple (and often rejects playing nicely with others)... I might be out of luck there, I just sold my apple products to fit in more over here in the East where it seems to be much easier to get other brands!

The JBL's clarity was amazing and it had a really good range to it too. Ugh, I feel like I am rehashing all of the sadness... I just had the funeral and tried to put this to rest now here I am all emotional again. It's like when you love something so much that nothing else will ever be able to replace it, you know? :P

Here's what I am hoping- they send me a magic spell and all I will have to do is say it correctly over the quite dead speaker and suddenly it will come to life. I know it must be magic because I have seen tons of movies about dead loves being revived so it must be true. Unfortunately kissing it relentlessly didn't do me any favors... nothing happened. My fairy tale love story turned into a nightmare but I have faith ;)

Wait...I'm the funny one?😂😜

Hehe....interesting stuff though - regards!😀

I finally got a response from them! =D I'm just writing back to them then I will share the conversation... it's pretty silly ! Hope you have a great weekend! <3 Jay Bee Elle sends a muffled hug your way!

Thanks - hugs welcomed!😀 Hehe..and likewise.

saya hanya mendapat voting dari good-karma karena dia witnes asia, dan saya membuat posting dengan aplikasi, saya menunggu anda kembali, maaf jika saya membuat komen spam

@xaero1

@xaero1 virtual hug coming in! 💜🤗😘 In case you wanted to see the next part of this virtual banter... I wasn't overly impressed with their response so I egged it on Haha

Great posts can be useful can be an experience. Hopefully be a friend who can help me to like you ..... to dream and hope to be achieved. Like @sinta need friend support. Best regards. you are a good friend who support me. the best friend's in this esetim. please you please i love my poetry. i accept your suggestion
https://steemit.com/story/@sinta/i-miss-you-again-awake-201797t11814967z

Hi @sinta! Welcome to Steemit! =D I noticed that you have been copy and pasting this all over... I think you'll find people will want to engage with you more if you post real comments! I hope you'll consider reading and responding to people as that's what this community is all about! I wish you the best of luck here and hope this advice helps!

Fantastic Letter.. The same thing happened to me and my jaybird sport headphones. (Sport) <-- you would think they can take a little abuse. Although at the gym they fell from my locker to the floor 3-3.5ft and the right speaker would rattle and screech in my ear.

So I bought some knock off headphones of the same design and they have worked flawlessly ever since. I toss those things around like crazy for 1/4 of the price, yet they still do not die.

Excellent Post, Thank you @artonymous

Hmmm I am sensing a trend here with the fancy, high-end names... maybe they aren't better after all!

In this day and age everything is built so fragilely so we have to replace it so frequently, it's such a shame!

I'm happy to hear you got yourself some better, more reliable headphones! I hope I can say the same thing about my speaker soon!

Hey @artonymous! Guess what?! They wrote back so I decided to reply again! Check out their response to me! I actually laughed out loud! JBL's response! I think I may have to listen to your advice ;)

You're so awesome lol great letter to jbl, hopefully they help you out!

Honestly I don't want a new one or anything, I just need an answer to make the noises not hurt my ears so much :P

They actually responded! so naturally, I responded to their response haha

That is such a lovely letter ... I wonder if there's an AI response to it ... a human would surely be much more appreciated, probably.

A human would be preferable haha I don't know how AI would handle this... would make an interesting study though because obviously AI is going to pretend to be human so I might not even know if it's smart enough ... I'll keep you posted ;)

I look forward to the update !!

They emailed me back @marillaanne! I think you might have been onto something there with your thoughts.... Here it is You tell me, bot or human?

I came running as soon as I saw your note! Following the link in, now!

<3 Hehe, now we have to wait again for their response! The suspense is awful!

I hope you get a new one. Figures crossed!

I hope they tell me how to revive this one! <3 I don't want it to go to waste!

I have followed you on Steemit, please be kind enough to follow me as well.

If you recorded a video of the noise, there's a chance that one of us can pick out the problem. It wouldn't hurt.

That's a good idea! The noise is actually quite annoying to hear... I know we can't upload videos into comments so I would have to upload it to youtube or something... I'm going to see what they say but if they don't have a magic way to fix it, I'll see if the community can help me problem shoot it here, that would be so amazing! <3 Thanks for the suggestion!

Did you also post that mail on the JBL Facebook page to increase public pressure, maybe even linked to steemit to get more readers?

No I didn't, I don't use Facebook! I could try to do something somewhere else though if they don't respond, I am hoping they have some trick up their sleeves to help me fix this one =D

Nice very interesting post like it and upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60840.29
ETH 2577.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57