Funny Panama Signs - @sultnpapper Sign Contest

in #funny6 years ago

My Steemit friend, @sultnpapper, is running a contest now for pictures of signs. If you know of a funny or cool sign, be sure to enter the contest. To enter, you only need to leave a picture in the comment of his post. It has some great prizes:

First prize is $10 steem
Second prize is $6 steem
Third prize is $4 steem

The contest got me to thinking about signs that I've seen here in Panama, so I decided to write a quick post about a few of the funny signs I've seen.

This sign was seen while driving up the mountain with my parents. We were heading from Boquete around the big loop. Let's just say this was a little unnerving to some in the car. They were ready to turn around at this point! I mean...that car is just floating in mid air! Is our car going to do that if we continue on? You can see how steep that slope is!

sign.jpg

Today I was with my kids at the Boys and Girls Club in Caisan. It takes place at a facility that houses American missionaries who come in to work with people in the surrounding area. Americans flush toilet paper. Panamanians do not flush paper. Does Jesus flush or toss it? I guess that is for you to decide.

IMG_0116.JPG

I really hope that you'll take a few minutes to enter the contest before the April 14 at noon (Texas time) deadline. Perhaps you'll beat out my entry!

SMbannersmall.png

The STEEM Engine

!steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map

Why We Moved to Panama

Sort:  

looks like a rally course! love the car falling sign

Lol - thanks! It is a funny sign. Supposed to have a hill under it, but someone peeled it off I guess. Ha

The first one is hilariously misleading. And for your info, we also flush our paper here in Malaysia. I just got to know that Panamanians do not flush papers. Now that is a new knowledge for me. 🌝😎

Yes, it's kind of weird and gross. Most Latin American countries don't flush - at least we weren't supposed to in Mexico either. I usually don't follow that rule! I have heard it has something to do with the size of the pipes being small. Hopefully we don't have any issues with that! :)

Now it makes sense if it is about the size of the pipes being small. Well, we are all from different countries with different ways of doing things. ;)

LOL those road signs are a bit worrying i must say

Yes - ha! I think the car is supposed to have a "hill" underneath it that someone had peeled off. It made it look hilarious nonetheless. :)

I guessed that was the case lol
It does make fir a fun shot though

Hahaha, nice post! In Panama, last year I saw a road sign (handmade) which said "Curva Hijueputa!" (more or less something like "Motherf.... curve ahead!"). Couldn't take a picture of it but it was really funny, and yes, the curve was really hard! :)

Oh my those are both very unusual and of course the WWJD sign about the toilet paper is very funny!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=apanamamama
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=funny-panama-signs-sultnpapper-sign-contest


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I understand not flushing tp from #1 but not #2 yuck. It's a lot easier on your septic tank... alas I still flush it all...

Yeah, I totally understand that, but we flush everything as well!

Some people I know use cloths and wash and reuse them... I admire their environmentalism but I'm just not there yet!

Yes, I've heard of that. Used cloth diapers for a while on some of my kids...but it is a lot of work and they never really got clean...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 61014.18
ETH 3412.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52