What is your worst roommate experience? - The Daily Steem Poll [A Question for the Community]

in #fun8 years ago

What is the Daily Steem Poll?

The "Daily Steem Poll" is an initiative to collect input from the community on various topics. Details about the project can be found in the introductory post here.

How to participate in the Daily Steem Poll:

Participating in the Daily Steem Poll is easy! Just share your thoughts on today's question in the comments below. Everyone who contributes to the discussion will be part of the reward pool for the post, as described in the payout section below!

Extra bonus for suggesting questions:

You can also suggest potential topics/questions to be used for future posts. For any topics that are selected, 20% of the SBD payout from that post will go to the person who suggested the idea! Please add suggestions for new topics in the comments below!

The SBD author payout from this post will be split as follows:

  • 20% will be paid to the person who thought of the idea for the post
  • 30% will be used to boost/promote future Daily Steem Poll posts
  • 50% will be divided equally among every user that contributed to the conversation in a meaningful way
    (Any comment that contributes to the discussion will be counted as participation.)

The Daily Steem Poll Archive:

The archive of Daily Steem Poll topics can be found here!

Today's selected author:

Today's question is from me :)
I will be adding my 20% to the 50% that goes to whoever participates in today's discussion.

The Daily Steem Poll Question for the day is:

What is your worst roommate experience?


[Image courtesy of Pixabay]

Sort:  

At university I shared a dorm room with a sociopath. No, really. She would steal my clothes and other personal items and then try to tell me I had imagined owning these things, that she had never seen me wear these clothes and use these items (an iPod, clothes iron, toaster oven, a family photo album & scrapbook my mom had spent weeks creating, all disappeared in the first month) and that I was crazy. If my parents called and she picked up the phone (this was way before cell phones were around), she would make up stories about me sleeping in all day and missing classes or being out all night. My parents were so concerned they flew out to see me. We spoke to the admissions department and I was moved out into a single dorm. My parents helped me move and my dad mistakenly went into her closet, not mine, to pack up. There, packed away in a tote, were all of my missing items including my photo album, completed defaced. The roommate walked in as we were discovering this and she went ballistic, hysterical, threatened to sue us for taking "her things." When my dad said he was going to call the police to come in and take a statement, she told us her father was in the mafia and that we were dead meat. In any case, I moved out with my things and she began a smear campaign against me. Eventually she was suspended after making a false rape claim against one of the professors.

Creepy story thanks for sharing.

I lived at a punk house where one roommate physically attacked me and others on several occasions and peed in the fake potted plants when he got drunk.

At another place I lived, the person from whom my girlfriend and I were renting a room would wake up early, turn on the Grateful Dead full blast, and begin maniacally cleaning his already-spotless, furniture-less house while cursing at the top of his lungs.

OMG, where do I begin? Here's a short one. I had a roomie in college. I wake up one morning to use the bathroom and there's unwrapped condoms hanging on the shower curtain. "Hey, what's with the condoms on the shower curtain.?", I asked. To which he replied, "I'm washing and drying them. I only used them once."

My sister and rented a large house for a couple of years and got in flatmates. The first ones were really good but later on, not so much. This girl turned out to be a drug addict, would often be so off her face that she'd leave elements on in the kitchen, and we eventually had to ask her to leave. After she'd gone we discovered she'd racked up huge overseas toll bills, and she'd been selling my records (this was the early 80s) to the second hand record place down the road.

Out of the $ 1.43 SBD payout:

  • 0.43 was set aside to promote future Daily Steem Poll posts.
  • 1.00 was divided equally among everyone who participated.

@bacchist
@acidyo
@lscottphotos
@mada
@luzcypher
@kiwideb
@florentina
@astral
@majes
@cathi-xx

Thanks for your contributions!

I never had really terrible roommates (thank god) but the worst was when my roomie brought a guy to our dorm room freshman year while she was drunk off her ass in the middle of the night! I had to plug my ears and give her a stern talking to in the morning haha!

This one room-mate would fry everything. No matter what day it was, he was frying food.

He almost caused a huge fire ones cause the fat had gotten stuck somehow in the vent and was about to catch on fire, guessing from all the frying.

Yikes. I'd be worried about his cholesterol too! haha

My worst roommate experience was when my girl friends Uncle Steve came to stay with us for a while... Uncle Steve being a Cajun from Louisiana pretty much took over the cooking and he did a fine job, yum yum...

I had recently bought one of those lil network camera's that could be controlled remotely and shared it with a few friends so they could all watch Uncle Steve cook. It was also live streaming to Ustream for awhile.

One day my friend and I were sat chatting away on skype and watching Uncle Steve in the kitchen deep frying chicken via the live stream and as he plopped a few pieces of chicken in the pot of oil it boiled over onto the burner....

Damn it he said, as the flames shot up and I yelled Damn it Uncle Steve. The thermometer much be broke he said as he stood there watching my stove burn...

I ran to the kitchen and moved the pot off the burner and through a kitchen towel over it to smother the flames. All the while my friend was laughing over skype as was a few viewers on Ustream...

Video might still be up if that site even exist anymore, I dunno... Was call how to handle a stove fire lol...

Damn it Uncle Steve would likely have been more appropriate....

Poll idea: Which film(s) have you watched most often and why?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66533.06
ETH 3491.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71