Fruits & Veggies Monday #33: "Rustic Potato, Leek & Tomato Salad, with Garlic Coleslaw & Roast Butternut Squash"steemCreated with Sketch.


Here in north-west Ireland winter seems reluctant to give way to spring, and though the days are brighter there's still a lingering chill in the air.  So a favourite for these kind of days are warm salads... 'fresh and cosy' if you know what I mean!  Most of the components are cold, but this one I served with hot oven-roasted butternut squash to make sure we're not shivering by the end of dinner.  It looks quite a mish-mash of different ingredients, but I hope you think it looks tasty because boy oh boy is really is!


The dressing for both the potato salad and the coleslaw is the same, only the former is flavoured with wholegrain mustard, and the coleslaw is rich with garlic.  I used to rely on mayonnaise for both these things but after a few experiments with various plant-based dressings, mayo is now redundant!  The quantities below are rough as it really depends on how many people you're making it for, and what size of portion you eat.  So feel free to make adjustments as required.


Once again I'm grateful to Lena for encouraging me to make these delicious vegan meals, and motivating me to share the recipes.  It's funny but I always seem to forget this contest has prizes, because I'm so focused on the chance to celebrate once a week all the beautiful plants that sustain us, and because of that it's my favourite Steemit contest ever!  So here is my recipe for you... a really nourishing meal to tuck into :-)


Ingredients (organic recommended):


500g baby new potatoes

1 leek

1/4 savoy cabbage

2 large carrots

1 large red onion

1-2 bulbs garlic

1/3 butternut squash

1 carton chickpeas

1 carton edamame beans

1 avocado

400g cashew nuts

1 carton coconut cream

1 tblsp sweet paprika

2 tsp unrefined salt

2 tsp black pepper

1-2 tsp wholegrain mustard

1 tbslp parsley

1 tsp chilli flakes

Coconut oil (for roasting)


Directions:


Chop the baby new potatoes into small chunks and steam for about 15 minutes until tender (but retaining some firmness so they don't turn to mush).  Cool immediately under cold water and gently pat dry on a clean tea-towel.



Slice the leek and rinse in a colander/sieve to remove the dirt from between the layers.  Pat dry with a towel.



To make the dressing: soak cashews in water overnight and blend to make a smooth paste.  Add the avocado and coconut cream, and mix to the desired consistency (I like it quite thick).  Stir in salt, black pepper and sweet paprika.  I used half of this dressing on the potato salad, and half for the coleslaw.



Mix together the potatoes, leek, chickpeas, edamame beans and dressing, along with a teapoon of wholegrain mustard, freshly chopped parsley and chilli flakes.



For the coleslaw: Finely slice the savoy cabbage into ribbons, dice the onion and grate the carrot.  Finely dice the garlic and add to the remaining dressing.  Mix the veg and dressing together.



Peel and dice the butternut squash into bite-size chunks.



Put the squash into a roasting tin along with a little coconut oil.  Pop into a pre-heated oven at about 200 degrees Celsius for about 30 minutes, tossing occasionally so they brown evenly.



Arrange all the components in a shallow bowl...  I added some fresh baby plum tomatoes and roasted pumpkin seeds to give it that yummy finishing touch.  Enjoy!



Many thanks to @lenasveganliving  for continuing to host this wonderful contest, and thanks also to the sponsors, judges and supporters!  For details how to join in, see here
 

For more health information, tips, recipes (vegan/vegetarian), crafts, photography, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here


("5 Cs" shared with kind permission from @kiwideb)

Sort:  

Nice post the coconut cream is interesting for the dressing. I have used the cashews before but not the coconut.

Yeah I like to experiment with different flavours! I find the coconut cream goes nicely with potatoes and a few herbs & spices. I know some people aren't so keen on coconut flavours, but I like it :-)

Hmmmm! Everything looks so inviting! It's obvious that this was a feast! Tipuvote!

Thanks so much @pusteblume! T'was a feast indeed! :-) Thank you also for the tip, you're very kind and it's much appreciated!

My pleasure! Your article was beautiful and inspiring.

The food and everything is really tasty, it's really such a work to put up this food content together , your blog I'd really rich and quality

Thanks so much @josediccus, what a wonderful thing to say! I'm very happy you think so highly of my blog :-)

#spuddies!! This looks delicious! I'm definitely going to have to try that creamy, healthy take on potato salad. I was thinking of you yesterday as we celebrated my sister's birthday. My parents decided on doing a potato bar for dinner! We had baked sweet and regular spuds with all kinds of yummy toppings. :)

Oh man, I was totally intending on using the #spuddies tag and forgot at the last minute! Gave me a chuckle thinking of it earlier :-)

Love the sound of that 'potato bar'! What a cool idea. So your family are spud lovers too! Perhaps there's some Irish blood in your family somewhere... :-)

This looks amazing, my mouth is watering looking at the pictures! What a wonderful meal! Well done! The creamy dressing...oh my!

Thanks very much! I can only be bothered to cook if the meal looks and tastes good, so I end up throwing all kinds of things in to make it interesting!

Dear mam @woman-onthe-wing . its a great blog with a hiegyn vegetables.. i love food and eating as like you.. its a delicious food i think. your blog appreciate me.. i think you are a cooking mastar.. i like this . keep going. lookimg forward to read your next blog.

Thanks very much for your kind comments @sanjoy22!

I love cold salads at the moment as well, one of my favourite meals lately. I have to save your recipe and make it next time I have some butternut squash.

I'm happy to hear that! Never a dull day with a salad, as you need never make the same one twice! :-)

This is my kind of meal Joanna...............I would probably lick the bowl, lol. The dressing must be super delicious and I bet it can be used for other types of dishes as well. Well done my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Ha ha, by the time I finished it there wasn't anything left in the bowl, not even a hint of dressing! I'll definitely be making this one again :-) Thanks very much Lena!

I am not surprised at all...........that's how I would eat it too, lol.

Always a pleasure Joanna 🍒 🍌🍑🍍🍓🍇

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
1.png

Wow, thank you! :-)

This looks delicious my dear! Congratulations

Thank you @maruharraca, you're very kind as always!

Good post.Thank you for this beautiful post. If you follow me and like all my posts, I will follow you and I will comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66431.69
ETH 3459.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60