Figs and Indian Jujube

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #fruitsandveggiesmonday initiated by @lenasveganliving

As an effort to eat healthy we decided to try a new variety of seasonally available local fruit every week.And this week its fig and Indian Jujube.

DSC_0939 (2).JPG
I first heard about figs when a doctor adviced to eat them a lot😁 Yeah thats right.Before that I have never noticed or heard about this fruit😐
First I was not very impressed by its mushy texture but they are rich source of fibres,minerals and vitamins. And the taste is good too with its crunchy seeds.Figs are also preserved in dry form which I am yet to try.

20171120_212742.jpg

The look alike of apple in the above picture is the Indian Jujube.This is also a seasonal fruit.They can also be pickled.They are rich in vit A and C.
I had to do a little research to find its english name.Here it is known as 'Ber'.It tasted like apple but the outer peel was a little bitter and the whole fruit has a kind of rancid smell.Or maybe because I don't know how to choose the best one.I don't think am going to buy it again😐

The orange coloured pieces are the very common Papaya.They are available throughout the year and my favorite eventhough they have a little unpleasant smell.I just love the seedless 'red lady' variety.Where I come from papaya trees are a common sight in our backyards.We also prepare dish from green/raw papaya to consume along with rice and curry.(I don't have a picture now.But will surely share when I prepare it next time)And if you can bear the smell of a fully ripe one just rub it on your face for that instant glow😉.

Thats it people.Eat a loooot of fruits and stay healthy

Happy Steeming
@silenteyes

My other posts
Ancient rock cut karla caves
Trees from three states
Caterpillar and me

Sort:  

I love figs but they are so sweet, I can't have them too often. And dried ones are even sweeter!

We have a jujube here - but it looks different! hmm. interesting!!

We get another variety too here which is smaller and yellowish/orange in colour.Yet to try that.

I love figs and papaya. The smell doesn't bother me at all. I mostly use them for smoothies. It must be nice to have papaya trees in the backyard, I wish!!! LOL!!!

Wonderful entry, thank you for shraing t with us @silenteyes 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

And during our childhood we used to make blow bubble wands from the hollow stem of papaya leaves.So much memories with our backyard papaya tree😊

We have a papaya trees at our farm and they are one of my favourite fruits. The other two I am yet to see.

Good to know that.I would recommend you to try figs.They taste good and also full of nutrition.

figs it is both tasty and useful :)

Yea.Even doctors recommend them

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63598.38
ETH 2746.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65