Unverpackt in WĆ¼rzburg (Zero waste shopping) ~ FruitsAndVeggiesMonday

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday ā€¢ 6 years ago (edited)

Another beautiful week begins with a fresh šŸ˜‰ Monday and with a new round of #fruitsandveggiesmonday initiated and hosted by our lovable friend @lenasveganliving. We appreciate the work that you do a lot! šŸ˜˜

Today I would love to take you to my newly (since last April) favorite shop in my hometown. It is UNVERPACKT, my local zero waste shop just around the corner where I live. It is so close I could literally go there in pajamas and slippers.

Ususally these kind of shops sell a lot of dry foods like grains and legumes, noodles and spices and stuff like this. Mine also sells soaps, toothbrushes, detergents, compostable lunchboxes made of a the wastes from the sugar industry (sugar beets) and and and ...

Why it fits into the #fruitsandveggiesmonday challenge? Susanne - that's the owner - also sells fresh fruits and vegetables. They are not only regional - oranges and lemons are no typical fruits in Germany! šŸ˜œ But if possible, the veggies are from organic farmers close to WĆ¼rzburg and certified with the demeter Siegel, one of the strictest organic seal in Germany.

Because she only has on stock what her partner farmers can offer her, it is always a little bit thrilling and a surprise, what sorts of fruits and vegetables are available today... I don't go there with a list of fresh stuff that I need but with the intention: "I go and check what Susanne has. But yes, we need onions and a lemon!" (That's available most of the time). I go and let me inspire by the current offer. Sometimes I the even find things that are new to me, for example Postelein, a leaf Ā vegetable that can be eaten in salads. It's very delicious! Or this huge stem of brussel sprouts she sold in September or so was really impressive!

Lets see what she has today:

bioland apples and hokaido pumpkins

apples, fair trade bananas, spanish - no, greek! - no, italian! lemons and spanish oranges

Red potatoes from a village called GĆ¼lchsheim

This is my Postelein and chinese cabbageĀ 

different sorts french nuts

Topinambur (jerusalem artichokes)

Onions of course!

When you look out of the shop you see into my little alley. I live exactly opposite the yellow house, second floor - just in case anyone would love to stop by for a cup of coffee (Which is from Susanne's shop as well. She sells different sorts of coffee beans and has a coffee grinder). ā˜•ļø

Have a colorful week my fruitsandveggiesmonday friends and don't forget to eat your vegetables! šŸ˜˜

Sort: Ā 

I've been saying this for years"Germany is always advanced in everything!!!" What a marvelous little store. I checked the video as well and I totay admire the inventiveness combine with simplicity. I hope the whole world will follow. Thank you so much for sharing it with us Dear @pusteblume and
good luck šŸ’ šŸŒšŸ‘šŸŒæšŸšŸ“šŸ‡

Yes! I sooo needed this! In the second week after opening she already recognized me as a "Stammkundin" (regular customer)! šŸ˜† And did you see the machine for the fresh nut butter?!!! šŸ˜ƒ One week there are roasted almonds and the next week roasted hazelnuts inside... Isn't this amazing!?

Great post! I love doing my own shopping food! Thank you for sharing your zerowaste local market! Keep it up @pusteblume!

Thank you! I wish every town would have this! I go crazy when I see all this plastic clogging the rivers and polluting the oceans! šŸ˜ 
Thank you so much for your comment and your support! I appreciate that! šŸ˜˜

Oh how nice to be able to walk right over and shop here! That looks like a place I would visit often, as well. So nice to see shops that encourage sustainable habits like that!

So true! I just stopped by on my way home from work and bought two oranges and two hands full of lambs lettuce ... So comfortable!

Wow..those fruits and vegetables look so good! You will know that they are free of chemical spray and they didn't have to travel from afar.

That is so true! Thank you!

Thank you @pusteblume for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 2.02% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

We have a similar store in our home town and I just love the concept!! I am excited to see how more and more like these heroes pop up within our cities :)

Yes! I was the happiest person when I noticed that it will come to Wuerzburg last spring! Where do you live?

I lived in Paderborn till yesterday, now I am sitting at the airport, waiting for my flight to Thailand to start my longterm traveling around the world :)

Oh wow! That sounds interesting! One of colleagues and ger boyfriend did the same. They just came back a month ago after after 13 months of traveling. They started in Vietnam but Thailand was one of their destinations as well... Watch their blog: https://zweimitrucksack.blogspot.de/p/hallo-und-herzlich-willkommen-auf.html

Their blog looks great, especially the Myanmar part has some awesome pictures included! Thanks for the great suggestion ;-)

You are welcome! I wish you a fantastic time!

Thank you so much! After a few days in Thailand I already sense that living with a minimum amount of packaging is going to be a much bigger challenge here :D

Aww! I am thinking about you and cross my fingers for you! Alles Gute! šŸ€

I"m glad you had a picture of the Postelein in your market! I know it as Miner's Lettuce (Claytonia perfoliata). It grows wild in my area and I forage for it in the late winter and early spring. It's so good! It's worth buying from a market! I like seeing the Jerusalem artichokes, too. They provide a lot of food in a little space, without much work. And it's always good to see nuts! Where do you think those hazelnuts are from? Here in Oregon, farmers grow most of the ones used in the US. But I wonder if yours come from Turkey - or even local. Enjoy eating all that great organic produce! :D

Yes, I know know. There is a link in my text to the miners lettuce wikipedia entry. Because not so many may know this. I think most of the nuts come from France, but Italy is big in hazelnuts too. Thank you for your nice words. Franconia has a lot of walnut trees in the vineyards. (I love to cycle in the vineyards in fall with a huge backpack ... šŸ˜œ)

wie cool ist das denn? Super Idee!

Hast du noch nicht gekannt?!! šŸ˜ƒ SanderstraƟe, in der NƤhe vom Loma. Und fast gleich daneben noch die Veggie Bros mit den weltbesten Falafel! Ich wohne echt priviligiert!

Ne, muss sagen, dass ich es echt noch nicht kannte! Da kann man ja neidisch werden wo du wohnst!! :D Hoert sich super an. Hab jetzt so Lust auf Falafel!! >.<

Die haben auch lieferservice - ich weiƟ aber nicht, ob bis Eibelstadt ...

Oh wie toll, es sollte einfach ƜBERALL solche LƤden geben ā™„ DafĆ¼r gibt's ein fettes Upvote ;)

Dankeschƶn! Das finde ich auch!

it is very convenient when there is a good store nearby

Thats for sure convenient! Especially when you go there with your basket already full of jars and boxes and bags ... But even more there is no excuse anymore for me to cause waste, especially plastics. I am not waste free totally but for us I see a immense change in the amount of waste we carry down to the waste bin ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82