You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unverpackt in Würzburg (Zero waste shopping) ~ FruitsAndVeggiesMonday

I"m glad you had a picture of the Postelein in your market! I know it as Miner's Lettuce (Claytonia perfoliata). It grows wild in my area and I forage for it in the late winter and early spring. It's so good! It's worth buying from a market! I like seeing the Jerusalem artichokes, too. They provide a lot of food in a little space, without much work. And it's always good to see nuts! Where do you think those hazelnuts are from? Here in Oregon, farmers grow most of the ones used in the US. But I wonder if yours come from Turkey - or even local. Enjoy eating all that great organic produce! :D

Sort:  

Yes, I know know. There is a link in my text to the miners lettuce wikipedia entry. Because not so many may know this. I think most of the nuts come from France, but Italy is big in hazelnuts too. Thank you for your nice words. Franconia has a lot of walnut trees in the vineyards. (I love to cycle in the vineyards in fall with a huge backpack ... 😜)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81