Traveling Mexican Stew : Fruits and Veggies Monday

Hola amigos y amigas!

It’s already time for fruits and veggies Monday and it feels so good to be back. I’m writing this post from San Francisco this week because I’m visiting my Mom and family before we jet off to Central America.

Since I’ve been here though, it’s been pouring bloody cats and dogs outside. That’s no problem for the Pura clan when we can just turn to me to whip up some good ol’ soup.

Incidentally, my Grandmother (who is 82 years old) is on a cruise in the Panama Canal with my aunt. Their boat was docked in Costa Rica upon my arrival to the Bay Area so I haven’t gotten to visit with them yet but am hoping my grandma falls in love with Central America as we did and decides to come visit us often. She’s a very fit and young 82 year old.

My grandpa on the other hand stayed back and has been surviving on TV dinners, Taco Bell, and Burger King. He thinks it’s healthier because at Burger King he gets a “whopper junior with no cheese, add lettuce, tomato, onion… it’s kind of like a small salad if you think about it puravidaville”. Yes, he actually says that 🤦🏼‍♀️

I’m going to remedy his “health” food addiction today with some good old comforting soup.

0EFAC501-3365-49F4-B292-E27B5F4376C2.jpeg

Mexican Stew

I love this soup topped with avocado, cilantro and a lime squeeze. It has so many flavors that I’m hoping might then entice my Gramps to join Grams in a visit to CR. Plus, on a rainy day it hits the spot!

DBD536B5-48EE-475C-AA92-C2CB53440E29.jpeg

Ingredients

1 Cup red lentils
1 Onion
1.5 Cup celery (chopped)
4 garlic cloves (minced)
2 zucchini (chopped)
2 chili peppers (minced)
4-5 Roma tomatoes (roasted and chopped)
2 medium rutabaga (peeled and chopped)
2-3 Cups veggie broth
1 Tsp Curry
1.5 Tsp chili powder
1.5 Tsp cumin
2-3 limes (juiced)
1 bunch cilantro (chopped)
1-2 avocados

Start by preheating your oven to 400 F and line a cookie sheet with foil. Cut your Roma tomatoes in half, de seed them and pop in the oven for 30-40 minutes.

A09C6647-EDE0-4F9E-9E65-7159DE89450A.jpeg

Put your lentils on a boil for a few minutes then cover, turn off heat and let them soak for 30 minutes.

720481D6-3361-482F-BCE5-FC3C2438903E.jpeg

Let’s fry some onions then, shall we?!? I used the last of my red onion and about 3/4 of a white onion. It doesn’t matter as long as it’s an onion. Capeesh? Capeesh!

960974BB-DDE9-44AC-8206-FEB07317AE7E.jpeg

Once the onions get translucent go ahead and add in your celery…

AA6FA9F3-C53F-45F7-8207-5A3A32438593.jpeg

Then your zucc’s (which is zucchini’s for those of you who aren’t hip to the slang)…

4C160BBE-1D1B-4401-844C-CF79535FA229.jpeg

Some minced chili’s…

5AA7E704-0820-4A86-944F-8D2C9B6F5082.jpeg

The garlique…

51CB23C7-33FD-4A8B-8BC1-8ADD7FE5C448.jpeg

Your spices…

6540D050-8233-4968-AFDB-FB1FCB76356F.jpeg

And finally the chopped rutabaga with the 2 Cups of vegetable broth. The rutabagas act as my potatoes so feel free to sub poe-tates if rutabaga is scarce where you are.

4A60AA4A-FFDE-4B65-AC9D-07A639B54205.jpeg

Once the lentils are done soaking go ahead and add them to your soup. I also added an additional 2-3 cups of water to completely submerge my rutabagas.

BF1B3E17-755D-456C-82F2-612F2317C63C.jpeg

I added a chopped jalapeño to spice things up but it’s totally not necessary.

ABFD4FB7-5DCA-4445-AC67-D8D7F502935D.jpeg

Pull your tomatoes from the oven and very carefully chop them without burning your bloody finger prints off. It’s a lot trickier than it sounds. I think I cursed a few times during this process 🤦🏼‍♀️

1366A3B0-F1E3-4686-A0A0-39E6D73239B0.jpeg

Add them to the stew and simmer for about 10-15 minutes. While the flavors are getting acquainted chop your cilantro, about a cup or so, and slice some limes into easily juiced wedges.

DC994D92-D07D-4B5D-8CAE-626D2C4CEF2C.jpeg

Stir in your cilantro and green gold juice (that’s lime juice for the unhip) and let sit for a minute or two then

6EA28454-0514-4F3D-B91D-CA193358CFE7.jpeg

serve with fresh sliced avocado, not for @dandays because we know how that goes 🤷🏼‍♀️

Bon Appetit !

Thanks @lenasveganliving for always hosting such a lovely group of chefs. Fruits and veggies Monday is the best Monday of the week 😉

I’m glad y’all stopped by and next time I read ya, it’ll be from 10 degrees to the equator :).

Pura Vida ✌️

Sort:  

Hey @puravidaville, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem

Just one question. Does this stew travel by itself?

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 43

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Thank you @catweasel! No, the chef has to travel with it :). I’m so glad you stopped by.

Loved the "small salad" remark. Yeah. Right.

You’re such a gangster. In case you haven’t noticed, your recipes catch a lot of attention.

Congratulations, chef! iheartu all the time.

And you’re the best! Muah muah muah all over your face 😘

Thanks for the great recipe, I have to go to the kitchen now and see if I can find something to eat, you made me appetit :)

Yay! I’m glad you liked it. I have a warm virtual bowl for you any time :)

thank you :)

I always enjoy your post no matter what recipes are😍 i imagined how happy you were while doing all those things in your kitchen 😉 what a nice pictures to see and I can see how tasty it is🌻

Thank you @cicisaja! I can always count on such a nice compliment from you. You rock :)

Well if Gramps won't come down, you know I'll come running. ;) Yum all around. Especially with that extra touch of roasting those tomatoes. Well worth the singed fingertips, haha! And I'll gladly take @dandays portion of avocado...

I bet you will :). Thanks @plantstoplanks. No one in their right mind can pass up extra avo… 🤷🏼‍♀️

Oh my you've done it again...whipped up magic even in your mom's kitchen!! Love the roasted tomatoes, I'll have to make this soup :) Just dip those avo's and go for it! Kitchen perfection my friend!!!

These pictures were actually from my kitchen but here is one from my moms place…

CB32AADC-72F1-4963-B4ED-551A4BB7C842.jpeg

The night now be a looker in this picture but I promise you it is so delicious 😋

Oh my, this looks amazing! Your family must love you! Watch out...they may not let you go! ;)

My mom is already hooked on my green smoothies which makes my heart smile. All I want is for everyone to be healthy and happy :) Thanks @birdsinparadise!

Ohhhhhhhhhh, So you are in San Francisco now! I see!!! With stubborn grandpa, lol. I hope he liked the soup, because if not than I will get on the plane and come eat it! It's sooooo delicious and super healthy! Please tell him that, lol 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
5jmvkoxih6.jpg

:). I’ll definitely tell him this :) Thanks @lenasveganliving. I have a warm bowl waiting for you too!

Congratulations @puravidaville! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29