Fruits and Veggies Monday: Not Quite Spring Yet, So Vegan Chili It Is!

Another happy Monday to you all!  I hope everyone enjoyed the weekend and is looking forward to a great week ahead.  Once again I couldn't miss out on the fabulous #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest from @lenasveganliving.  Some of our herbs are starting to grow again in the garden and thinks it's time to embrace the new season, but we've not quite gotten out of the winter woods just yet with some cooler temps for us here this week.  I know many of you out there are still bundled up, as well!

It has been a little while since I have shared a recipe with my Monday post, so I'm going to mix it up today and write up the yummy chili I made yesterday for part of my meal prep this week.  I do love a big pot of something warm and hearty when it's a little gloomy and cool.  Though I can't wait for the fresh produce of the upcoming season, I wholeheartedly enjoy chili and soup season while it lasts.

Since we don't have a ton of things growing around here quite yet, I did resort to a few convenience options like frozen squash and jarred tomatoes for my chili.  As long as you pick fruits and vegetables that have nothing added, frozen is a great option for those times when nothing seems to be fresh.  I still always opt for organic, especially with things like berries where you eat the entire fruit.  I love using a frozen pack of pureed winter squash in my chili (I have another chili variation using it) to add some extra vitamins--beta-carotene and vitamin C for example--and boost the overall nutrition content of my meal.  I do however prefer my aromatics like onions, garlic and peppers fresh as they seem to lose flavor and texture once frozen.

I also decided to add a slightly less common ingredient to my chili this time around--peanuts!  Apparently that's the food I'm obsessing over right now, as I seem to be putting the little legume in just about everything these days.  I figured people eat boiled peanuts, so why not try it in my chili?  They actually did add a nice texture in with the beans and lentils.  I was quite pleased with the result of my experiment.  Raw peanuts are something you can always find locally as they are grown right here in our state.

I made another batch of my gluten-free black bean flour muffins to go with our chili for the perfect filling meal.  As I am getting ready for my half marathon this coming Saturday, I wanted to make sure I had some really good quality filling meals ready for the week so I know I feel great for the race!

Peanut, Lentil & Bean Chili

Makes 8 hearty servings

  • 1 medium onion, peeled & chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, cored & chopped
  • 1 large jalapeno pepper, seeded & minced
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons chipotle chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked chili or other beans of choice or 14-ounce can, rinsed & drained
  • 1 cup dried green lentils, soaked overnight & rinsed*
  • 1 cup raw peanuts
  • 2 1/2-3 cups diced tomatoes, fresh or jarred/canned
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 tablespoons tamari, aminos or soy sauce
  • 1 cup dry red wine (or sub additional water/broth)
  • 2 cups water or vegetable broth

Place your onions, peppers and garlic in a large pot over medium heat.  Cook, stirring occasionally, for 8-10 minutes or until the vegetables start to soften.  Add in a tablespoon of water as needed to prevent sticking.

Next add in your spices and cook for about 60 seconds, stirring frequently to avoid burning.  Combine all of the rest of the ingredients into the pot, stir and bring to a low boil.  Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 45 minutes to an hour.

Taste and adjust any seasoning to your liking!  Gets better each day for leftovers. ;) (You knew I couldn't forget a little plug for meal prepping!!)

*If you don't get a chance to soak your lentils, don't worry too much.  Just add about a cup of extra water and check to see if you need to cook a little bit longer to make sure they are done.

Sort:  

Once upon a time I was making some chocolate vegan chili for my sister which called for 4 cloves of garlic. Ignorant me as I am, I spent at least an hour peeling and chopping up 4 heads of garlic into the chili. It was... not good.

Oh my goodness! I love garlic, but that may even be too much for me! Sometimes the best way to learn is from our mistakes, and I'm sure you won't ever have that happen again. :) I've had plenty of kitchen blunders myself...with plenty more to come, I'm sure.

I tried it yesterday! First I didn't like it that much, and I also had to add some semolina to thicken it (too liquid, too much water). But after it cooled down, it really tasted great! Especially this raw peanut, that was unusual, added some unique flavour and texture. I wouldn't get the idea of using raw peanuts on my own, so that's a revelation to me! thanks :))

Thanks so much for the feedback! I'm glad you ended up enjoying it. Liquid measurements can be a little tough sometimes as it can really depend on the other ingredients how much gets soaked up while cooking, so I am happy you were able to make it work with the semolina. I hope the leftovers are even better! :)

exactly! leftover was a whole lunch for next day for 2 people! Next time I'll probably double everything while cooking ;))

Fruits and veggies are always awesome in any form. here is my new contest based on fresh fruits. All are invited to participate.
🍎 🍐Colorful Fruit Platter Challenge🍉 🍇 🍓 💲💲100 WHALESHARES and 2 SBD prizes for the winner!!💲💲

Always fun to see the contests you are putting together! I'll definitely swing by and check it out!

Oh yes, I need your vegan chili right now! 😉😋

I would gladly make another big pot for all my Steemit friends!! :)

That's awesome, because I was just looking for a great chili recipe and I think I found it :)))) Thank you so much for sharing it :D It's gonna be on my menu this week for sure ;)

I'm always happy to share! I'm glad you like it. :) We're down to the last little bit, so almost time to figure out what's cooking next!

Looks absolutely beautiful @plantstoplanks - peanuts are an interesting addition, they must have added a well needed crunch! I also love the sound of your black bean flour muffins, I bet they paired up perfectly with your delicious chili bowl.

As far as meal preps go (which I know you love to do!) chili must be one of your top 3 choices right? As you said the leftovers taste better day after day!! Yummy :)

Thank you for taking a look! I don't know why I've never tried peanuts before now--it was a great addition!

Chili is probably my number 1 for winter meal prepping. Maybe a tie with soup. It's one of those things that comes together so easily, I almost always have ingredients on hand and everyone likes it. Winning all around!

AHHH soup - I love soup too! Leek & potato is my favourite :D

Thank you! I'm happy you think so! 😊

Yummm dreaming about a bowl with your chili right now!!

It's dreary here today, so I think I planned my meals well for the week! Thank you my friend! 😀

I love your meal prepping and the chili looks so good! The peanuts are a great idea! I have to remember next tim I make some chili and try this too!

Thanks! Happy to share a new idea for everyone to try! 😁

Looks mighty delicious!! 😊

Thanks! I was really happy I didn't ruin it with the peanuts! 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85