Fruits and Veggies Monday--Meal Prepping!

Happy Monday!  That means it's time for another installment of #fruitsandveggiesmonday with our fantastic host @lenasveganliving!  Today is also my niece's 2nd birthday, which makes it an even better day. :)  What does your only vegan auntie get you for your birthday?  Fruits and veggies of course!  Her other auntie and I had fun quizzing her on colors and types, so we're helping her brain grow while priming her to enjoy excellent brain fuel.  Plus it is so sweet to hear that little kid voice say "cucumber".

In the blink of an eye I am sure she'll be coming over and hanging out with me in my kitchen.  I can only hope she enjoys cooking as much as my sisters and I do, and that I can help her appreciate nutrition and learn where her food comes from.  On to the real food!  It was quite dreary around Atlanta yesterday, so I had fun in the kitchen most of the day as I had no desire to leave the house.  The fruit basket is well-stocked for the week for easy snacks.

I of course also worked on my meal prep.  I can't let a week go by without giving you a few meal prepping ideas.  This week I got a massive head of cauliflower and a red cabbage.  The cauliflower was actually a really good deal since they sold it by item instead of by weight.  My tip for using up big items like that is to put them in a few different of your recipes for the week.

The cauliflower I "riced" in my food processor to go into my slow cooker oats for a new twist on one of my standard meal prep breakfasts as well as into a salad I'm going to finish making today.  By prepping all of it at once yesterday it will be even easier to work with today.  Plus I only had to wash the food processor once!

The cabbage I also multi-purposed.  I put a little bit of it in my potato and split pea soup in my other slow cooker and the rest of it went to make my warm cabbage recipe for part of our dinner last night.  It can definitely save money and make your prep easier if you think about using vegetables like this.  I love incorporating a multitude of fresh produce in my meals, but since this time of year there aren't a ton of options really in season I don't mind putting the staples to good use!

I had quite the assembly line going at one point when I was finishing up with my slow cooker soup and oats while also getting my delicious Super Bowl meal going--I'll post that a bit later!  I always try to look at what I'm making and lay it out in a way that will make it the easiest on me as far as chopping all at once, which burners are being used, or even having the dish that will take the longest going while I prepare the last-minute items that are done in a flash.  It is a bit daunting at first, but I always feel wonderfully exhausted when I'm done and I have all these healthy meals to show for it!

What's everyone else got cooking this week?  I can't wait to take a tour of the challenge to see!

Check out the #fruitsandveggiesmonday tag for more posts like this, as well as #makeithealthy tag and site @make-it-healthy for other tips on a healthy lifestyle!

Sort:  

Hehe! You fooled me with the toy vegetables at the very first moment(for a second)! I thought: Wow! They look perfect almost unreal! It's always motivating to see your meal preps! Tipuvote!

;) I thought they fit nicely with the theme!

Batch prep and cooking is by far the best way to go. Saves your precious time during the crazy weekdays! I've never done the cauliflower rice thing. Must give it a try.

It really does! I can get a little intense when I'm deep in my cooking, but my boyfriend knows to just let me stay in my zone. :) I don't do it a ton because it can be a little messy and I rarely use it as a total rice substitute, but it actually worked really well to blend into my oats and I do like it mixed in a salad raw for a different texture. I don't understand how people can totally replace rice or other grains with it as I would have to eat so much to fill me up! I need my carbs. ;)

Carbs for the win! I don't know how you could do without them either! 😂 I am the exact same in the kitchen, my oh juat stars clear 😂

Meal prepp is the sh*t we are using the plantmealplanner.co to plan our meals :) I will upload a post about it soon :)

Nice! I will definitely look forward to seeing your thoughts about it. I have a pretty good system down for myself, but it is always nice to have good recommendations to give to other people who might like to use it!

Bravo my dear! Well done!

Thank you my friend!

There you go, another week of good yummy food in the tummy :-)

Happy birthday to your niece, such a beautiful age!

Thank you! My sister texted me a picture of her eating hummus today, so I was a very proud auntie! 🤣

You definitely have assembly line going there my Dear, including the famous "How Not To Die" book. I actually met Dr, Greger in person and I have a photo with him. He is awesome!

I was helping my friend in Montreal with her new vegan catering business when Dr. Greger was giving speech there back in 2012. We actually did the catering party for him arranged by his family member who lives in Montreal.

Sorry for bragging, lol..............now back to your entry. I see you got really nice big cauliflower there and one of my favorites, the red cabbage that I always have in my refrigerator. I have to try that cauliflower rice, I keep forgetting, so thank you for reminding me.

And at last, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to that little angel, your niece. She is a little bit older than our boys, they will be 2 in April 1st. Oh my goodness, she must we really adorable. I can totally imagine.........................sending lots of hugs 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Oh I am so jealous! I love Dr. Greger! I would brag about that for the rest of my life. 🤣

And thank you for the well wishes for our little one! As I'm sure you can relate to, it's so hard to believe 2 years has gone by already. It has been such a joy to be an auntie! Yours share a birthday with my uncle and I have an aunt's birthday the next day, too. Lots of spring babies in my family. 😀

Carry on sir

Well thanks, but I'm not a man? 🤔

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @pusteblume
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

Fantastic article 😎😎😎

thank you for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65725.56
ETH 2673.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90