Fruits and Veggies Monday--Another Installment of "What's Cooking in Katie's Kitchen" ;)

Happy Monday!  This day of the week just keeps getting better and better as @lenasveganliving's contest just keeps growing!  My hats off to not only our wonderful host Lena, but also to the guest judge every week.  I am sure it is not an easy task to pick from so many great entries, but at least it is a blast to look at all of the wonderful images of produce around the world! I rarely miss a week without joining in on #fruitsandveggiesmonday!

Today I'll give you a little glimpse what I have cooking up in my kitchen.  I'll definitely try to share later on today or tomorrow the Buddha bowl recipe that I am going to be devouring for lunches this week. ;)

It was quite chilly once again this weekend, so roasting vegetables not only tastes delicious but it also warms the house up when I crank up the oven!  I went back for more of my beloved beets this week at the grocery store (I'll eat your share @doc.hodes), along with some acorn squash and sweet potatoes.

I had not gotten any acorn squash in a while, so we decided to harvest the seeds to plant in our garden this year.  Some of our best gardening efforts have come from seed-saving.  I usually leave this task to @dksart while I work on cooking. ;)

To continue the trend of using as much of the plant as possible, I also always use my beet greens.  I know you can often get just the bulb of the beet, but I prefer to get the whole plant.  The leaves are rich in nutrients and have a different flavor that other greens, so it's great for a little variety.  I chopped these up to freeze and add to smoothies later on or maybe even a soup.

I also had a hearty bean and red lentil chili on the plan for this week.  It is another recipe from the "How Not to Die Cookbook".  A keeper for sure, so I will try to do a cookbook review this week.  I think that would be a fabulous entry for the #veganuarycontest for @lolzwithlisa!  (Another great contest for you fellow veggie lovers)  The peppers, tomatoes and mushrooms all went in to simmer in the pot for a warming Sunday afternoon lunch with plenty leftover for dinners this week!

I still have to finish out cooking the rest of the vegetables to top my roasted sweet potatoes with tonight, but this is what my efforts came to yesterday.  I love looking in the refrigerator and seeing it full of wholesome meals.  The rest of the week we can just reach in and know lunch and dinner is ready!

I hope you guys have some fabulous things on the menu for this week, as well!

Sort:  

That looks so good! Great post!

Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. :)

Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.04 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Oh, this is wonderful! I always love how you get yourself prepared for the week, It is one of the ways I can keep it honest and wholesome for myself. It has got to be easier living in a vegan household as opposed to a mixed house!

I agree with the beet green or any greens for that matter. The first day, I am likely to throw them in a salad and after that soup and smoothies, but your idea of freezing them... why have I never thought about that??? Seriously! Thank you.

This was an awesome post and I love seeing everything in the grab and go mood! Thank you!

Happy Fruits and Veggie Day! tip!

Thank you for the always thoughtful and kind comment! I am constantly reminded how awesome it is to have a boyfriend who will eat absolutely anything! It does make it so much easier that I don't have to make different meals--'cause I probably wouldn't do it any way, ha!!

Thanks for the tip and I'm glad I could return the favor with the freezing greens tip. I need to give @atmemestable a little credit there, as she did a post recently about doing the very same thing that reminded me about doing them whole. I usually blend them up with some water and make green ice cubes, but it's nice to have them available for other things, too. :)

Yes! Blending them with water is brilliant! Thanks again.

That's not fair, you got me drooling this morning :-) How wonderful that you get your food ready to eat like that. I have tried this method, and by third day, they don't look good anymore :-(

Haha, then my post was successful if it got you drooling from the start! Certain things definitely hold up better throughout the week, like this chili or soup. I feel like those just taste better as they get happy in the refrigerator. I know some people do two days a week of cooking so that they have a little more variety and don't have to eat the same thing the entire week and then some of the meals are a bit fresher. Even if you just do bit of prep for the first few days of the week it can help set the tone for the week in starting off healthy! :)

Will seriously taking your advice to do a bit of prep every day so I don't get overwhelmed especially when I have two household to care for.

Forgot to tell you about the cook book, the title should be "How Not To Die COOKING", lol..

Haha, that would definitely be a funny title!

Great post, I did not know that you could freeze the leaves! Do they thaw out ok? Like could you use them in a salad? We just moved house and the new house has a great veg garden area. We will start to plant very soon and hopefully we'll have some delicious veg to harvest in the summer / autumn.

Keep up the good work!!

Thanks so much for checking it out. They do get a little wilted with thawing, so probably not great for a salad. I try to put greens in everything though, so they work in anything warm--soup, chili, pasta, casseroles. We're hoping for a better harvest this year from our backyard garden, too!

What a wonderful and clever idea to prepare like that for the whole week !!
and I didn't know the trick with the beets leaves in a smoothie indeed ...

Ever since I became a trainer my hours tend to be quite non-traditional, so it was a habit formed originally out of necessity. I also hate to do dishes, so I'd rather do the bulk of them all at once! Haha! Glad you enjoyed my smoothie trick!

Blue Turkey had a little cameo in one of my posts last week again. I think he enjoyed hanging upside down with me. ;)

Looks amazing! I am trying to get better about meal prep, you keep me inspired to follow through!

Thanks! I'm happy I could give you a little inspiration for your own meal prep! :)

This is great!
I do love soups so generally I cook the veggies for the week or so and then I do fresh soup for every day!
Excellent post my dear! Congratulations

Thank you Maru! That's great that you make it a little easier for yourself, but then still leave the opportunity to make your soups a little different each day!

that looks really good... you should mail me some!

It might not look as good after getting run through the USPS system. ;) Although if the sci-fi movies are right then maybe some day I can just pass it through my computer screen to you....haha!

who knows. they say movies are created to de-sensitize us

I can definitely see there being truth to that.

They all look so fresh and tasty, and htis reminds me yet again I forgot about this challenge, Ohh well I must try and get somehting for nesxt week

Thanks so much! I can assure you they are all as tasty as they look. You should definitely join in when you get a chance. :)

👍

And I will

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61498.89
ETH 2962.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49