Fruits and Veggies Monday - Pomegranates in their Red GlorysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

Red, Red Pomegranates

Pom.jpg

It is pomegranate season and our tree made us proud this year as you can see in this post from a week ago.
https://steemit.com/fruitsandveggiesmonday/@mariannewest/fruit-pomegranate-guava

What I didn't tell you then is that quite a bit of the tree is growing over the fence into my neighbor's yard. Actually, I think there was more fruit on his side than on mine. When I noticed that the rats had found their favorite snack (or one of their favorites) I called him up and asked him to harvest the fruit before it is too late.

He was very happy to do so. He loves to garden - but has no time. His work leaves him little time for anything else. Pomegranates are some of his favorites, but without my call, he might have never known that they were ready for the picking.

You see, I am growing a bunch of trees along the fence to my neighbor's house.

They are fulfilling quite a few purposes. If you are at all familiar with Permaculture, you know that most everything in your environment needs to have at least 3 functions.

Let's see how the trees along the fence are doing.

  1. They hide the ugly, ugly chain link fence.

  2. They give out neighbors some privacy from us.

  3. They give us some privacy from our neighbors. Duh!

  4. They give us food to eat.

  5. They provide free food to our neighbor from a tree he does not have to water or take care off.

  6. My neighbor likes the free food and it makes us better neighbors.

  7. They provide food for all kinds of wildlife - from insects to - yes, you guessed it - rats. But possums, birds, raccoons and who knows who else are getting a share as well.

  8. They provide shelter for lots of critters and a safe nesting space for many birds.

That is a pretty good list, don't you think? And if I think a bit more, I can probably come up with another list. Or maybe you can share in the comments some other benefits such a fedge - a hedge grown from food plants - might have.

We ended up with lots of beautiful pulp like this.

Pomegranate_pulp.jpg

This, I am freezing and it will give me lots of smoothies for my future self.

Did you notice that I left all the white stuff in with the red? And maybe you even see a little of the peel?

The white stuff right under the peel is called Albedo and the section dividers are called membrane. In some descriptions, they call it unedible pith.

Until not so long ago, I believed that to be unedible as well. Then we hosted the Festival of Fruit in San Diego through the California Rare Fruit Growers.

One of the speakers was a Pomegranate researcher who said to eat it all - that it is healthy. Even the peel. A company is grinding the peel and mixing it in the juice. They are selling it as super healthy for super amounts of money.

The peel tastes pretty awful, but a little bit in a smoothie is not too bad. And if the white stuff turns out to be of little nutritional value - at least it adds some fiber.

That is why I am leaving it in!!

Now, fixing all these Pomegranates comes with a price!

Witness the battleground.

Pomegranate battle ground.JPG

It looks a bit like blood was spilled here.

And there is quite a bit of waste waiting in the kitchen sink for its final destination.

Pomegranate _waste.jpg

If we were a bit more ambitious, I am sure we could have figured out a good use for the rest of the peels and the pieces I chopped off because someone had nibbled on the fruit.

Maybe as a dye?

Pomegranate _stain.JPG

As you can see here, the Pomegranate juice makes a pretty color. And it seems to set well. No fading and washing out for this baby!

But, we just had clear run out of white T-shirts in need of a dye job and gave the peels and such to the chickens instead.

They were happy!

This post set out as a short entry to the #Colorchallenge by @kalemandra as #Mondayred

For some reason, those Pomegranates just didn't want to shut up and made my fingers keep dancing on the keyboard. I swear! I had nothing to do with it! And it told me that is really wanted to be part of the Fruits and Veggies Monday by the awesome creator @lenasveganliving

And you know how it is. When your kids scream loud enough, sometimes you just give in :)

Where else to find me

Listen to our podcast here: http://www.sustainablelivingpodcast.com/

Support us on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/user?u=2723500

Follow us on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/sustainable0019/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA73SuaMBnBIaB5OdiL_y6Q/videos?view_as=subscriber

Sort:  

I loved this article! It reminded me of being a kid and eating pomegranates. My favorite thing was to get a big mouthful crush all the capsules to get the juice. Then spit out all the seeds like a machine gun. I hope our little three foot pomegranate tree takes off and gives us fruit one of these days.
Cheers!

I replied yesterday, but half of my comments got lost :( Glad you have those memories!!! :)

I always imagine myself to sit on the beach in the shallow clear water and stuff myself with fruits including pomegranate. That way I wouldn't have to be worry about getting messy lol.

Anyway, I love your insightful entry and I wish I was your neighbor. He is a lucky guy. And all the critter too lol.

Thank you so much my Dear Marianne for your wonderful post 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉
@originalworks & tip!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mariannewest to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

That is the best pomegranate eating tip ever!!!and thank you so much for the tip!!

My pleasure, Dear Marianne I am glad you like it 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

I like pomegranate too, and yes cutting them up is quite a mess, but the health benefits outweight it though. I too, didn't know we could eat the membrane or the peel.

keep in mind that the peels don't taste very good :). I just leave a tiny little bit. And the hack to process them in a bowl of water might be a good idea. Might be messy too when you do a lot.

my favorite food

Yes, they are delicious!!

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

I love pomegranate. You are so fortunate to have them growing in your yard. I just checked on your other post where you showed them growing on the tree and I just about puked when I saw the worms. GROSS!!!

Have you ever tried opening your pomegranate in a large bowl of water? It makes all the pulp and bad seeds rise to the top and the good stuff goes to the bottom of the bowl and you don't get a messy mess in your kitchen or on your hands. You just cut the fruit in half on a board - you get a bit of juice - and then put it in the bowl of water and open the fruit under water. Simple. :)

What a good tip!! I will try it next year. All of mine are processed now.

In the past, I used a juicer but didn't feel like pulling it out.

Oh, that last picture weren't worms. Just leftover kernels from the fruit :) Kind of looks like worms though.

The worms were in the picture from your post a week ago....I looked at that link....at least I think they were worms......balugalug.....ew ew ew.

Also, I enjoy the seeds from the fruit...nutty and good. I read some spit them out. Then I wondered if I was supposed to eat the or not.

Juicers are a pain to clean, I don't blame you.

Hmm. Wrote you a reply and it never posted. Hmmm. Come on Steemit!!!

No worms in the picture. Just gnawed up hollowed out pomegranate. Sorry you got yuked out :(

lol....it was yuck. I revisited it and you said it was due to the work of rats!!

Some of my replies disappear too only to reappear later.

Hmm. Wrote you a reply and it never posted. Hmmm. Come on Steemit!!!

No worms in the picture. Just gnawed up hollowed out pomegranate. Sorry you got yuked out :(

Great post I have a tree as well but its only starting to flower now , looks like you had a good harvest always a please to eat your own food ;)

Isn't it!! Homegrown is sooooo good. Hope yours will give you fruit this year :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45