Fruits and Veggies Monday - Pomegranate and Guavas

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday7 years ago (edited)

Fall is upon us and even in Southern California the colors in nature are changing. Pomegranate fruits are turning from green to a light blush of pink to finally arrive at a beautiful red.

Pomegranate_turn .jpg

At least that is true for the variety in my yard. I am pretty sure that it is a Wonderful Pomegranate bush. Wonderful is the variety mostly grown commercially and it is very good. But there are so many more varieties - even white ones! They are good for me since I always get the crimson red juice all over me when I prepare and eat this beautiful fruit.

If that happened to you before, you know that you were crying if you wore your best blouse. Those stains have a tendency to stick around!

Another fruit getting ready to be harvested are my favorite guavas. Again, I don't know the variety. It came in a pot and was labeled Mexican Guava. That really doesn't mean anything. So, I am calling it after myself when I give one of the many new plants away I have propagated from this beautiful mother tree. Marianne's yard variety. There you have it.

Guava.jpg

They can be eaten semi-green or when they are all cream colored. I like them when cream colored - they are soft and sweet.

This is what my kitchen looks like right now.

Fruit.jpg

The box of organic apples came from my co-op delivery and is waiting to go into the fridge. They are galas and are so delicious.

Apples.jpg

The pomegranates and guavas are waiting to be processed (or eaten - whichever comes first). The bananas are almost ripe enough to be peeled and frozen to give some sweetness to a green smoothie. And the squash - the only vegetable in this picture - is waiting to be made into soup.

fruit_vergetables.jpg

Did you see the cute little apple sitting on top of the box? That is the very first (and only) apple I harvested off one of my apple trees. You can check out a little post about this here.

small_apple.jpg

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@mariannewest/sun-kissed-apple

One of the reasons I harvested all my pomegranates is this.

Pomegranate.jpg

See this picture. It looks like two lovely fruit waiting for me to pick them.

Pomegranate_tree.jpg

But when I reached for them, I found this!!!!!!

Pomegranate_eaten.jpg

Oh NOOOOOOOO!!!!

It is the work of mean old rats!! Well, I don't know if they are old or if they are mean. I do know that they like to eat my fruit. All of it if they could. And I don't like that!!

That is why all the fruit left on the tree are now waiting to be prepared for freezing and to give a nice red color to future smoothies.

Do You Want to Show Off Your Fruits and Vegies?

Have you considered joining Lena's challenge? It is fun and it is fun to look at all the beautiful pictures people post. Check it out! Just click on the tag #fruitsandveggiesmonday

And a big THANK YOU to the creator @lenasveganliving

Update! I just found out that this post got me into Map28 contest originated by @rycharde . I am so stoked!! Please, check out Map project. You might want to join! Here is the post:

https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@accelerator/six-of-the-best-from-our-new-mapsters-map28-minnow-contest

To vote for me, either upvote my comment under that post or leave a reply to my comment saying "vote" or do both.

If you already are a Mapster - you can also vote in discord in Map 28. all votes count!! So, please vote away :)

Where else to find me

Listen to our podcast here: http://www.sustainablelivingpodcast.com/

Support us on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/user?u=2723500

Follow us on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/sustainable0019/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA73SuaMBnBIaB5OdiL_y6Q/videos?view_as=subscriber

Sort:  

guava and pomegranates are two of my favorite fruits. I ate them for pleasure with out knowing any benefits of them. Thanks for letting me know about them.

Now, you can eat them with even more pleasure knowing that you do something good for your health as well :)

Thank you so much!!!! I really appreciate how much work you put into this challenge! it is a good one!

I love your Guavas and pomegranates (one of my favorite fruits) and all the rest. I am so impressed by the bounty from your garden Marianne. I am coming over lol. UPV & RSD plus tip! 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

Thank you so much!!! Come on over!! It's way too cold in Canada anyways :)

And if you are up for it, I would love your support in this contest: https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@accelerator/six-of-the-best-from-our-new-mapsters-map28-minnow-contest

To vote for me, either upvote my comment under that post or leave a reply to my comment saying "vote" or do both.

It's done my Dear 💚

Thank you!! You are a great friend!

Congratulations @mariannewest! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well done Marianne! We love guavas and our horse does too, I wrote an article a while back about guava bounty! We eat them raw a little greener than you because of worms, but as they ripen it opens up a series of recipes!

I will check out your guava article! I love to eat them raw, put them into smoothies and my kids favorite is Guava Jelly.

@mariannewest I love them when fresh. This are nice pictures too.

Thank you so much!! Fresh is always best!!

great post, as usual!

Well, thank you!!

Oh I haven't had guava in so long! Looks absolutely delicious!

They are so good. This variety is the best I have had - and by now, I have eaten a lot of different guavas. Whished I could give you some!!

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.35
ETH 3900.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63