Cold Salads for Fruits & Veggies Monday!

Happy Monday Steemers!

Temperatures are soaring here and as such we can't really cook much - especially during the day! Yesterday's lunch comprised of potato salad and coleslaw: simple, colourful and delicious.

I thought I would take a few photos of our efforts (even chopping veg on a mandolin is hard enough work these days!) to submit to the lovely @lenasveganliving's Fruits and Veggies Monday :)


GCPSC03.JPG


GCPSC02.JPG


GCPSC01.JPG


The potato salad was made up of red skinned potatoes, chives, onion and sweetcorn. The coleslaw had white cabbage, red cabbage, onion and homegrown carrots. We ate a bit of each with some bread on the side. Satisfying and chilling to eat on a hot summer's day :)

I hope you like my entry! If you are interested in entering yourself, check out Lena's Fruits and Veggies Monday Competition!

Gardeningchef

Sort:  

Wonderful salads @gardeningchef. You have chosen two of my all time favourites here too. Salads are such wonderfully diverse things that one can make little changes anytime you feel like. They are great choices for the heatwave you have in Spain every summer. More time sunbathing and less with the cooker switched on. It’s one of the many advantages of not eating meat is not having to do so much stove cooking. That is nice you had some home grown produce in there. I am looking forward to more updates from your garden too. Wishing you a wonderful day!!! 🌈💛🌴🦋❤️

Thank you for your lovely comment @sallybeth23. It's true, we have switched all day meals to chilled salads.. whether it be pasta salad or potato, there are filling options that needn't be considered side dishes. Thank goodness too cause I can't stomach a hot plate of food right now!!!

More garden updates soon - things are progressing a bit slower in this heat! Waiting for my plum cherry toms to ripen a bit ;)

I hope you have a wonderful day too!!

Congratulations @gardeningchef! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi GC,
Wow that looks delicious - perfect summer food!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Hehe glad you liked it @icedrum :) thank you for your support!!

Also delicious my dear
Bon Appetit

Thank you very much!

This looks like a wonderful dish, however, I would like to see more details about all the ingredients to asure if it is 100% plantbased.

Other than the veggies I stated (and salt and pepper!) I used mayo in the coleslaw and creme fraiche in the potato salad, both can be substituted with vegan alternatives. As a vegetarian it was fine for me to eat, however if this is not accepted in the competition I understand and I will make sure to omit dairy from future entries.

I agree, it could be very easily substituted for vegan options, so please try using those in the future entries for this contest. Thank you for understanding and I am giving you upvote for the effort 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Fully plant based entries only from hereon out. Thank you for the upvote Lena, that's very kind of you :)

Congratulations @gardeningchef! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Me encantan estas ensaladas, yo soy vegetariana me parece genial, un abrazo.

Muchas gracias guapa!! Me alegro que te gusten. Un abrazo!

That looks really delicious, what ingredients did you use for this creamy sauce? The dressings are always the most important point for a great salad, in my opinion 😉

I agree with you on the sauce comment. I didn't use anything fancy for this: mayo & creme fraiche with salt and pepper. Pretty basic but still hits the spot. I shall be mixing things up for future salads!

I see, thanks for the info 😉

Love potato salad.

Looks scrumptious!!! 😊✌️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87