Fruits and Veggies Monday | Sunny Day Black Eye Pea Salad!

DSC_0021 (2).jpg

Good day my Fruits and Veggies friends!


It’s been a while since I have had the opportunity to join Fruits and Veggies Monday! I’ve missed you all! You know how it is…time gets away and before I know it another week flies by!



No worries…I have been checking out the great recipes shared each week as well as keeping tabs on our dear Lena! We can’t wait to have her back with us! Thanks to all of our fellow Fruits and Veggies friend @plantstoplanks who has stepped in for her during her recovery! You’ve done an amazing job Ktie! I want to thank @lenasveganliving for hosting this fantastic community Fruits and Veggies Monday! There are so many fabulous contributors each week! Hopefully we’ll see even more this week!


Growing up Black Eyed Peas was always a favorite typically eaten on New Year day. Unfortunately they weren’t fresh. My mom would serve them warmed and straight from a can; often quite soft and mushy! As an adult, I was surprised when I found I could make them myself…and fresh! I have found them to be even more delicious and amazing when paired with bright and cheerful, crunchy vegetables!


DSC_0007 (2).jpg


Black eyed peas are so good for you! They’re a great source of protein and healthy fiber! Black eyed peas are a versatile legume which is full of potassium great for your cardiovascular system. Packed with Vitamins A and B, Iron and folate, Eating these cute little gems promote healthy eyesight, stronger bones, hair and teeth


And they’re sooo tasty!


todaysjourney.jpg

A Sunny Day Black Eye Pea Salad


This is a delightful crunchy salad which can be used as an entrée, side dish or salad! A happy salad for the winter season! This should add a bit of Sunshine in your day! I think you’ll love it!


The Salad

  • Black eyed Peas (2 cups)
  • Celery (1 cup diced)
  • Small Peppers (1 cup diced)
  • Medium Tomato (1 diced)
  • Fresh Carrots (3 stalks diced)
  • Onion (1/3 cup diced)

The Dressing

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil (1/3 cup)
  • Spicy Mustard (1 tbsp.)
  • Organic Apple Cider Vinegar (3 tbsp.)
  • Organic Maple Syrup (2 tbsp.)
  • Fresh Pepper (1/2 tsp)
  • Sea Salt (1/2 tsp)
  • Maple Syrup

We begin with the Black Eyed Peas!


I soaked these little guys in water overnight. Drained them and cooked them in water with salt and pepper until they were tender. Give them a taste, you may want a bit more seasoning! When they’re tender drain them and set them aside to cool.


DSC_0008 (2).jpg


Veggies! Let’s Prep!


Wash and dice! Carrots, onions and peppers! Everything is diced! This combined with the black eyed peas…yum! Truly a crunchy addition! Set them aside, we’ll need them in a second.


DSC_0004 (2).jpg

Tomato too!


Don’t forget to wash and dice that beautiful tomato!


DSC_0011 (2).jpg

Now the dressing!


Whisk all of the dressing ingredients together in a small bowl.


DSC_0006 (2).jpg

Time to assemble!


Add all of the veggies to your bowl of black eyed peas. Isn’t it beautiful!


DSC_0013 (2).jpg


Toss the salad with your dressing, garnish with a couple of pepper rings!


DSC_0019 (2).jpg


This was the perfect salad to prep ahead for the week. Full of healthy fruits and vegetables! What a great way to start the week.


DSC_0028 (2).jpg

Thanks for a great week of Fruits and Veggies Monday! Cheers to everyone, so glad you stopped in.


And as always, Blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Looks like the perfect way to start a new week with some fresh meals. I'm sure it's very tasty too :)

Thank you @gabrielatravels! It was a nice salad alternative and I had it for lunch a couple of times during the week :) So glad to hear from you my friend! Happy travels!

Thank you so much! Best wishes and hugs :)

Yum. It’s been awhile since I’ve made a bean salad… thanks for the inspiration :)

Me too....thought I would try a new twist for a salad...it was nice and crunchy. A great lunch salad for the week! Thanks my friend!!

Gorgeous salad my friend! Freshly cooked definitely tastes so much better than the canned variety and so much healthier too. The Bird family are so lucky to have you in the kitchen! Lovely post!

Thank you @lizelle, I wanted to try something different in a salad. We were pleasantly surprised, a nice side to the meal! I love hearing from you :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 383 (01/28/19)

Thank you for featuring my post in The Daily Wistle Stops! Truly appreciate it!

I am so happy to see you my Dear Mrs. Bird. Absolutely love this salad, it is definitely my kind of flavour. The dressing can be used for other salads too, since it can add a nice kick to just about any veggie, lol 🍅🥦🥒🌱🌿🥑🍆🍋🥕🍏
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you my dear friend! It's always fun to try new salads...this one just happened to work ;) I am so grateful for your inspiring words :) Heal quickly dear! I'm sure you are anxious to get back to the camera and kitchen! ox

Always a pleasure my Dear and yes, salads are also one of my favorite things to make.

And thank you so much, I am healing as fast as I can. I got the stitches out, but it's about 6 weeks until it's fully healed. Altough, I am not in any severe pain; I am just limited in wast I can do.

Yes!!! It looks delicious! I love black-eyed peas, but a salad with them sound very enticing!

I like How colorful it is with the carrots and peppers added. Very nice presentation. I may have to give this a try! Thank you!

!tip

Thank you @dswigle...I wasn't sure this would taste the way I wanted but it did! The crunch carrots and peppers really added a nice crunch making it a great salad. You know how subtle black-eyed peas are, the dressing really added a nice layer of flavor! Something new in salads! Thank you for the tip! You are so kind, I love hearing from you :)

You are so very welcome!

Wow, that looks delicious, I do not know the black-eyed peas, but I'm sure I would like it

Thank you @proanima! I hadn't eaten them for years but loved them as a child. Thought I would try something new! The crunchy carrots and peppers along with the dressing really made a nice side salad.

This is definitely my kind of salad! I agree with you on the peas, too, much better cooked fresh. I think that may be why I still don't use my pressure cooker enough. I don't like overcooked beans unless they getting mashed up anyway. 🤣 I think I bought my weight in pinkeye beans from the market this year when they were in season, and they're pretty similar to black-eyed peas. So many yummy things out there to keep our bodies well-fueled!

I know you love the legumes, I was inspired by you to try something new with the black-eyed peas! We were pleased, its been a great lunch all week :) Thank you Katie, stay warm!!!

🎁 Hi @birdsinparadise! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Beautiful Sunday, Sublime Sunday With A Touch Of Color Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi sorry for the inconvenience, do you think that you can please share this information? is a gofundme campaign to help a child with hydrocephalus and epilepsy from venezuela, I made two post in both English and Spanish to spread the information also all the money that manages to raise in both post will be donated apologize for the inconvenience caused.
If you could do it on your social networks it would be great, thank you for your time

https://www.gofundme.com/raising-funds-for-medical-expenses-for-11y-old-boy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71