Lena's Vegan Living Fruits and Veggies amazing challenge submission - Quick and delicious meals is my goal. :) 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍steemCreated with Sketch.

Mash potatoes and cabbage Croatian Style (or probably my style. lol)

So another Monday is here and another opportunity to become a part of my amazing friend Lena challenge. It is simple. Just snap some photos or fruits or veggies and make a post of it. Can it really get simpler than this? Even if you don't win Lena still shares all the post submissions so they get a better exposure and earn some dollars. If that is not a win-win situation then I don't know what is? So my friends if you are not participating you should consider joining in for sure. You are MISSING OUT. :)

So my today's recipes are one of my favorites dishes actually. It is simple, delicious, and healthy. And it only takes about 20 minutes to be finished with minimal attention to cooking really.

2017-10-16-23-00-11.jpg

The ingredients:

  • cabbage
  • carrots
  • garlic (around 5-6 small pieces)
  • onion
  • potatoes

Spices: I used paprika, Himalayan salt, pepper, barbecue sauce, rosemary.

Preparation

Start by warming up the water in a pot for cooking the potatoes, carrots, and garlic. While the pot is getting warmed up clean the carrots, onions, potatoes, garlic, and cabbage. Cut the carrots and potatoes in smaller pieces so they cook faster. Also, cut the onions and cabbage in spaghetti shaped pieces. That is about it for the preparation. A piece of cake right. Nothing to it really. Anybody can do it.

Cooking time

Add the carrots, potatoes, onions in the boiling water. And, on a separate pan put the cabbage and onions together and instead of adding oil to cook then add the water. Yes, water. In that way, you will basically steam them both without any undesired effects of frying your food on oil. The only thing you should watch for is that you keep adding water if needed so the cabbage and onion don't burn. Stir occasionally and add Himalayan salt to the mixture after about 5 min or anytime you like really.

2017-10-16-23-05-02.jpg

Finishin it up

Check if the carrots are done. If carrots are done everything else will be done also. Drain them and let them stay in the drainer to drain thoroughly. Turn your attention to cabbage and onions. If the cabbage got that done spaghetti texture then they are ready for final touches. Put the temperture on low. Add paprika, pepper, a little bit of barbecue sauce(just a touch), and olive oil. Remeber don't add too much of spices. You can always add more if needed, but you can't take it out. I always add spices in the end so they keep as many nutrients as possible in them. As cooking them for a longer period of time makes them lose their nutrient values. Mix for about 1 min until all well blended together.

After the cabbage is done turn your attention to drained veggies. Before you put them back in the pot prepare the mixture of olive oil, paprika, pepper, and rosemary.

2017-10-16-23-01-59.jpg

Mix them up a bit, and add the veggies mixture on top and mash them up altogether. I like to leave carrots as bigger pieces, but this totally up to you. You can mash them up until there are no big pieces. If the mixture is dry add a bit more olive oil.

Hey, guess what? You are DONEEE and it should look something like this. The sauce on the top of the potatoes came from the leftover water, olive oil, and spices mixture.

2017-10-16-23-01-17.jpg

I have said it many times before but I will repeat it. Cooking can be simple, fun, delicious, and fast. Food does not have to be cooked for hours to be delicious and healthy. I think anybody no matter the schedule can take 20 minutes out of their day to cook for themselves. Eating in restaurants and fast foods every day is not healthy. Especially fast foods. You don't know what they are putting in their food. Or how fresh their food is. No matter how good of restaurant or fast food it is. Invest 20 minutes of your day to cook for yourself. Your health depends on it. "Because it is not your body which will fail you first, but it is you how will fail your body first by not giving it the nutrients, vitamins, and minerals it needs to build a strong immune system."

If you are looking for some delicious vegan recipes visit my amazing friend Lena profile on Steemit or Facebook. It is full of delicious recipes for amazing meals and desserts. I mean guys if you check out her dessert recipes you will be drooling in no time. They all look incredibly delicious. Here is the link to her facebook page

Cooking is fun and easy. Invent your recipes and add on to my recipe. Make it your own. Have fun with it. Invest in your health, my friends.

Take care of your body first, and your body will take care of you when you need it the most.

Thank you for reading, have an amazing day all, much love,

dbjegovic 💓

2017-09-29-22-51-45.jpg

ALL THE IMAGES POSTED, AND WORDS WRITTEN IN THIS POST BELONG TO ME.

100% ORIGINAL

COPYRIGHT OF DURO BJEGOVIC

Sort:  

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Looks very nutritious and comforting :)

Thank you, Lisa. It is simple and delicious to make also. :)

Looks more delicious than what I thought it would be. 😉 well done 😊 will resteem this one

We have friends - a niece croatian couple and they never know what to cook for me! Maybe I should show them this recipe!??
If they refuse to do this for me, I will try it out myself! (I love mashed potatoes!)

hahaha well, they will probably not know much about this recipe as this is more of my style of cooking. Croatians cook a bit differently. Tell them to cook you musaka, sarma, and burek. I am sure you would like those. :)

Until they do cook for you, you should just make it yourself. It is easy. And those mash potatoes are delicious. :)

Thank you for a great comment. Have an amazing day. @pusteblume

sounds delicious and easy! How I like it! :)

And easy to make it is plus delicious. It really does not get much better than this. :)

Thank you for reading. Let me know if you ever make it. Have an amazing day. :) @mariannewest

Wishing you an amazing day as well!! And I will let you know when I make it - I will for sure!

thats one delicious looking meal!

I love mashed potatoes and I love cabbage............. thank you Durko, for this super delicious recipe & wisdom. I totally agree with you, simple, healthy and even cost effective.

Thank you also for the shout out............tip! to you my friend XOXO
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @awakentolife to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

The same here. Loves those mashed potatoes. I have to try and make this with sweet potatoes also as you suggested. :)

You are more than welcome. Thank you for always being so supportive. I am glad to be part of such a great contest promoting health. :)

Have an amazing day. XOXOXO

Always a pleasure Durko, and thank you too. You know I am always happy to see your entry XOXO

And If I may suggest to mix the sweet potato with steamed cauliflower and a parsnip. You will love it, I guarantee. You can use soy milk or ideally hemp milk. Although, the best is homemade almond milk, but even I have not made it yet lol. It is not that difficult, but you need lots of almonds and they are very expensive here.

There is one more thing my Friend. I know you are busy, but I would be very happy if you could read my essay I posted for Vegan Wednesday. By the way. if you would have some free time and share some wisdom I am sure @heart-to-heart would love it. You can find all the details in this post. https://steemit.com/veganwednesday/@lenasveganliving/the-importance-of-being-vegan-for-vegan-wednesday

If you could leave a comment I would really appreciate it. Thank you s much 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Just had some mashed potatoes tonight - skin on. With chicken, was awesome!

Cheers

I am a home-foodie!
I love to experiment with either new recipes I find online, or ones that just evolve in my head.
This one looks delicious... being 100% Polish, and a lover of cabbage, it is right up my alley

The ones that evolve in my head are my favorites. Especially if they turn out the way you pictured them in your head. There is nothing like a feeling of experimenting with recipes and it turns out to be a delicious meal. :)

Try this out. I think it is a great, simple, and delicious meal. At least for my taste but you can be the judge. :)

Thank you for a wonderful comment. Have a great day. :)

I love cabbage! Quick and easy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60209.30
ETH 2627.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55