Fruits and Veggies Monday | Fall Back with Apple and Carrot Pepita Muffins!

in #fruitandveggiesmonday4 years ago (edited)

DSC_0031 (2p).jpg

Happy Monday my Fruits and Veggie Friends! Hope your weekend included a wee bit of R&R!



Now that I’ve had a few days to gather my thoughts and spruce up the nest after the bird family migration I’m ready to begin celebrating the fall season! I love so many fruits and veggies harvested during the fall season. Thanks to the multitude of squash, fruit and nut varieties available during this time of year, time spent in the kitchen is truly enjoyable. Beware…you’ll be seeing lots of my “experiments” so stay tuned, lol!


Did I mention it’s Monday?


You know what that means don’t you? It’s time for @lenasveganliving’s Fruits and Veggies Monday! Fantastic recipes, unique fruits and veggies are shared each week from all around the world! If you haven’t checked it out yet, please do! We would love to have you! A big thanks to dear Lena for continuing to host this gathering, she continues to be a huge inspiration to all of us!


Fall back…


and Spring forward! Many of us in the United States, Canada and Mexico just experienced the semi-annual time change! As the saying goes ….we set our clocks back one hour in the fall and forward an hour in the spring. Initiated as a means to save utility costs by utilizing natural daylight as the seasons shift, we just gained another hour of daylight this week! More daylight each morning to create in the kitchen I think!
daylightsavings.jpg

Applesauce …


was the inspiration for me this week. Apple Orchards, cider, hayrides and bonfires...the special fall experiences. I’ve always enjoy sending healthy baked treats with the girls so this was the perfect opportunity to utilize the fresh pear-applesauce in the fridge! My grandson loved it while he was here. I shared this little treat with you a couple of weeks ago.
DSC_0025 (3).jpg

With Raw Pepitas…


in hand we're ready to go! Pepitas are pumpkin seeds you know! Did you save your pumpkin seeds or did you toast them for an amazing fall snack? They’re a great source of protein, iron, magnesium and tryptophan! Did you know tryptophans can help boost mood behaviors and magnesium helps combat migraines.
DSC_0149 (2).jpg


Bird’s Apple Carrot Pepita Muffins

  • Gluten Free Oats (3 cups)
  • Raw Pepitas (3/4 cups)
  • Maple Syrup (1/3 cup)
  • Birds Pear-applesauce (1/2 cup)
  • Vanilla (1 tsp)
  • Sea Salt (1/2 tsp)
  • Baking Soda (1 ½ tsp)
  • Cinnamon (1/2 tsp)
  • Nutmeg (1/4 tsp)
  • Almond Milk (1 cup)
  • Shredded Carrot/pulp (1 cup)
  • Raisins (1/2 cup)

Grab your blender!


While I made my morning juice I blended everything except the carrots and raisins! As you would imagine I planned to use my juice pulp! I know, I know…. Just look at those carrots!
DSC_0005 (2).jpg

It’s worth the wait…


using fresh carrots really increases the flavor. Packaged shredded carrots from the market are fine if you don’t juice. When everything was nicely blended I stirred in the carrots and raisins.
DSC_0155 (2).jpg

12 muffins!


Into the oven at 375 degrees for about 25 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. A perfect batch, enough for a nice breakfast and a care package to send with my daughter.
DSC_0158 (2).jpg

The kitchen smells wonderful! Cinnamon and Fall and tasty muffins, a perfect match!


DSC_0044 (2).jpg


She’s on her way, treats packed safely in her bags. Just in time for a quick cup of tea!


Cheers to a great week full of fresh fruits and veggies!


DSC_0052 (2).jpg


We don’t have too many leaves falling but we definitely feel a change in the air…fall! Luckily my daughter left quite a few gifts from her homestead; I can’t wait to share them with you! Thanks for stopping by today.


And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa2.png


Sort:  

Hello my Dear Mrs. Bird, I almost missed your post! It's not showing in the #fruitsandveggiesmonday feed, because "s" is missing in your fruit, lol.

Anyway, I am glad that I found you because these muffins are absolutely to die for! And full of nutrients too! Absolutely love it! 🍐🍎😍🍎🍐
1 Collage.jpg

Oh dear!!! Sorry about that my dear... struggle monster I am, lol I'm glad you found me ) Your sweet thoughts brighten my day! Muffins and fall, they just seem to go together don't they? Thank you for finding me!! I'll try not to make it difficult next time! xx

No problem my Dear, I just like to have everybody in the row, lol. 😍

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR 2nd PRIZE and 2.00 SBI
2.png

Oh my, what a sweet surprise, thank you my dear! You're the best!

Well deserved my Dear Mrs. Bird, you always share only the best with us 😍

I've got my pumpkin butter ready for these!! ;) I just finished up a batch of pumpkin muffins from Halloween for breakfast this morning, so it might be time for some carrot apple muffins again. We did toast our pumpkin seeds from our carved pumpkins and from my lovely heirloom pumpkin. Those seeds were a bit thicker and heartier. I really enjoyed them! I can't wait to see the next goodies pop up soon. :) I need them for energy to make it through the week of being put off-kilter after the time change, haha.

That time change...I still can't get used to dark at 6 pm, no fun!!!! This too shall pass I guess, lol Toasted pumpkin seeds, I didn't do them this year I think I'll need to get a pumpkin to enjoy that fall favorite, lol I can imagine your pumpkin muffins were amazing, you'll have to share them with us :) Thanks my sweet friend!

That must be so tasty!!! Now I need to find a healthy muffin to stop the crave...

hehe you are such a healthy eater I can't imagine you don't have something amazing on hand! :) My daughter loved them, she was glad to take them home! Thank you my friend, I always appreciate your sweet comments

Thank you for sharing those wonderful post too!

:knock knock: on the birdhouse.

I know you were already planning on bringing your picture perfect food to the kitchen this Friday, this is just a friendly reminder. Our reward is about to get pretty exciting @birdsinparadise and we’d really like this week to go off with a bang. Like I said, I know you were already planning on it, @puravidaville is even going to be returning for this one. We’ll see you then! 😉 Thank you, can’t wait! It’s going to be exciting, and whatever else you’d like me to type right here. God bless the Birds.

hehehe, yes I have been a bit absent as of late...Yay!!! you'll all be here this Friday? Well then I guess I can't miss out! :) Can't wait to see what foodfightfriday fun you dish out! lol You;re the best! Many thanks and many blessings to the pura-dandays fam!

No, you are! No... you are, nooooo, yooouuu are.

Ah, yeah, can I get a round of mini reunion for my peeps.

Mrs Bird is back with a bang...no with healthy delicious muffins:) I'm sure your house must feel quite empty with the children gone!
I think we could do a time change here in the summer months as it gets light so early, but must still feel weird changing the clocks!
Summer's here with a bang, so hot today! Enjoy the rest of your week my friend:)

Posted using Partiko Android

lol you're the best my sweet friend! Love your sweet words, and yes the house is far too quiet. That little one just brings incredible joy to the house, but we'll see them soon! Oh so you're in the throws of summer already???? No spring to speak of, well just know the garden will be producing soon and you'll be so happy right? Blesssings to you!

These look amazing and your photos are next-level. Have you been practicing your skills? I absolutely love muffins and these look seasonally delicious. I think they would taste amazing with some of that pumpkin butter by @plantstoplanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

awww, you are toooooo nice @riverflows! You know, I have much to learn and with the humidity we experience and lenses fogging up all of the time, its a wonder I can get any photos, lol Pumpkin butter....what a wonderful idea :) I may have to just make a batch...to share! Thank you my friend, so glad to hear from you!

This looks very yummy and I send the recipe to my daughter in law. it almost inspires me to pull the juicer out. Soon, very soon. I have a Norwalk and while it makes fantastic juice, it is a lot of work to clean and such...

Aww, thank you @mariannewest! I hope your daughter-in law likes them! My daughter loved them, and using my juice pulp is one of my favorite things, lol I know it does take time to clean, sometimes I make enough for a couple of days to save cleaning time :) Thank you for stopping by!!

Thank you @shuvo35! I'm glad you enjoyed them, perhaps you'll try them sometime :)

Ooo.. I love muffins and they are easy to bake too.
I miss my kitchen back home so much...
Baking brings out the best in us :)

They are so easy, and with the blender you just whip them up so fast, lol I'm sure you miss your kitchen, I would be lost without mine @ireenchew! Blessings to you, I get so much pleasure out of baking goodies to give away :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97