The Red Toad, My favorite.

in #frogs7 years ago

Somehow in all my days of feeding frogs and toads to snakes I just couldn't find a way to feed these.

I have just always had a soft spot for red toads and I don't know why.


IMG Source

Although the ones at my place typically have this browner shade of coloring.


IMG Source

The males lie floating in the water and make a deep booming ‘whooop’ sound.

When pairing they may lay as many as 20 000 eggs in one go.


IMG Source

...and their many tadpoles like to swim in clusters.

IMG Source

Other posts in this series:

The Africa Bull Frog
The Bubbling Kassina
African clawed frog
"Jabba" Frogs
Guttural Toad: Don't take a trip with this one.
Natal Sand Frog

Sort:  

Great shots! Did you take these ones, they are so beautiful?!? Thanks for sharing and namaste :)

nope.. follow the sources

Ribbit ribbit!

No... this one is woooop woooop

Wooop wooop! I made a ribbit?

Beautiful! Have never seen red frogs in real. This is my favorite frog species :)

What's there not to love about the squeakers...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50