Fridays Rock- Pink Halite

in #fridaysrock6 years ago (edited)

@nat-expressions recently started a weekly challenge called #fridaysrock! The challenge is to share your favorite rocks and minerals.

Halite, also referred to as “rock salt,” is a commonly found and well known mineral. This crystal must be kept dry, as it is a sodium chloride crystal and therefore soluble in water.

This specimen is Pink Halite and it gets its color from bacteria in the lake bed that have died and given the crystals their color.

image

image

image

My specimen was collected by @rt395 at Searles Lake near Trona, California. Do go to Erik's page to see more about Pink Halite and the harvesting process and about some of the other rockhounding that he does.

image

I understand that @rt395 had great success in collecting Pink Halite this year and will have some available for sale in his shop.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/Rt395Minerals and in Japan at https://www.rt395mineralsjp.com

Shadow Photo Contest- Round 40- ART Shadows



Posted with eSteem

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Yes, right, but in my opinion, the positive benefits are proven to be effective in overcoming feminine problems, both in the form of vaginal discharge and so on. What do you think is my best friend ...? @melinda010100

Seriously? I have no clue what you are talking about 🤣🤣🤣

Nice colour of halite. Interesting to know bow it gets pink. I have small halite but white.

Lovely soft energy of pink Halite is very attractive! Very beautiful crystal!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really like these crystal stones, it looks really cool, and the color is beautiful, is the crystal stone yours dear

Yes, it is a recent gift from Erik.

Very good, you can get a prize ... Is Erik your lover ,,

What?!!? If you had actually read my post you would know that he is a fellow Steemian and he and his wife were recently collecting this mineral in California.

o.o.o, I read your post is not too exhausted, sorry yeah dear, I was busy a little,☺
lonely without your presence in my post ,,

Quit begging for votes. It is very annoying

Those are sure wonderful looking rocks @melinda010100!!
Did you give them the geologist lick test? :-)
Do you know about the #rockhounds tag from @rockhounds?
It don't look to active right now, but we could fix that!! lol

I must dig up some rocks today for #fridaysrock!! 💎

I can't wait to see what you post! I changed one of my tags to RockHounds and will certainly use that in the future! I do have a more than few rocks around here that I can do posts on and I am pretty sure that you do too!

Great photos, Melinda. I had no idea you like rocks. My father worked in the geology field and I have a huge collection back home. Unfortunately, I never thought of photographing them. 😔
I suppose I have to do it one of these days. 🙂

That would be fantastic! I'd love to see them. The older I get the more I am realizing that I do not have to keep all of the physical things that I'm attached to, as long as I have a photo of them I'm happy. It's helped me be able to clear some of the lifetime of possessions that I have collected. I don't think that would work with rocks though. I love having them in my hands!

I know what you mean. I have many of the teenage years collections: stamps, postcards, old magazines. Always have to dust them, move them around. But I cannot let them go yet.
Thank you for the good idea. I will photograph them and this way would be easier to store them somewhere. 🙂

I used to keep every piece of art work the kids made. Now I just photograph them and make a file for each person and can finally throw out the things I have saved for years.

I have the kids works of art displayed all over the house. I'm thinking about making a huge collage out of my son's drawings and frame it. This way, I will have the memories in one place. My daughter is drawn into singing, dancing so it's easier.
However I don't see getting rid of the dinosaurs' collection to soon. 😂

hi mother @melinda010100 i really like crystal stones, very interesting stones

Hi @melinda010100 at first sight it reminds me about himalayan salt like i have , the soft pink colour looks very similar, but then its not, this one has a very unique form, cool rock!

I think mine is referred to as Himalayan salt, also, but I am confused by that because California is nowhere near the Himalayans!

Haha! Its too far away ;D thousands miles

I have a bottle of pink Himalayan salt on my kitchen counter that I use in cooking occasionally. I was curious and went out and read the back of the bottle and guess what, my Himalayan salt comes from Utah in the United States. I think that is deceptive marketing!

Nah, so its Utah salt ;D or maybe they have same minerals like Himalayan salt

Well, no matter, it tastes good! 😃

Very pretty! Thank you for sharing these. I will also check out @rt395's page.

Thanks! He said he was going to check out your tag, too.

Awesome! I thought his Mineral Monday post was very interesting!!

He has been doing Mineral Mondays for a long time and I always enjoy learning from him!

I will be checking out his posts on a regular basis. I love rocks and minerals, but I have LOTS to learn! Thank you for pointing me in his direction.

I have lots to learn, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64172.98
ETH 2764.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66