Friday Market Tierras Altas, Panama Style - Fun Friday by A Panama Mama

in #fridaymarket7 years ago (edited)

On Fridays, our town hosts two gringo markets. We usually attend both of them. One is basically for gringos to socialize (I'll post about it later - my pics today didn't turn out well thanks to power outages while we were there) and a second organic market where gringos (mostly) fight over veggies that are brought in at bargain prices. Today, in our spare time between the two markets, we went to check out the Mercado across the street from the vegetable market. I had been in it once before quickly, so this time it was interesting to take our time walking around and snapping a few pics.

IMG_5230.JPG

It says it is a tourist market and a few of the stalls contain typical Panamanian souvenirs like little girl dresses, carved wooden items and beaded bracelets.
IMG_5231.JPGIMG_5232.JPG

There are also some fruit stands and even barber shops inside. I hear a cut at one of these places should cost around $2! Sadly, it looks like a jail cell to me.
IMG_5233.JPG
.
IMG_5234.JPG

You can even get your shoes repaired at the zapateria! There are a few seamstress shops too. It is a really large warehouse, but for it to be touristy, my kids and I sure did get a lot of stares. I mean, don't get me wrong, we get stared at a lot. I call it the "white people parade" but more than likely, it's the "curly blonde 5 kid" parade. My kids seem oblivious and I am pretty used to it - it just makes me laugh!

Anyway, next to the market, there is a great nursery. Well, there are a few, but I only went into one. So many plants I really want to buy!! I told the lady I would be back. Check out the amazing colors!!

IMG_5236.JPG
.
IMG_5235.JPG
I will be back for this beauty!
IMG_5237.JPG
@captcryptoswife 's favorite flower - Snap Dragons!

<><><><><><><><><><><><>

Fun Friday will be brought to you here every Friday by A Panama Mama.
Check back each week for fun posts about our lives.
If you have something you’d like to hear about, feel free to let me know in the comments.
Thanks for visiting, and I hope you have a FUN day!
!steemitworldmap 8.658599 lat -82.546466 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map

Sort:  

Hello brader @apanamamama, i has upvote you

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @apanamamama to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

This post has received a 0.28 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This was such an awesome post for #MarketFriday! It certainly has some interesting things in there.

Definitely looks like a jail!! But then, this is truly an experience you will never forget. The kids too! How long will you be there?When I was there, I stuck out like a sore thumb.Oh-so-blonde. Big stares. Yes. Yes.

I hope we get to see more Markets and more fun places as you tour your way through Panama. Thank you again for being part of #MarketFriday! It was an enjoyable time for all!

We have moved to Tierras Altas in Panama. We plan to be here for...as long as possible. We went in a store the other day and the lady started talking to us in English. I asked her if we looked like North Americans and she said, "it is obvious." Lol! Yes, we know it is obvious but we mostly enjoy it here.

There are a lot of Americans in Panama, but yes! LOL It is so obvious, especially with your coloring. I don't know one person that doesn't like it there! :) I am so happy you and your family have found it to be the place you want to stay. I think the people are warm and friendly. tip!

Thanks for the tip! :) Yes, most Panamanians are really friendly and we love our expat friends. We live in an area that has some expats, but not like Boquete that has thousands. We like it here as it is a little more relaxed. :)

That is smart. We have lived around the world and the only way to live is among the locals, otherwise, you might as well live back in the States. Right?

Very cool (and totally true). Where all have you lived? I lived in Texas before moving here, but near Mexico City for a year and a half before that. In college, I also studied for a summer in Salamanca, Spain. I never really thought I'd live in a foreign country again.

That's cool, we need one of those for us expats in Switzerland - is there a little bar or somewhere to hang out?

Actually, I didn't see a bar inside. We have 2 expat markets and I didn't see any other gringos in this market while we were in there and I don't know of any who actually frequent it. There was a little "restaurant" outside

Ah well, never mind, am sure there are plenty of bars around!

One big one and quite a few smaller ones. And an awesome new coffee shop. :)

I can't go to plant shops because I can't get out of there without buying things!

Lol! So true! :) I like it when I can get cuttings from friends for various plants. There are a few I still have on my wish list. :)

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71178.18
ETH 3871.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50