When Is Enough, Enough? | #FreeWrite [Quit]

in #freewritepoetrydigest6 years ago (edited)

There are two hundred people in this room
All are wearing a mask and a costume;
No one wants to be known—I assume,
Inhale.. Exhale.. It's not yet your doom.


Can someone remind me,
Why can't I just leave or flee;
Do I really need to see...
The temptress who broke my family?


I muster all my remaining strength,
This could not be his first, it might be his tenth;
So in the middle of two hundred people I went,
I don’t need to see his face—For I know his scent.



Happening in front of me was my dreaded scene,
That one thing you promised I'll never experience as your queen,
Now, the truth you're hiding can't be unseen,
Why did I play your game—I know I'd never win.



When is enough, enough?
My heart was crushed, I can't pretend I'm tough;
Quitting is not always a sign of defeat.
Sometimes you quit, so you can stand again on your feet.

EF75681F-C5AF-4810-B0F5-4E9A57991520.jpeg
source

“Sometimes deciding to quit something is the most remarkable bold and courageous thing you can do. If it’s not right for you, if it is sapping your spirit and not part of your ideal vision for your future, then it is something to quit and quit soon.”― Bernard Burchard



* Freewriting- is the practice of writing down all your thoughts without stopping, and without regard for spelling, grammar, or any of the usual rules for writing. It might include a topic (prompt) as a general guide, or it might not.
** Thank you @mariannewest for your initiative to run #freewrite, #freewritepoetry, #freewritepoetrydigest.



Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @qurator, @acidyo, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @precise, @enginewitty, @noblewitness and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

What a sad, yet beautiful poem! I could feel her anxiety and heartbreak. Maybe this will help to cheer both of us up. Tip!

Resident cat here, wondering which blues you will choose: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-272-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-blues

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Good stuff sweets😎

I got sucked into this the minute I started reading it. So beautiful and tragic at the same time. Beautiful @michellpiala.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michellpiala from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40