Day 42 - Selfie Freewrite Celebration Contest ---> DON'T Suffer In Silence Campaign!


Raising Awareness #DSIS


Photo on 2018-06-24 at 12.31.jpg


There have been some great prompts lately, and this has given me the impetus to start raising funds for different non-profit organizations. This will be my second, the last one was on Depression and here was my post on the payout, sent to the Suicide Hotline.

This initiative for DON'T Suffer In Silence (#DSIS) is for those that are suffering from Mental Illness, here is the founder, Marcus Tisson's story about the loss of his mother and father. Both had suffered many years with mental illness.

Tisson started this group to bring mental health awareness to all and in support of this prompt given by @freewrite and Tisson I will donate any proceeds from this post to his organization. For me, to see anyone suffer for a prolong period breaks my heart and to know that there are many out there suffering in silence urges to me to help.

It is with human understanding and reaching out to others that we can possibly make a difference and if anything share information so others know they are not alone. The statistic on mental health is that at least one in four people will be affected by a mental health disorder or neurological disorder in their lifetime. We all wish, hope, or pray it will not be us but the sad reality is that the odds are not in our favor.

For further information on #DSIS, reach out to the team here, I've sent a correspondence asking for their donation link. Hopefully, they will get it to me by post payout.

If you would like to enter one of @mariannewest's contests, click here.

ES logo.png

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine woman in-training, first time blogger since November 2017, (right here on Steemit), paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday, or just say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

image

Sort:  

Wonderful cause and thanks for supporting the folks that support these people! Had to wait to vote so I could power up a bit.

@ksteem oh you are so kind and i thank you so very much for thinking of the cause and people. hugs.

supported with a 100% upvote 👍

You are a beautiful soul. I wish it was easier for people to speak out when they need help. I know for myself, it's not exactly that there is no one to speak TO, but I just don't know what to say. When I'm suffering, especially when it is depression, there just are no words that I haven't said a million times and I just get so tired of saying them. At this stage, I'm not even sure I HAVE words to say. I feel like I've spent too many years just getting quieter and quieter about it, even though I'm the type to write and be an open book, so to speak, when I need to talk... I just find myself growing quiet.

It's weird. Sorry for such a long comment. This has been on my mind a lot lately and keeps coming up for me. It is a great post and a great thing that you're doing!

@byn thank you so much for this lovely comment, i wanted to make sure i had enough time to give you a proper response back since this is a very sensitive subject and one i take very seriously. i thank you so much for sharing of yourself and your situation. it's not easy to admit and as you know that is the first step. sometimes it is okay to talk to "strangers" as it is a very easy way to let it all out. i'm not sure if you've tried mediation and listening to grounding music, also taking long walks helps a lot. i hope you find a way to let your quietness out, like talking to all of us in a post. we are all here for each other. that has been the amazing thing about steemit for me. i find that if i want to open up there are many that will listen and i love that.
i'm glad this has been on your mind and i'm happy i was able to be here for you in some small way. thank you again for sharing your self. much love, eagle spirit

So cute, Is that your photo.
I am interested 😁

Here is today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-249-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-bath

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45