Depression Fundraiser ---> Proof Of Donation Sent!

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Depression Fundraiser


image
Source


Approximately, 13 days ago there was a @freewrite that was included in the current #freewritehousecontest that we all had to participate in, or otherwise get eliminated from the contest. The topic was Depression, and something worth noting since there are many suicides taking place worldwide. This issue is a mental disability that many suffer from, including Native Americans that have a very high suicide rate.

Personally, I like the word survive, and something that was taught to me while I was assisting the Criminal Advocacy Board in New York City. Depression is a serious issue that touches many lives and of all ages. In response to the prompt I wrote a post entitled, Surviving Depression, and within that post I held a fundraiser for depression.

Unfortunately, the post made a little less than $10 USD, but I also left a link asking for others to give on their own if they felt like giving to the cause. Just a side note, @BernieSanders flagged the original post 13 times because I delegated to @JerryBanfield, just for delegating for what I thought at the time seemed like a good initiative. After reading @Meno's blog post about Jerry I rescinded, but yeah Bernie almost wiped not only this post out but my entire account just because I "supported" Jerry. One small delegation from someone like me is "supporting" these days -- I guess.

That week after the incident I had to think long and hard about Steemit, as I was greatly discouraged that one person had that much power. This is where my guns and knives start to come out in the name of freedom, only thing is Steemit is digital so where would that behavior lead me? Nowhere.

Fortunately, one of my good friend', @underground came back and alerted me that it was Bernie Sander's under an unknown account name at the time came poking around, and seemed to simply enjoy stirring the pot. True, Jerry with his SMT calculations was a bit off, as @Meno had proven so elegantly in his post. Regardless, two wrongs do not make a right and flagging someone for supporting someone was no reason to flag. Bernie did remove the flags, and exclaimed "you all are easy to rile up." Moving on.

This blog was saved and a payout did come out of it, although not much. According to my other good friend, @eonwarped it made even less of a payout if we look at SteemD. I'll go with my figure of less than $10 USD and make it simple.


unnamed.png
Screenshot taken by @eaglespirit


The Donation will be given to the Suicide Hotline for the amount of $20 USD.


Screen shot 2018-06-21 at 7.38.28 PM.png
Screenshot taken by @eaglespirit


So here was my donation as measly as it was, and I did not cry to anyone for any wrong doing. Didn't even ask the whales for funds. I'm not one to go kiss up to them or cry for currency. This was all for the benefit of those who have had it really tough and I've been in romantic relationships with those who truly suffer. My heart goes out to anyone, especially to my cousin Kristi who I dedicated my donation to.


Screen shot 2018-06-21 at 7.39.26 PM.png
Screenshot taken by @eaglespirit


We have all had our bouts of sadness and Kristi took her life because she just couldn't cope any longer. Her brother had passed suddenly by a heart attack, her father had passed not too long before that, her mother was closing in on dementia, and the love of her life had left her at the altar. As mentioned, we all have our sadness and some of us choose to go early. This post is dedicated to those who suffer from depression or just feel its time to check out. Even those who have a hard time of it on a daily basis. Blessings to you all!

ES logo.png

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine woman in-training, first time blogger since November 2017, (right here on Steemit), paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday, or just say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

Sort:  

depression is a terrible occurrence of the human heart.
many several condolences and applause for your efforts.
benefecient, wonderful credences!
thank you for the fund raise.
You even gave your own.
That is the tapper @eaglespirit!!!
living is heart work indeed............................

@oddbot yes very very much so, i thank you for your wonderful comment and feedback. yes i gave my own and thank you for recognizing that. it was all for good. blessings, eagle

It's a less than ideal world we live in, but that's what makes the things that we do a greater impact. Very cool post, @eaglespirit

@quirky.countess yes thank you so very much, i have to follow you too, i think you are the quirky in the white team a too! :) if you are the same quirky. hehe

@quirky.countess you are so welcome, i can tell you are a sweetheart ... not sure where the dark came from. hehe

Sometimes you gotta let loose ;)

This is a great donation, still many people do not know nothing about mental illness and that's a shame because depression is really a cruel disease.

@noemilunastorta oh thank you so much for saying so and yes it is a great shame. totally cruel thing to live with and it bothers me quite a bit. thank you again for your comment.

RIP Kristi!! You have a great big heart. It is the thought that counts. More will our Father reward what is done in secret.
Any amount is a love offering.
Joy

you said MOLDED ... bwahaahahah

thank you re: kristi! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Eagle Spirit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great effort from you @eaglespirit.

Rest in peace kristi

@bboyady thanks and i appreciate your blessings to kristi :)

Hmmm Kristi. I am sorry to hear about her, your loss and also your experience on Steemit, with all the flagging and all. That's a shame, really.

I am sorry too I missed that post on depression and an opportunity to give. Hope you are feeling better now, @eaglespirit. Peace and comfort for you, hugs!

@happycrazycon thank you for your comment and love. yeah the flagging was a heart attack for sure.
thank you much on your suppport Happy it is greatly appreciated!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44